Stargirl

Stargirl

Audio CD(Unabridged, 4 CDs, 4 hrs. 25 min.)

$25.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stargirl 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1407 reviews.
Victoria-Star More than 1 year ago
Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost scary? and so emotional that you'll cry for an hour after closing the cover for the last time? Stargirl did all these things, and more. It is truly a once in a lifetime book. It's beautiful, it's simple yet complex, it's life changing and life altering. The first time i read it (about a year or two ago) I cried in my bed for an hour after finishing it. It's just that touching, that beautiful, that emotional. I loved it. It's a book that cries to be re-read, treasured, passed down, and most of all...applied. stargirl carries a lesson all of us FAIL to redeem...be, your, self. No matter what others think. No matter what others do, or say. No matter how people try to suufocate your most precious dreams. The story is simply enough. Stargirl, a homeschooler, attends a publci school in Arizonia. She is decidely different, in every way from her made up chosen name to her costumes as clothes rules. She is kind to everyone. She loves her neighbor as herself. she does deeds to strangers. She loves those who kill her. Leo meets her, falls in love...but cannot accept her. Slightly, but barely. The rest, dear reader, you'll have to find out for yourself. It's too amazing to give away even a minor spolier. I will say, that if you decide, after reading this humble review, to pick up this book, know that your life will NOT be the same after you finish it. It's a warning. This book alters your life. Jerry Spinelli has a gift others dare to find. He can translate life simply, beautifully, not to mention without all the usual Young Adult gunk and junk (none of that is found here, so you know) in a way that's oringinal, realistic, and most of all...touching. This book is touching. And a tearjerker. I cannot reccomend this book more. It's a classic.
Natalie Nielsen More than 1 year ago
I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think about her. I think that anyone who gives this book a chance will love it from the start to finish.
Christine-Chang More than 1 year ago
"Stargirl" is a book written by one of the most talented writer. It starts with mysterious girl, Stargirl(Susan) transferring to Mica high-school, Arizona. Book Stargirl is about a girl and a boy on their high-school life She wears 1950's and plays a ukulele on every birthdays. And there is Leo, an ordinary boy who wants to be ordinary. Stargirl was always home schooled, she was a bright kid thinking that everyone likes her. After few problems(read the book) Leo becomes Stargirl's girlfriend. Then, Leo, told Stargirl that NOBODY likes her. After few days Stargirl was gone. One day, she changed her name Susan, and her apperance. After graduating Susan went. Susan left everything behind her, friends, memories, Leo. I really enjoyed this book, it was one of my favorite book. I strongly suggest this book, its a really good book for teenagers^^
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a greaaaat book!!!!! It took me one day to finish this book it was sooo good. Everyone should read this book. After you read this you need to read Love Stargirl.
Readingmama2006 More than 1 year ago
I picked this up when i was about 14. (im 25 now) I have to say it is one of the more memorable books ive read. I still am holding on to my copy of this book.
Novel_Teen_Book_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Review by Jill Williamson

Leo Borlock hears the rumors first. A new girl. Previously homeschooled. Weird. Even weirder: her name is Stargirl. Then he sees her. She looks like she¿s wearing her grandma¿s wedding dress, and she carries around a ukulele and serenades anyone unlucky enough to have a birthday.

Leo¿s first goal: to get Stargirl to appear on the show Hot Seat, the in-school TV show that Leo produces and directs. But Stargirl doesn¿t react like a normal student either. She doesn¿t seem bothered by people who make fun of her, she cheers for both football teams¿even when the home team is losing¿and she wraps the school body around her finger. At first.

But then things start to go bad. People start to ignore her, shun her, and treat her horribly. Leo¿s TV show goes so badly he can¿t possibly air it, because he¿s fallen in love with Stargirl. The only solution Leo can come up with is for Stargirl to be like everyone else. Be normal. But that could be the worst advice of all.

