The Tale of the Body Thief (Vampire Chronicles Series #4)

The Tale of the Body Thief (Vampire Chronicles Series #4)

by Anne Rice

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Tale of the Body Thief (Vampire Chronicles Series #4) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 258 reviews.
Quan-Kun More than 1 year ago
While others found this their favorite among the vampire chronicles, I however, did not. I don't mind the change of pace, though the story itself seemed to fall short of my expectations. It certainly was not all bad, I actually found it rather enjoyable. In fact the more I read, the more I enjoyed it. Think of it as a "snowball effect," very slow starter. There were even times when I made myself read it though I didn't want to. By the time I was 3/4 through it I found it difficult to put down, all with a rather satisfying ending. If you enjoyed the chronicles, give this a read, it's Lestat in a whole new light.
Savannah Gill More than 1 year ago
This is the first anne rice book i read. Its good read it.
Landry More than 1 year ago
Happy to have this one in my library. Highly Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book, wish Anne would go back to her writing roots and produce more like this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't want to put it down! Could hardly wait to pick it back up!
hermit_9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This tale may be the beginning of Rice’s disinfatuation with The Vampire Chronicles. Although it is very well-written, it is not as enthralling as some of her earlier works. It reads like an unsuccessful attempt to break out of a formula. In short: not a bad book, but not very inspired either—like having plain scrambled eggs for breakfast.
myabut on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is book four of Anne Rice's vampire chronicles. Lestat exchanges his soul with a body snatcher named Raglan James and celebrates being human again, but quickly tires of it. He then hunts James to take back his vampire soul. I consider this 2nd to the best of the first four of her vampire chronicles to my mind.
MoiraStirling on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lestat switches bodies with a body thief and becomes mortal again. Delectable...However, there is an unfortunate repeated use of the word "preternatural". I find the concept of David most interesting. Is this metaphorical for Rice's musings on reincarnation?
PigOfHappiness on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lestat goes on more extravagant adventures in this installment of the vampire chronicles. In this text, Lestat switches bodies in order to once again experience the joys of human mortality. A bit cheesy, although well written. Appropriate for high school and beyond.
LaurenGommert on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Even though it's not my favorite in the Chronicles, I appreciate the opportunity to witness Lestat out of his comfort zone. Usually an arrogant, pompous individual, Lestat trades bodies with a human and finds himself completely lost. Seeing Lestat struggle provides him with a depth we haven't seen from him before. Slow, drawn out, predictable...but worthy of a read.
Cats_Critters on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really like this book, it is from Lesats point of view and is interesting. Lesat is being followed by a man, a human man, who offers him a chance to be human again. Against his friends wishes he takes the deal which leads to horrible results. This book has some small problems, but the last chapters 32 on really made me want to through the book at the wall the first time I read it. Now I understand it but it still upsets me.
susanbevans on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The fourth book in the Vampire Chronicles (although you don't really need to read the previous 3 in order to read this one.) Lestat gets his wish and becomes human, for a time. Terriffic plot - new ideas - quite a tale!
AnnieHidalgo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite Anne Rices. I think her interestingness peaked in this book, and the two Lestat books on either side of it - The Vampire Lestat and Memnoch the Devil. Before that she was too straightforward, and after that too weird, but this hits the sweet spot in between. Lestat, always craving the new experience, trades bodies with a mortal. Unfortunately, when the time is up, the mortal doesn't want to give his body back.
Anagarika-Sean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's not my favorite of the series. Well written, though, and has a good plot.
StefanY on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While not quite up to the high level set by Interview With the Vampire and The Vampire Lestat, I feel that Tale of the Body Thief was more of a return to form from the slightly long-winded style of The Queen of the Damned. In the Tale of the Body Thief, we once again join the continuing adventures of Lestat but this time he's not doing ordinary every-day vampire things. No, in this novel, Lestat has decided that he might want to become mortal again because he misses the mortal experience of savoring every moment as it might be the last.I won't go into too much detail, but I thought that this was a really fun new direction for Lestat's character. It takes him away from his normal lack of concern with the impact of his actions on things around him and forces him into some tough situations. Rice also introduces us to some new characters along the way that I was really fond of and would like to see more of.All-in-all, I really enjoyed this entry into the Vampire Chronicles and found it refreshing compared to the relative heaviness of The Queen of the Damned.
rebeccaday1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a great book in the Vampire Chronichles, I lost interest after this book. I read Memnoch the Devil but didn't quite understand it and found it boring. She should have just eneded it here. I have thought about trying to re reading the the rest of th series but never get around to it.
vibrantminds on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The vampire Lestat once again resurfaces only this time to take on the body of an actual human being. He switches bodies with a human (Raglan James) in order to remember what it means to be human. Once in his new body he realizes that being human isn't what he thought it would be but instead of being able to switch back into his vampire body the once human, Raglan James, has stolen it and fled. Lestat is forced now to stay in his human body and the search begins to find his vampire body so he can make the switch back. The book was predictable but still a good read.
EmScape on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a brilliant and entertaining book! The Vampire Lestat is faced with the opportunity to become mortal again by trading bodies with a Thief. Will he ever get it back? After several tales set predominantly in the past, this new volume of the vampire chronicles is completely of the moment. Such a fascinating plot! What if a vampire could become human again? Would he want to remain so? What is it like for someone who has been free of all mortal necessities for such a long period of time to suddenly have to deal with bowel movements and shaving? And to have this happen to Lestat! Truly one of the best fictional characters I¿ve ever encountered.
emanate28 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lestat is still charming, but the ending made me throw down the book in disgust--it seemed like such a cheap trick by the author.
AlexTheHunn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found this to be the most enjoyable of Rice's Vampire series after the Interview. I felt that Vampire Lestat and especially, Queen of the Damned got bogged down. Rice seemed to regain her abilities in this work.
vampyredhead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The 4th book in the vampire chronicals. Lestat becomes human again. A fun, exciting, soulful, epic adventure. No one knows vampires like Anne Rice.
sdtaylor555 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Wow, Anne Rice just keeps it coming. Great story. Lestat is my hero...in a bad kinda way :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago