Sugar Changed the World: A Story of Magic, Spice, Slavery, Freedom, and Science

Sugar Changed the World: A Story of Magic, Spice, Slavery, Freedom, and Science

by Marc Aronson, Marina Budhos

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.79 $11.99 Save 10% Current price is $10.79, Original price is $11.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sugar Changed the World 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
cassielanzas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sugar Changed the World is an illustrated picture book for older children and young adults. It chronicles the way that sugar has changed the world using historical narrative and primary source documents. It is impeccably researched and the authors discuss their research process. I enjoyed reading the book and looked at old information new ways, through the lens of sugar.¿Part One: From Magic to Spice¿ chronicles the discovery of sugar by Europeans through the Egyptians, Roman Empire, and Muslims. In the early 11th century, Europeans began flavoring foods more and using more sugar. The appetite for sugar grew and wars were fought to gain control of the supply. It describes the transition from the authors¿ Age of Honey to the Age of Sugar. This section was interesting, but was the driest section. I think it could have been shorter. I am concerned that some struggling students might stop reading during the first chapter due to dense historical information. ¿Part Two: Hell¿ describes the development and the working conditions of the slave trade for sugar. This section includes many primary source and secondary source documents to describe the lives of the slaves. Finally, this sections describes conditions in Europe that increased the demand for sugar: factories. Many factory workers began drinking tea with sugar to keep their energy up on the lines. I found this section to be very interesting. Some of the scenes described are graphic, yet, they seem appropriate for older children or young adults studying the slave trade. ¿Part Three: Freedom¿ summarizes the end of slavery. It begins with freed slaves in France. Next, it chronicles how England¿s Sugar Tax directly led to the declaration of independence and the abolitionists movement. Finally, it describes the hardships sugar workers faced even though slavery had ended.¿Part Four: Back to Our Stories: New Workers, New Sugar¿ describes in greater detail the authors¿ connections to sugar. After slavery became illegal, many Indians became indentured servants to work in the sugar fields. The work and treatment of the workers was still brutal. This is how Marina Budhos family crossed the atlantic. Next, Marc Aronson¿s connection is explained. Napoleon desired a sugar empire and decided to use beets to obtain it. One of Marc¿s ancestors developed a machine to turn beet sugar into crystals. The authors states that this ushered in the Age of Science, as science could now make sweeteners instead of whips.This book has many classroom applications. The chapter on history could be read during a unti on research. Any chapter, especially "Hell" could be used to show how primary source documents are used as evidence. Lastly, it could be used to learn about early global trade. Additionally, on the book's website, there are several high quality teaching guides.
ShaneCasebeer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
4Q 3PQuote:Sugar plantations were Hell because of the endless labor they demanded from slaves. They were Hell because of the many dangers and injuries that they causes There were Hell because the slaves who labored without end got nothing for their work -- except to live another day to work more. But none of these miseries was the true reason the plantations were so evil. The plantations were Hell because the masters and overseers were treated as gods--which turned them into devils. The English historian Lord Acton famously said, "Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely." (61)
MarthaL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A well written history book. Includes index, timeline, maps and many historical photos. A must have for jr. high and high school libraries. A good resource for history research papers.
detailmuse on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If, like me, you expect a book¿s title to reflect its contents, you may be frustrated that Sugar Changed the World: A Story of Magic, Spice, Slavery, Freedom, and Science is much more about slavery, indenture and freedom than about sugar. There are passages about sugar's origins and early adoption, but there's virtually no development of the Magic, Spice, and Science aspects of the subtitle, and little of sugar¿s gastronomy, nutrition, and social history.But if, also like me, you enjoy slicing a complex topic like world history in a way that gives a new perspective, you¿ll appreciate this book¿s use of the economics of sugar trading as a framing device to explore the expansion of slave trading, the growth of New World colonies and eventually the end of slavery.It's written for a YA audience (ages 12+) and illustrated with dozens of maps, drawings and photographs, all extensively captioned. Appendices include a timeline, bibliography, endnotes, index and a note to teachers about classroom use. As an adult, I came to it out of interest not obligation; still, the textbook-ish writing reminded me of books I¿d plodded through as a kid while researching term papers. I most appreciated three aspects: seeing sugar plantations as forerunners of today¿s ¿factory farms,¿ where the division of labor, standardized processes and economies of scale (at that time pre-Industrial Revolution) necessitated the importation of huge quantities of (slave) labor; exploring ¿Hell,¿ the work of plantation slaves; and integrating the effects of contemporaneous world events (e.g. national revolutions and boycotts). And in the end, the book's title does capture its thesis: how the ballooning demand for Sugar Changed the World.(Review based on an advance reading copy provided by the publisher.)
lilibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A history of sugar, and it's production which ranges throughout time and geography. It tells how slavery made mass production of sugar possible, and how it was only when slavery ended that science stepped in, creating machines to do some of the work and discovering how to get sugar from beets, as well as from cane.
Citizenjoyce on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book uses the topic of the growth of the sugar trade to describe slavery and the exploitation of workers around the world.There's quite a great deal about slavery on sugar plantations mostly in South America and the Caribbeans, some in Louisiana. Marc Aronson says that, harsh as slaves were treated in general, they usually did manage to survive, unlike those who worked in sugar. It was the only form of slavery in which the slaves kept dying off so more and more had to be imported. After Haiti became free, because of slave revolt, the plantation owners moved to Louisiana where slavery still existed and Napoleon had made sure it was well suited for sugar production. Louisiana became the only state in which the number of slaves births did not surpass the number of deaths. So I wonder when slaves always worried about being sold "down river" if they meant being sold into sugar rather than cotton. I wish I'd read this book before The Book of Night Women. I think it would have made the story all the more powerful.Coming round to more modern days, Aronson describes how Gandhi worked as a lawyer for Indians imported to South Africa to work sugar. These Indians were not slaves, but were mistreated almost as such, and Gandhi used the conscience he assumed most human had to focus the world on this mistreatment. Of course, Martin Luther King learned Gandhi's non violent protest methods and used them to protest the same abuses in the US.This book is written for Middle School and High School students, but I found it very informative as an adult.
laruby on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is very well written and absolutely loaded with quality information about the centuries long history of sugar around the globe. The writers have really done their research and actually have personal historical ties to the sugar industry making this book very personal to them. This book includes images from many primary sources depicting the horror of slavery, politics, and inventions related to sugar's fascinating history.
klthorp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was certainly an interesting read and it is one that I would recommend to YAs, but probably closer to the age group of Tweens. It was informative and traced the history of sugar and the implication on our world. I even had to step back from time to time to ponder the facts and was pretty excited when they got me thinking in new fun ways. What I liked: It was nice to read about each author¿s family history with sugar and why he or she felt tied to the project. After reading adult non-fiction for so long it was hard to read a simple story. However this book encourages me to seek out an adult book on the subject to read so I can find out more about the subject.What I didn¿t like: The language was too stylized for my taste. Non-fiction is certainly entertaining on its own in the hands of a skilled author, but these authors tried to build suspense or turn a phrase when the facts and information could have supported the material.
KarenBall on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Now that is one ambitious title! Both authors have family connections to the sugar industry, and those led them to research the history of sugar. Turns out those little white grains that sweeten my coffee come from a particularly brutal history. The beginnings of sugar cane cultivation came from New Guinea, and the Greeks helped spread it through the ancient world. When Christopher Columbus brought cane plants to Hispaniola (now Haiti and the Dominican Republic), plantations sprang up, the industry boomed, and worldwide demand soared. Other European countries took sugar cane to Caribbean islands and Brazil, and within 100 years, the African slave populations in those places exploded. Aaronson and Budhos detail the horrifying conditions for slaves on cane plantations, and the dual responses: abolitionists advocating for freedom, and industrialists inventing safer methods and equipment for harvesting and processing sugar. The research includes plantations in Louisiana and Hawaii as well, and ends with how contact with sugar workers affected Gandhi's work for human rights in South Africa and India. There are a lot of pieces to this global puzzle, but the authors do an exceptional job putting them together for readers, showing relationships and cause and effect. Lots of primary source material and photographs -- absolutely stellar nonfiction! 7th grade and up.