What a surprisingly fun story. I loved Stargirl¿s confidence and love for everyone. She is a strong person who challenges other students to be who they want to be and not necessarily go with the flow all the time. Sometimes high school can feel like a prison. Students can feel like they have to act a certain way or face ridicule. Life isn¿t meant to be lived that way, and Stargirl knows that. She does get hurt by it eventually, for let¿s face it, no one can be more ruthless that a bunch of high schoolers set on bringing someone down. But Stargirl bounces back, I think, because she likes who she is and she realizes that restraint is not a bad thing. She can still be her loving self but not force it on others. Stargirl is not a Christian, and may practice New Age or some other meditative religion, so take that into consideration. But the moral of the story is fabulous and well worth reading.
LaneyDC More than 1 year ago
Some mean girls and i were talking about stargirl and they said they hated it. I started cracking up laughing because,thy cant undrstand the beauty of a person. Not being afraud to show who you are!!!!! This is my favorite book. At first, i thought it would be weird for a man to write it and leo to be the main character, but it qorked perfectly well. Amazingly well written. Too bad there isn't a third one though Delaney
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli is a fictional novel. This novel was very good. It was exciting but also sad at times. The main character was very amusing. She always did something crazy. This took place in Mica, Arizona during modern time. Stargirl Caraway was the star of Mica High School. Then, the tables turned and everyone hated her. They ignored her and they didn't even look at her, even when she was doing something exciting. Stargirl kept on playing the ukulele to people on their birthday. Also, she kept on wearing weird and bold clothes no matter what people said to her. She also kept on cheering for the other team when the other team scored even when her teammates yelled at her and told her to sit down. The author uses a lot of funny words. That makes the story funnier and even easier to read. It makes you want to keep on reading to see what else happens in his novel. People who like comedy should read this novel because it is funny. Also, people who like drama and romance because there is romance between the two main characters in this novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first picked up Stargirl about 2 years ago when I was in 7th Grade. I give this book credit for getting me through the tough, conformist, dramatic Junior High years. The ending always makes me cry, every time I read it, but the story is a lesson everyone can learn from. All of the people who don't like it because "It's weird" or "she's a freak" have more to learn than others. Stargirl, an extraordinary character with childlike innoncence and the most beautiful heart, teaches us to live and love every moment of life. (sounds cheesy, but you'll get what I mean when you read it)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am currently reading this book and I can not put it down for a second. It is sweet, humorous, sad, and enjoyable rolled into one. Adults and kids should read this book. It is a very heart-warming story and will make you cry. I know I do when I read it. Thanks Jerry Spinelli!! You are a wonderful writer!! You are my influence on my book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is AWESOME
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of my favorites because it is about being yourself
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best book ever. You should get it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book good for a 11 year old girl like me?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a life lesson if you can understand this book, because she always treat's other's the way she Want's to be treated like,nice,kind helpful,caring and full of kindfullness ang that is the strongest kindness that is ever called out by:Anoymous
KatrinaO More than 1 year ago
Newcomer Stargirl captures the heart of a boy in school amidst her eccentricity. Though Stargirl was able to capture the boy’s heart, her eccentric ways didn’t win the hearts of others. The boy then is caught between his love for Stargirl and his normal relationship with the rest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An amazing book! Will help teenage girls through j-high and high school! Cant wait to read the second book called Love
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You should read it! One of the best books I have ever read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have this book not on my nook but just regular paperback and it rocks!!!!!!! Posted by samantha adams
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book blew me away. The idea of Stargirl and all that she stands for is what every author should try to achieve. This book was written so beautifully that it sometimes left me breathless, wondering how a human could possibly weave a tale so masterful and enchanting with merely words. I've read thousands of books so far, and without a doubt, this is the best one I've ever read. It deserves thousands more stars than just 5. Stargirl taught me so much, and I can only hope that she can inspire others to do what she embraced, being herself in a world where you are shunned if you don't blend in with the crowd. Jerry Spinelli's writing was out of this world, his book Stargirl deserves countless honors!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bet book ever. Period. A must read. It has crazy plans romance and will have you laughing one second and in tears the next. Truly amazing and recomended to all age's. I apsolutly love this book and will read it over and over. The best book ever!!!!!!!
SydneyTemps More than 1 year ago
I read it at age 12, and now at 18 it is still one of my favorite books. As it gets easier to read, you fall in love with the characters even more.
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Okay, I'm going to say it. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli is a young adult classic (maybe even a children's classic but that's really a cataloguing issue that I am ill-equipped to discuss). This designation raises the question: What makes a book (any book) a classic? For me it means a book that is timeless; something you can read years and years after it was written without the book losing its vibrancy. A classic also needs to have memorable writing and characters. It needs to speak to the reader. It needs to be a book that you enjoy more every time you read it or talk about it. Classics are the books you want to immerse yourself in: the books you wish you could live in with the characters that you wish were your friends. I'll say it again: Stargirl is a classic. The story starts with Leo Borlock, who moved to Mica, Arizona at the age of twelve. Around the time of his move, Leo decided to start collecting porcupine neckties--no easy task, especially in Mica. For two years, Leo's collection stood at one tie. Until his fourteenth birthday when an unknown someone presented Leo with his second tie, someone who was watching from the sidelines. Mica's unusual events don't stop there. The story continues when Leo is a junior in high school. On the first day the name on everyone's lips is Stargirl. Formerly home-schooled, Stargirl is a sophomore like no one Leo (or any of the other Mica students) has ever met before: "She was elusive. She was today. She was tomorrow. She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl. We did not know what to make of her. In our minds we tried to pin her to corkboard like a butterfly, but the pin merely went through and away she flew." After finishing this book and recently reading Love, Stargirl (Spinelli's newly released sequel), I have my own explanation: Stargirl is magical. She represents the kind of magic more people need in their lives: to appreciate the little things, to dare to be different, to be kind to strangers. The kind of magic where you still believe things can be wondrous. In the story, Leo soon realizes that Stargirl might be someone he could love. Unfortunately, high school students don't always believe in (or appreciate) magic like Stargirl's. As the school moves from fascination to adoration and, finally, to disdain Leo finds himself in an impossible position: forced to choose between the girl he loves and his entire lifestyle. Technically speaking I love everything about this book: the characters, the story, the cover art. This one has the full package. Spinelli's writing throughout the story is perfect. He captures Leo's fascination with Stargirl as well as his equivocation as he is forced to choose between Stargirl and "the crowd." Stargirl is not a long book. The writing is cogent, sentences brief. Nonetheless, the text is rich. This book never gets old or boring. Spinelli creates a compelling, utterly new narrative here (with a charmingly memorable heroine).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im reading this book for school for book club and it is very good. Some parts teach kids not to bully, some parts teach kids that there are kids out there with weird names. I give an infinity for stars
Anonymous 7 days ago
The book “Stargirl” has a lot of qualities that kids will like. The book talks about a girl who is very unique and weird compared to everyone else. She is made an outcast by the school and has no friends. This boy named Leo takes interest in her and he starts investigating her. He wants to find out why she is so weird and where she came from. I liked that she and Leo become friends and then they start dating. It shows that unique people can still have a good life. The characters were very believable because of their personalities. The ending of the story could have been better because it left us on a cliffhanger with Stargirl’s disappearance and her location was still unknown. My favorite part was when Leo and Stargirl. This book is for young audiences so teenagers and young adults will find it interesting.