The Accident Season

The Accident Season

by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.89 $10.99 Save 10% Current price is $9.89, Original price is $10.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Accident Season 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked her writing, and the layers to the story. I recommend it.
JenacideByBibliophile More than 1 year ago
This book sings to my dark and wistful little soul, and I just can’t get enough of it. It is always so hard to find a YA story that has a little bit of everything in it. I love a story that touches on fantasy and paranormal aspects, but is packed with sorrowful pain and whispered little secrets. This story has everything I crave tucked into its beautiful pages. This story needs to be read, trust me. For as long as they can remember, Cara and her family have been falling into unexplainable accidents at a certain time of the year. Most seasons result in deep cuts and countless bruises, but some seasons end in the death of loved ones. As another accident season comes near, Cara starts to notice the disappearance of a girl from school, Elsie. When Cara begins to question her teachers and classmates about the quiet girl, nobody seems to remember her or know anything about her. But what is even stranger, is that Cara starts to notice that Elsie is in every single one of her pictures. As Cara, her sister Alice, her stepbrother Sam, and her best friend Bea begin to search for Elsie, they also start to realize that each one of them has deep and hidden secrets that they keep from one another. As the season moves forward they start to learn that the accident season isn’t all that it seems, and that their secrets are about to come forward. This book has been compared to We Were Liars, and I definitely see a resemblance. A group of teenagers who are lost and angst-ridden, and who have countless secrets drowning them. This story follows Cara, but also her family members and her best friend. They are subjected to countless accidents during the accident season, and it keeps the reader on edge. I found it interesting that these characters take such precautions during the accident season, in that they wear protective clothing and have padded their entire home. Though Cara and her siblings are meant to be extra careful during October, the reader will still find them doing reckless things which I loved. It lets the reader know that these characters are extremely human and still seek thrills and trouble, and I found myself smirking at the ridiculous things they would do. There are two specific elements of this story that I am infatuated with. The first being the way the author has entwined such creative fantastical and paranormal themes into the pages. The entire book has a dark and spooky theme, which makes it a perfect read for around the Halloween season. These characters are constantly running into each other’s imaginations, where they get lost in magic and beasts. Cara has visions of seeing the four of them looking as they truly should: Bea as a mermaid, Alice as the Earth, Sam as character from a silent film, and herself as a fairy. Bea sees herself as a witch and looks to her tarot cards for answers, and speaks of ghosts and witches and werewolves. These aspects of the story gives the actual events that happen a dreamlike feel for the reader, almost as if to say “Is what you think is real, actually happening? Or is it all in your imagination?” Can you say WOAH? To see the rest of my review, go to my website: Jenacidebybibliophile.wordpress.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
eternalised More than 1 year ago
I loved, loved, LOVED this book. Lyrical, haunting prose, amazing characters that all seem to hide something, a sizzling romance, and a creepy, foreboding sense. It had all the elements I love about YA paranormal wrapped into one book. I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
AsDreamsAreMade More than 1 year ago
Original review link: http://asdreamsaremade.com/2015/10/book-tuesday-the-accident-season/ Ok. This book was definitely not what I was expecting. It went in the opposite direction and not necessarily a good one. Cara and her family are cursed every October with the Accident Season; they succumb to cuts, bruises, broken bones, and during the worse years, death. This year turns out to be a pivotal one for Cara; she falls in love for the first time, learns truths about her family and friends that she ever suspected and might finally solve the mystery behind the Accident Season. Going into this book, I thought it was going to be a bit more fantastical than it ended up being. It was a bit abstract. At times, I wondered if Cara was just high and imagining everything. The plot moves slowly with Cara and her friends trying to solve the mystery of a fellow classmate, Elsie, disappearing, while dealing with the Accident Season. Cara was an “ok” MC for me. I didn’t necessarily hate her, but I didn’t necessarily like her either. In fact, I felt the same with many of the supporting characters. Alice annoyed me. I understand why she is the way she is, but I just didn’t find her likeable. Sam and Bea were the same for me. Bea was too pretentious and out of all them, I preferred Sam. Half the book, they just seemed like a bunch of troubled kids getting high, smoking, and partying. I was rather confused as to what was reality or not. The climax was interesting albeit predictable. It just wasn’t the most satisfying of endings for me. After reading this book, I’m left with that feeling of “what the hell just happened?!” It ended up being a much darker book than I expected, dealing with some heavy issues. It is a standalone however, which is always refreshing in this day and age. I think I just didn’t connect to this book’s style. It might be right up some people’s alley, it just wasn’t my cup of tea.
