The Bookshop of Yesterdays

The Bookshop of Yesterdays

by Amy Meyerson

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$7.49 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Bookshop of Yesterdays 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chose this based on the cover art and it didn’t disappoint. In addition to the personal story that unfolds, I enjoyed taking short jaunts into the other books and stories that play such a key role. Fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's 3am and I have finished this beautiful, clever story. I went to bed, but kept thinking about the story, about how it would end. So I got up, snuggled into my chair and opened the book. The loose ends were all tied up and I am cheering for the success of Yesterday's Books, but I
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The most enjoyable novel I've read in a while. Was so caught up in Miranda ' s journey of discovery I didn't want it to end. Hope there's a sequel ahead. Yesterday ' s Progress in the works?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a retired history teacher , I was captured by Miranda ' s story. I also love independent bookstores, so the core of the story was intriguing . The clues and mystery surrounding the bookstore provided me with the desire to read to the end. Very satisfying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book pulls you into its story and keeps you reading to the end.
gaele More than 1 year ago
A Favorite Debut Offering! Miranda grew up in Southern California, an only child with that one ‘fun’ family member, her Uncle Billy, and his bookstore, Prospero Books. But when Miranda was twelve, Billy didn’t come to her birthday (not unusual) but did appear one last time at 3 am – fighting with her mother and never to be heard from again. Now sixteen years later and living in Philadelphia teaching middle school history, Miranda gets the call from her mother, Billy is dead. Soon this is followed by a book and a clue –the scavenger hunt that would be Billy and Miranda’s last, and she’s off to discover the answer. From rediscovering Prospero Books, left to her in his will, the clue leads her to more discoveries, more clues and more questions. Questions that her mother and father won’t answer, questions that keep Miranda in LA far longer than the week she expected, making her question the life she had known: this search for answers in which she feels much like the worst of Billy – self-centered and selfish, unable to see the world from another’s perspective. I adored this story and Miranda’s search: the riddles and clues left in books, highlighted passages that test everyone: Miranda, her new employees, old friends of Billy. I’m horribly useless when it comes to riddles and solving them, but the alternating moments of frustration and joy that Miranda displays with each new clue, realigning her life in lieu of all of the information she’s discovering about people known and unknown. Far from simply a riddle to be puzzled out: this story celebrates readers, authors, bookshops and the people who love books and all they demand and give. Myerson’s debut offering presents her as an author to watch for readers who want smart, compelling and engaging stories: full of references and characters to engage and enjoy. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Haven%27t+read+anything+this+enjoyable+in+a+while%2C+and+I+always+have+something+to+read.++The+story+takes+you+on+a+wonderful+journey+through+many+facets+of+literature%2C+along+with+the+ins+and+outs+of+a+family+and+a+bookstore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down and read it in 2 days. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+enjoyed+everything+about+this+book+-+the+setting%2C+the+story%2C+the+language+and+the+characters.+I+highly+recommend+it%21
Anonymous 20 days ago
This is not typical of the books I normally read. There is no murder, no blood and guts horror, nothing paranormal, nothing pertaining to a serial killer hell bent on revenge. But, there is mystery. There is angst, and heartbreak, and redemption. This is, hands down, one of the most beautiful stories I have I ever read, and I will never forget it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Compelling read with challenging literary references Hard to put down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was one of my absolute favorites!!! The plot is very creative and it kept me hooked throughout the entire story; there was never a part where I was bored or wanted to put it down. It was very unpredictable. I would suggest this to kids 14+. There were many swears that and referring to adult actions. Nothing to intense. I highly recommend it.
Lilac_Wolf More than 1 year ago
**Thanks to NetGalley for my review copy!** This was a pretty sweet story. Miranda is living with a guy in Philadelphia, where she is a teacher, and she thinks her life is pretty perfect. But then she finds out her uncle, whom she hasn't seen in 16 years has died. That's bad enough, but then she finds that he has left behind one more scavenger hunt for her. She only hopes they will lead her to the answer about what the final argument was that he had with her mother all those years before. The story had excellent pacing and I enjoyed the characters. However, it was very predictable, and that fizzled some of the excitement. But only some, I don't regret reading this as it fully held my attention from beginning to end. You find yourself rooting for Miranda all the way.
Anonymous 1 days ago
the name is the reason i chose to read this book! i am so glad i did. i couldnt put it down!!!! you wont be sorry.
Anonymous 21 days ago
Beutfully written.
Anonymous 21 days ago
not even half way through i started to suspect what the secret was and I grew more and more excited to not only know if I was right but what the reasons behind the secret where. Amy truly engulfs you in the sensitivity of her characters and allows you to connect with each one understanding the emotion within their choices.
Anonymous 25 days ago
wonderful characters
Anonymous 26 days ago
Like Dorothy Gale and the incomprable Alice our heroine Miranda is off on a quest, a journey to find among other things self and home. Her beloved but long lost (to her) Uncle Billy sets it in motion, and of course nothing is as it aeems. Like the bookstore that is the heart and soul of the book, Miranda makes peace with the past and gives it a permanent place at the table, right next to the future.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Thoroughly enjoyable. I look forward to next book by Ann Meyerson
Anonymous 6 months ago
This was a perfect read for someone like me who needs to feel a connection to the characters. The author made me feel like I was part of the story. Loved it!
Anonymous 7 months ago
This is a fun book. Great story for book lovers.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Great+read%21+All+strong+characters.+i+really+enjoyed+the+references%2C+too.+Enjoyable+read+throughout.
Anonymous 11 months ago
this+book+captures+your+interest+from+the+very+beginning%21
Two2dogs More than 1 year ago
I didn't care for this book because less than half way I already knew the ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this book. I did not want to put it down as I wanted to find out how this ended.