The Cactus

The Cactus

by Sarah Haywood

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Cactus 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Took me a while to get into this book, but it ended up being an enjoyable read and one i would recommend.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Very+well+written+++and+enjoyable++read+about+an+independent+++career++woman+letting++her+guard+down+and+finding++love+in+unexpected++places.
Anonymous 10 months ago
loved the characters. I felt like I knew them. was sad the book ended. great read
Anonymous 11 months ago
Such+a+delight+to+read+%26+exploration+of+characters.++
Anonymous 12 months ago
good+read
brf1948 More than 1 year ago
The Cactus is an excellent British novel, set in Birmingham and London, that brings to life a plethora of life lessons; birth and death, greed and generosity, stubbornness and weak-willed. But the most important life lesson I mined from the pages of The Cactus is how to go about defining "family". Sarah Haywood allows us an intimate peek into the lives of the Green Family - Clive and Patricia, Susan and Edward. And Sylvia and Frank Mason, Wendy and Chrissie and the grandchildren. I received a free electronic copy of this novel from Netgalley, Sarah Haywood, and Two Roads Publishing in exchange for an honest review. Thank you all for sharing your hard work with me.
Anonymous 18 days ago
I loved the complete transformation of Susan in this novel and of Edward.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Loved this book!
Anonymous 5 months ago
The book starts out slow but overall it was good. The fact that Susan was able to overcome all the negative with one positive gift in her life.
Valerian70 9 months ago
I'm not entirely sure if I enjoyed this book or not. It is certainly very well written. It certainly has strong characters. It has a believable(ish) plot that moves fairly smoothly. However, I did find that I couldn't actually read for more than an hour without having to put it down and go and do something else. I'm not entirely sure why this was but it was perhaps more to do with Susan's character than anything else - abrasive doesn't begin to even cover it. Sadly, I did recognise myself in a lot of Susan - particularly when at work and her desire to generally avoid human to human interaction. Maybe this just made it all cut a bit close to home but I'm genuinely not sure. It also didn't help that I found the romantic facet of the story to be a rather strange. Yes, you can guess where it will all end up more or less from their first meeting but getting there wasn't exactly fun. Despite Susan's protestations of self-reliance it all feels a little bit desperate and hostile rather than insouciant with hefty dollops of "methinks the lady doth protest too much". I did like how Susan's character softens throughout the story though and how this was shown as being due to friendships that crept up on her rather than merely hormonal. I did like the friction between Susan and Edward; fraternal relationships can be so difficult. The battle surrounding her deceased mother's estate was well constructed and all too realistic - right down to the needless litigation. Although, the conclusion of that felt like a little bit of a cop out somehow. On the whole I was left a little bit confounded by this book and although I finished it nearly a week ago now I'm still undecided as to how enjoyable I found the reading experience.
Renwarsreads 10 months ago
I truly enjoyed Susan and her quirky personality. Being along on her journey into pregnancy & birth, friendship, a relationship and finding herself was such a treat. I loved the characters in this book and how Susan reacts to each of them. She is certainly a strong willed person who really ends up seeing everything quite differently by the end of this book!