Lisa-LostInLiterature More than 1 year ago
The Accident Season was unlike anything I’ve ever read before. It was spooky, emotional, romantic… it was so unique I couldn’t possibly compare it to any other book. It’s packed full of mystery and secrets, its twists and turns jumping out throughout the entire story until the bitter end. It was intense, and I loved every minute of it! The concept behind this story was so intriguing, it’s what really caught my attention at first glance. Cara and her family suffer from accidents and injuries that occur during October each year – this is what they refer to as The Accident Season. The family doesn’t know why these accidents occur, but they continue to every year. Bones are broken, injuries are sustained, and there are even deaths. The family members are the only ones affected by The Accident Season, and they have no idea why these accidents keep occurring. Basically the entire story resolves around four characters: Cara, her sister Alice, ex-stepbrother Sam, and best friend Bea. The family and friendship ties were extremely strong in this book. Cara, Alice and Sam seemed to grow closer and closer every time The Accident Season occurred. Bea, who wasn’t a family member but still experienced these accidents from the sidelines, was as much a part of this family as possible. She was a quirky, tarot card reader with a knack for all things witches and magical. I really appreciated how Bea was as much a part of all of this as the family was, which really portrayed how strong their friendship was. There was also a bit of a romance in this book which builds slowly throughout the entire story. First kisses, butterflies, secrets… all whole nine yards. A wildly wonderful story involving a messy group of flawed characters, all who try their very best. Expect all kinds of confusion of the best kind possible, and TONS of secrets! It’s extremely intense, and you’re honestly better off going into this book knowing as little as possible. I’d say it’s a mixture of magic with some paranormal, and a slight contemporary feel. I avoided all reviews before reading this one, and I’m so glad I did. Though I had no idea what was going on at times, it was fantastic and I really loved that about it. If you’re looking for a book to give you the chills AND the giddy butterflies, this is a book you’ll want to get your hands on. Audiobook Impressions: This is my first experience with Colby Minifie as narrator. I tend to shy away from narrators with accents (just a personal preference), but her adorable accent definitely contributed to this wildly creative story for me. Colby did a fantastic job with these quirky characters and this what-the-heck-is-going-on-right-now story line. If you’re interested in reading this one, the audio is the way to go! (Thanks to Listening Library for the review copy!)
DonnaGambale More than 1 year ago
Eerie, engrossing, and atmospheric, with vivid characters and imagery, THE ACCIDENT SEASON is a standout debut! Read this if you loved THE SCORPIO RACES by Maggie Stiefvater or WE WERE LIARS by E.Lockhart. For my complete recommendation, check out This Is What You Should Be Reading: http://www [dot] thisiswhatyoushouldbereading [dot] com/recommendations/2015/6/9/the-accident-season-by-mora-fowley-doyle
Reading_With_Cupcakes More than 1 year ago
I have no idea where to start with The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle. It was perfect. It was amazing. Breathtaking even. No words can do this story justice, but I will try. The Accident Season is about Cara and her family. Every October they seem to suffer from more accidents and get more injuries than during any other time of the year. Every year is different, some are worse than others. Some years there aren't only accidents. Some years there are tragedies. This year is no different. Cara, Sam, Alice, and their mother bundle up in extra clothes, cover the tables in bubble wrap, and lock up all the knives. But it doesn't work. Alice has fallen down the stairs and hit her head pretty badly. The others keep accidentally running into things, tripping over other things, or have things fall on them. No matter how hard they try, the accidents seem to keep happening. No one knows why their family keeps suffering every October. Their friend Bea has read her Tarot cards, but they can only give them the smallest bit of insight and help. The kids think that a girl named Elsie, the keeper of the secret box at school, might have some of the answers they seek, but now that they are trying to look for her they can't find her. She isn't in school and no one can seem to remember anything about her. The majority of the story is about the kids trying to find Elsie and them planning the most spectacular Halloween party the kids at their school have ever seen. It is all most impossible to give you any more detail about the story without giving spoilers away. There is magic, ghosts, accidents, and strange happenings going on the entire time. Cara has to figure out how to navigate it all and to survive the accident season at the same time. The Accident Season has so many layers to it. It is impossible to guess what is going on. When you think you might be understanding the story, something happens to keep you guessing. It is strange and just keeps getting stranger as you continue on. But it is beautiful. The characters are amazing. They are developed very well. The same can be said for their relationships. You feel as though you are right there with them the entire time. The Accident Season is a story that will stick with you once you are done. You cannot help but think about it. You will still be peeling the layers of the story back one at time days after you have finished. Prepare yourself to have one heck of a book hangover! It is so beautiful. So amazing. It will keep you on your toes the whole time. You will never be able to guess what is exactly going on. The Accident Season has found its way onto my all time favorites list. This review is based on an eARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley. My Rating 5 out of 5 stars Find more of my reviews here: http://readingwithcupcakes.blogspot.com/
