Stalemate (Eve Duncan Series #7)

Stalemate (Eve Duncan Series #7)

by Iris Johansen

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
MARKETPLACE
92 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stalemate 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the book Stalemate, the book focuses in on a woman named Eve Duncan. Eve Duncan's daughter Bonnie, has gone missing and could possibly be dead or in a fatal state. Luis Montalvo has contacted Bonnie, and he wants her to help him by using her amazing forensic skills and knowledge to help him on his reconstruction process. Even though she doesn't want to help him personally, she wants to find her daughter. I thought that this book would be an excellent book to read if you like suspense and mystery books. The criteria involved in the book is one that I'm sure a plethora of people enjoy to pick up. It is also a great book of conflict as many dilemmas appear. I believe that it might not have been the best book of the Eve Duncan series, in my opinion. Some of the other books seem to have caught my attention more as I was reading. Even though this might not have been my favorite, I would still recommend this book to anyone looking for a book, or you like Iris Johansen. It is certainly a book I would talk about and tell others around me about. There are some parts of the book that are a bit more dry than others, but once you pick this book up, you can't put it down. I spend hours reading this book and had a hard time putting it down when I had to. Whenever I got the chance, I read more of this Eve Duncan thriller. It is suspenseful, and will give you a major thrill. I can think of plenty of moods and topics presented in this book. Suspense, thrill, romance, and even action will send you through a loop. Iris Johansen is one of the few amazing authors that you love every one of their books. This book is written by one of those authors, that makes you want the book to go on forever. Visit Barnes and Noble, or any book store for that matter, to pick up a copy. I can assure you it will give you the thrill of a lifetime in every chapter. You can't pass up a book like this. Stalemate, by Iris Johansen, is a book that you absolutely need to read. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would say that Stalemate is worth getting from your library. However, don't bother buying it. The book is OK but the plot isn't perticularly good. It can be hard to tell which parts are from which character's piont of view. However the story line is interesting because a lot of it takes place in the Columbian Jungle. It is about a drug lord, a weopons dealer, and a forensic sculptor. the forensic sculptor, who herself lost a child is hired by montalvo to provide proof that a skull he found is that of his wife whom was killed by the drugs lord. In a battle that is both physical and emotional she must choose between her lost daughter, bringing an innocent woman to justice, and Joe Quinn, a good friend. the book stays suspenseful to the end and always has a suprisse even if it is confusing. I rate it 4 out of 5.
NancyChase More than 1 year ago
My good friend told me about this book, since she knew I got "hooked" on the field of forensic medicine after watching a certain tv show. Tv is fine, but for me nothing is better than a good novel that can weave a story around a subject that I'm interested in. Anyway I thought "Stalemate" was a fantastic novel and the forensic professor Eve Duncan was just the character I was looking for to keep me hooked on the field of forensic science. I was thrilled with the author's detailed descriptions of this field and way she just pulled me into this fascinating story. In summary, I really enjoyed Iris Johansen book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Eve Duncan is such a compelling character and the forensic aspect of the book is not as distracting as I thought it would be. Iris Johansen is not to be looked down upon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+got+this+Audio+book+from+the+library.+Great+book+plenty+of+action+and+suspense.
JRlibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not for children. Eve Duncan is contacted by a criminal, Montalvo, who offers to help her find Bonnie's killer IF she does a reconstruction for him. Against Joe Quinn's wishes she goes to Montalvo's compound and becomes embroiled in a battle between two master criminals. I really like this series. The next one is called Quicksand and is due out March 2008.
rage-chan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love Stalemate, for some reason. The story is, as with most other Iris Johansen novels, quick and easy to read, with little to no complex, mind-bending, devious plots. That's not to say it's not interesting, however. Be prepared for some action, a bit of romance, and plenty of thrill.
jlouise77 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Awesome book! I couldn't put it down. Of course, I love all the books in this series, but this one in particular was fantastic. There were some really unexpected turns and twists in this one regarding Eve's story line and I am really excited to know that she is getting close to solving her mystery and that makes me want to get started on her next book!
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Eve is no closer to locating Bonnie than ever, and her missing daughter continues to haunt her. When a South American arms dealer offers her a dangerous bargain - identify a skull for him and he'll track down Bonnie's killer for her - she can't resist the lure. But Eve has more hostages to fate than her lost daughter. This time her obsession with bringing Bonnie home may just cost her the life of someone close to her.It's been a while since I read the preceding novels, but Johansen deftly handles backstory details, and the story takes off fairly quickly. That said, while the tension continues to build, there isn't a great amount of action. The supporting characters are wooden and fairly one-dimensional, and the premise is a bit of a stretch. Eve's tendency to threaten violence toward anyone who endangers her loved ones gets a bit tired by the third or fourth repetition. It's a solid enough series entry, but Johansen's capable of better.
NancyChase on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I got a Great Story and a Good dose of Forensic Science!My good friend told me about this book, since she knew I got "hooked" on the field of forensic medicine after watching a certain tv show. Tv is fine, but for me nothing is better than a good novel that can weave a story around a subject that I'm interested in. Anyway I thought "Stalemate" was a fantastic novel and the forensic professor Eve Duncan was just the character I was looking for to keep me hooked on the field of forensic science. I was thrilled with the author's detailed descriptions of this field and way she just pulled me into this fascinating story. In summary, I really enjoyed Iris Johansen book.
kd9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I can understand why this is considered a thriller, but it is much more accurate considered as a romance. Here you have a brilliant, sexy, passionate, dysfunctional forensic reconstructionist partnered with a macho, sexy policeman, but sought out by a macho, brilliant, sexy South American arms dealer. Much of the plot is predictable. The arms dealer seems the epitome of evil, so create an even more evil drug dealer and have that drug dealer kill the arms dealer's wife (a daughter of a freedom fighting army general). Have the sexy arms dealer give up his evil ways and follow the heroine back to the United States and you even have a plot that will span many more books. If I actually liked romances this might not be bad, but in the end it is simply too rote and unbelievable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. The plot is much more in line with earlier books in the series. Interesting plot and great writing. I cant wait to get to the next one. Stephanie Clanahan
smokeymike More than 1 year ago
This is the 7th in the Eve Duncan series, and, while most of the story lines are pretty far-fetched, they are (mostly) entertaining. One complaint I do have about the series though is the protaganist's main squeeze, Joe Quinn. He is the most jealous, self-centered, sexist, violent and unlikable character I have come across in a novel in a long time. The author would do well to bump him off soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Layed her head gently, her breathing slowing as she fell asleep, her somach gently rising and falling with her breath. (Gonna go to bed now, bw back tomorrow.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BigTexasAJ More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of these Eve Duncan books. I was glad to see this book go back to being about Eve and not just Jane (Jane's character is a little annoying to me).. but this book wasn't overly exciting. I think it's strange that Eve is constantly getting offered these odd jobs & she's always putting herself into situations with people she knows are dangerous, even if they promise to find Bonnie! She knows that Joe isn't going to like it & that he's going to be angry. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Montalvo wasn't THAT bad of a guy... he actually turned out to be really caring. However, if Eve & Joe are married, I do not want to read about her being attracted to someone else! It just doesn't seem right. But I did enjoy the plot and the ending did take me by surprise... but it didn't blow me away. I'm just ready to read about what finally happened to Bonnie. I don't see this series getting too much more exciting until we start really getting to the nitty gritty of the Bonnie mystery. Now I will move onto Quicksand. I'm hoping to be blown away & be left saying "wow" like I was when I first started reading this series....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago