Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

by Marissa Meyer

Hardcover(Library Binding - THIS EDITION IS INTENDED FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY)

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

STARS ABOVE: A Lunar Chronicles Collection 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my fav series and these short stories just added to how amazing this series is. I'm very sad that it's over now.
Seoling More than 1 year ago
This review is definitely not spoiler-free, my loves. So proceed with caution as Stars Above reveals the aftermath of The Lunar Chronicles. It did not cross my mind as I looked at Stars Above that it would include a real epilogue story to The Lunar Chronicles. I only believed that it was a collection of short stories about the characters before they came to be in this saga. It wasn't until I was reading a tweet from Marissa Meyer that I became insanely excited in the idea. In the days leading up to its release, FierceReads polled the question of who readers thought the wedding (yes, a wedding takes place!) was for - logically, I only ever believed Scarlet and Wolf would be the reasonable couple. However, in the depths of my soul, I wanted Cinder and Kai to be the ones to be the one exchanging vows. Little did I know, I got more than I hoped for and I was satisfied with the turn of events that left me squeezing about the ending. It's pretty hard to write this review without spoiling the book. For a second time, I will post that this review contains spoilers. So please read with caution if you decide to go on. I will say that the spirit of the characters and the storytelling that Marissa Meyer is so good at doing is prevalent in this short story. Of course, I expected no less. I'’m sure that she was excited to sit down and wrap up the story she had begun years ago. I was so so happy that I was not thrown into the get-together immediately - that I got to start the story with Cinder (the first!) and where’s she’s left off. If you have gotten to Winter, then you know that what Cinder proposed in the matters of the Luna monarchy have gone through and have come to fruition. It is her first time leaving Luna since her arrival and I think the emotions she goes through with leaving Luna and coming back to Earth is so endearing. She feels afraid leaving because something might happen, but she’s so nervous about going to Earth and seeing Kai and everyone. It’s so so endearing. When the gang finally gets back together, I told myself that this is what I came for - when all the characters are getting introduced into the short story - I gave a monumental YES! THAT’S HER/HIM and they’ve become more and more like their characters in the time that’s passed. And of course, I was right in my prediction of who the wedding was for - SCARLET AND WOLF! I was so happy to see that they finally decided to tie the knot. They’ve lost so much, but they’ve found each other and one day they’ll have little pups digging themselves into the gardens. I still remember when Scarlet wondered about Wolf and whether he was going to come back to Earth with her while his mother was on Luna. Man, good times. And now they were getting married! I was so happy to see the gang coming together and planning a surprise wedding for Scarlet since she didn’t want the media blowing up about it (since Queen Selene and Emperor Kai are present). It brought me back to the old stories about how they worked together to accomplish impossible tasks. I especially loved reading the respective girls’ and boys’ scenes where they were dressing Scarlet up and the boys were decorating the downstairs for the wedding. But the best part of the epilogue for me was the ending when Kai and Cinder.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What hapens to iko dose anybody Know? Mabey Iko +Kimmy??
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
It's always hard to review anthologies because there's so many stories to review individually. This one was a little easier since I had read some of them before. Even still, I really loved each of these stories and I'm glad they were given as special additions to the Lunar Chronicles Story! The Keeper: I loved this story because Scarlet was actually my favorite of the series. Seeing more about Scarlet, Cinder, and Michelle was fun. It also really showed how smart everyone involved in the situation was. From the doctor to Michelle, just everyone involved. And last but not least, there was a very cute "to grandmother's house we go" vibe with Scarlet on her way to the farm. I did really like it. Rated 4 Stars. Glitches: I had read this one before and loved it. It was of course sad to see what happened to her step father and I hated what she got in return from the rest of his family, but it was really cool to see where it was originated. It was definitely nice to see some of the older characters again as well. Like Peony. Rated 5 Stars. The Queen's Army: Again, this is another one I loved because Wolf is my favorite. I read this one before too, but I read it before I read Scarlet. Because of that, I was scared of Wolf. I mean all that he went through in this story was scary. Add all that on to the talk of Levana and thurmages and this story was definitely cool. Rated 5 Stars. Carswell's Guide to Being Lucky: I really liked this one. It definitely showed the classic Thorne. It was so funny to see what all he did in school and how much of a scammer he was even then. I thought this was a great story! I didn't think I could love Thorne anymore than I already did, but after reading this, I do now! Rated 4 Stars. After Sunshine Passes By: I had actually been looking forward to this one. Since I loved the other pre-ludes, I knew that I would love this one. And I did. Of course it was very sad and I hated the thurmages even more, but it was still a good look at Cress. Rated 3 Stars. The Princess and the Guard: This one was fun. Well at the beginning anyways. When things got deeper, it began to get sad. I hated to see what Winter went through and of course I hated to see at that point the bad guys won because of a misunderstanding. It was definitely better at the beginning. Rated 4 Stars. The Little Android: I tagged this one to read a long while ago but never got to it. I finally did and I thought it was pretty cute. I liked seeing the likeliness to the Little Mermaid. It was definitly not the Disney version though lol I'm glad Meyer did it only as a short story because I'm not sure I could've handled the end of a full story that way. Rated 3 Stars. The Mechanic: This one was very cute. I love Kai and have been on the Kai and Cinder ship since reading Cinder. It was cute to see the two of them and their very first interaction and how they felt about each other. I loved seeing the two of them all over again. Rated 3 Stars. Something Old, Something New: I think I'm the only person on the planet who didn't flip forward and read the last story first. That's what I love about reading thhough, the anticipation of getting to the best part. And I'm glad I waited. I LOVED it. It was perfect. I also loved it because I'm overly sentimental. I'm getting married and I can't lie, this made say aw so much that I started thinking about my own future wedding lol It was definitely cute and I loved having the entire gan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absollutally loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This has a wedding scene and a proposal in it along with all of the stuff in the overview. No I am not telling you names. Where is the fun in that?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a major fan of Lunar Chronicles. I need to read this ASAP!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg i died when i read this it was so cute!!! Well the little android star that part was confusing but im pretty sure its the little mermaid but with an adroid if youre confused about that... marrisa did leave out iko and kinney and let me say i lovvveeeddd them soooooooooooo much i mean iko+kinney ALL the way even if its some sort of weird..annyway i loved it!!!
MyndiL More than 1 year ago
Some of the stories included in this bundle were ones I'd already read, but for the stories that were new, I was SO excited to read them. I particularly loved the stories that took place AFTER the events of Winter. There's so much more story possible and I'm glad the author took the time to give that to us. For a collection of short stories, I felt it read fairly smoothly. If you enjoyed The Lunar Chronicles, you're going to want to pick this one up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It seemed to me that a major flaw with the series is that all the characters have the same personality. I still love it though.
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars Reviewed by Annie and posted at Under The Covers Book Blog For fans of the Lunar Chronicles, there’s plenty of reasons for rejoice! Marissa Meyer has packaged all her novellas in the Lunar Chronicles in one pretty package for all of you to enjoy. Inside this collection are five never-before-released stories but there are nine stories in total. Of course there were a few stories that I was most looking forward to reading. Once I picked up this book and started reading though, one thing became abundantly clear to me – these stories are more of the “slices of life” type as opposed to full-fledged short stories. So while many of these are considered prequel to many of the books in the series, I would not suggest reading these stories before the four main books in the series. FAIREST is also a prequel short story but that one is way more developed than the ones you’ll find in here. Again, I suggest reading FAIREST after the others. So as I was saying, these stories are more like “slices of life”, meaning that they can’t standalone as a solid story but something more like a teaser of what happened before or after certain events in the series. They just give further insight into some characters, almost like a treat for loyal fans who just can’t seem to get enough. I enjoyed all of them as Meyer writes abundantly well and I just love learning more about her characters and her world. But I will say that for the majority of the stories, a lot of them were somber in tone. There’s a wash of sadness that is casted over them, making me feel more sympathetic to the characters. It’s a bit depressing actually. It should come as no surprise to report back and say that Thorne’s story was my favorite. He’s one of my favorite characters in the story. If there was one story that I wish was written and included in this anthology it would be a story for Iko, who is one of my other favorite characters in the series. Hell, I would love a full book for her because I think she is such a bright light to this series. That being said though, there’s plenty to love with STARS ABOVE. If you haven’t read this series yet, I highly suggest you do. Don’t be like me and put it off because you’re missing out on a great story, some amazing characters and perhaps a new auto-buy author in Marissa Meyer.