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books Publication Date: August 18, 2015 Rating: 4 stars Source: ARC sent by the publisher Summary (from Goodreads): For fans of We Were Liars and How I Live Now comes a haunting, sexy, magically realistic debut about a famiy caught between a violent history, a taboo romance, and the mysteries lurking in their own backyard. Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it's bad, like the season when her father died, and some years it's just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season--when Cara, her ex-stepbrother, Sam, and her best friend, Bea, are 17--is going to be a bad one. But not for the reasons they think. Cara is about to learn that not all the scars left by the accident season are physical: There's a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises. This is the year Cara will finally fall desperately in love, when she'll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she'll uncover the dark origins of the accident season--whether she’s ready or not. What I Liked: This book. Blew. My. Mind. There aren't a lot of ACTUAL magical realism novels in YA - there are a lot of fantasy, paranormal, etc., but magical realism is difficult to find. I'm a huge fan of Latin American magical realism - my second major is Spanish, and a focus of the literature I study has been magical realism, and Gabriel García Márquez (RIP, yo!). This book was everything that makes magical realism what it is, and yet it was an engaging and haunting Young Adult story that is a classic for the ages. The accident season has begun, in which Cara, her mother, her sister Alice, and her ex-stepbrother Sam, are at their most accident-prone. No matter how many layers of clothing, how many precautions with cutlery, machinery, tables, etc., accidents seem to happen around the month of October, and this year, it will be bad. Cara, Alice, Sam, and Cara's best friend Bea are perplexed by the disappearance of a girl at school. Meanwhile, they're trying to throw the biggest Halloween party in the town. But Cara is going to learn some truths that she might not be ready to learn, and the truth behind the accident season is one of them. I don't even know how to coherently write this review. I knew next to nothing about this book, before reading. I'd never even heard of it to be honest, but the publisher sent it to me unsolicited, and I decided to give it a shot. This is a psychological thriller magical realism mind-boggling novel that I can't even sum up or describe properly. WOAH! I like Cara. This book is written in her first-person point-of-view. She is caring and intelligent, and she's a dreamer and a reader. She starts to see changelings and fairies, but as with magical realism, this isn't a worrisome thing to Cara. A classmate of Cara's goes missing, and Cara sees her everywhere, yet nowhere. Cara is tenacious, and kind, and a bit naive too. Read the rest of my review on my blog, The Eater of Books! - eaterofbooks DOT blogspot DOT com :)
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
"So let's raise our glass to the accident season, To the river beneath us where we sink our souls, To the bruises and secrets, to the ghosts in the ceiling, One more drink for the watery road." Cara is afraid she has no secrets. She is afraid that she isn't witchy and interesting like her best friend Bea. She is afraid that she'll never be as in control as her older sister Alice. She is afraid to think too hard about her ex-stepbrother, Sam. Most all of, she is afraid that this accident season is going to be a bad one. Cara is afraid of her secrets. Every October, Cara's family falls victim to a slew of accidents. It's an open secret among their friends and neighbors who ignore the scrapes and bruises or try to find reasonable explanations for the broken bones and deeper hurts. Cara is afraid of everybody else's secrets. Everyone in Cara's family is good at keeping secrets from friends, from each other. They're good at pretending that the cuts don't hurt, that the bruises don't show. But every accident leaves a mark; every season creates new secrets, new things no one wants to talk about. This season Cara will start to learn why in The Accident Season (2015) by Moïra Fowley-Doyle. The Accident Season is Fowley-Doyle's debut novel. The real power and strength of The Accident Season is in its ambiguity. This is a story about secrets and the lies we tell others (and even ourselves) to keep them. This is a story that explores exactly what it means when there are no easy answers. The Accident Season is nuanced, optimistic and just a little bit unsettling. In a story filled with secrets and things not said, Cara's first person narration is taut and keeps up the tension as she and her friends try to learn more about the accident season and their mysterious classmate Elsie. The Accident Season is an atmospheric and distinctive novel where nothing is exactly what readers first expect. Part ghost story and part mystery, The Accident Season is an aching story about love and loss with elements of sweet romance and sparks of magic. This meditative story about family and the many ways old wounds can heal proves that Fowley-Doyle is an author to watch. The perfect blend of eerie and whimsical. Highly recommended.