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series. I was so happy to be able to read more of this saga so soon after the publication of Winter. This collection includes back story on all of the main characters in the series, as well as a wedding story that takes place 2 years after the conclusion of the 4 main books. I've read and reviewed some of the stories in this collection before, so I only read the new additions. And I was patient enough not to skip ahead and read the wedding story first. Below are my impressions of the book in general and reviews of the stories I hadn't read before. The Keeper I loved this story! We get a glimpse of Michelle Benoit, her relationship with Logan, and the responsibility of hiding Selene for all those years. The story covers 11 years, hitting the high points. I enjoyed reading about young Scarlet as well. Meyer proved her genius yet again with her explanation of the origin of Cinder's name. 5 stars After Sunshine Passes This story was so sad. It chronicles young Cress and the origin of her satellite. Her desperation for Sybil's approval broke my heart. She was still as imaginative and hopeful as ever, and I enjoyed that. Since this was a story that was pretty much known from flash backs in the original books, I didn't love it quite as much as some of the others. 4 stars The Princess and the Guard Hooray! More Jacin and Winter. I really fell in love with them both in Winter, and I was kind of sad they didn't get more time in the series. This story was perfect! It gives their background. We get to see them playing together as children. Meyer shows Jacin's devotion to Winter. I absolutely loved this story. It was so sweet. 5 stars The Mechanic When I read Cinder the first time, I wasn't sold on Cinder and Kai. But as the series continued, I began to appreciate Kai more and more. This story tells of their initial meeting, but from Kai's perspective. I LOVED it! I enjoyed getting into Kai's head a little more and seeing his vulnerability. I like him even more now. 5 stars Something Old, Something New No spoilers, I promise! This story was perfect. I loved knowing what happened with everyone two years after the end of the series. There was a lot packed into this short story. When they make the movies, I hope they'll even cover this tale as a final movie or an epilogue to Winter. It was just so fun to read about the whole gang back together again. I love the banter! That has always been a huge part of what I love about this series. The characters are so endearing, so comfortable with each, and so fun to read about. 5 stars http://www.momsradius.com/2016/02/book-review-stars-above-ya.html
Citajme-com More than 1 year ago
I have two young daughters. And, you know… young girls love reading Lunar Chronicles. And when they heard about this new LC edition, well… that was a cause for a real celebration. Of course, publication of “Stars Above” was driven by marketing departments in order to continue hype caused by publishing of long-awaited “Winter”, the fifth book in Marissa Meyer’s “Lunar Chronicles” series, but one should admit the author managed to do this in a big style. This is the first book of stories set in the Lunar Chronicles’ world and Marissa Meyer even changed her initial plan of including two original stories – instead she went beyond writing five completely new stories, including a prequel and epilogue to “Winter”. For Lunar Chronicles fans this book would be real gem, something that they should not miss, while for other young readers (if there are such who had not read LC) my daughters told me reading of LC books would be recommended first. You can rest assured that kids are going to love it…
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Winter comes out today and I'm super excited to read it! I have loved the series since scarlet. She's my favorite character. Can't wait to have the whole series!