The Camera Never Lies

The Camera Never Lies

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$30.90 $32.99 Save 6% Current price is $30.9, Original price is $32.99. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days
MARKETPLACE
4 New & Used Starting at $17.81

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Camera Never Lies 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
NEOdyssey 20 hours ago
This book made me cringe, and I would like to think that was exactly the author's intention. This is not a light read, nor an easy read, but it is a necessary read. Truth is in short supply these days. This story is about a family's work and school life. With this special camera, images reveal what is really happening behind the scenes. Faces appeared bored. Glances are wandering. Reality is revealed. This book made me stop and ponder what I am trying to hid from those around me. In this novel, some of the reality is shown from the beginning. Some details are told later on which help to explain why certain characters acted a certain way. Not everything at the end of the book is happy, but there is definitely resolution. This is a completely unique plot and viewpoint. I would read more by this author. Thanks to#netgalley and #ThomasNelson for allowing me a copy to review. All opinions are my own!
BookReviewerTG 24 days ago
This was one of the most interesting stories that I've read in awhile. It's so interesting that a picture does tell a thousand words about us. So the camera never lies giving us all a new look at how our lives are being played out right before us in pictures. Daniel Whitely inherits a camera and as he takes pictures and has them developed he begins to notice that his life is played out right before his eyes. He also begins to see that he, his wife and daughter do not have the perfect life as they thought they did. The camera, the pictures and life begin to tell Daniel that he is a fraud. On the other hand, Daniel begins to see what is really important in life. This book drew me in and let me glimpse at what a world through a camera lens might display. What a story! *This book was provided for review by The Fiction Guild*
Sandraabrazier 25 days ago
When Daniel’s dear grandfather dies, he leaves Daniel his beloved camera. He knew how his grandfather treasured this camera! On the bottom of the camera is engraved, “No matter what you think you might see, the camera never lies.” Along with the camera, his grandfather left him a small album of some of the photographs he had taken. The photographs were strange, though. No one looked like they were aware of being photographed. No one smiled, either. As Daniel receives this gift, he is facing lots of problems in his life. His publisher calls often, and he finds he cannot write another best seller. His advance has already been spent! In addition, his marriage is failing, and his daughter is troubled. To top it off, someone is using his camera. He hasn’t taken one picture, and the roll is all used up! This is an interesting book. It is about facing the truth. It has a valuable message. However, I found it preachy. Also, this plot has been done before. Sadly, I also found it predictable. I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.
MaryAnn Bell 3 months ago
David Rawlings, author of The Baggage Handler, returns with another probing story: what would you do if your secrets were revealed to those around you? Daniel Whiteley is a successful couples counselor who regularly puts families back together, helping them face up to the things in life they hide. But his own marriage is falling apart. His wife, Kelly, knows Daniel is hiding something from her, but she doesn’t dare probe for fear her own secrets will be revealed. When his grandfather dies, Daniel inherits an old SLR camera from a time when cameras pointed away from the person taking the photograph. On the camera is an inscription: “Use this camera wisely and remember, regardless of the picture you think you took, the camera never lies.” When Daniel first uses his new camera he finds someone has already filled the roll of film. Annoyed, he processes the film and finds photos of a secret that he’s been hiding from his wife and daughter. He has no idea who took them. Now every time he uses the camera, the photographs reveal another secret about himself the he is desperate to keep-as well as those of his wife, which he is desperate to uncover. My Thoughts: This is a thought-provoking book that the reader will be unable to put down. The author David Rawlings has written a story that deals with the results of having secrets in our lives. Every untruth we have will affect us or someone close to us in one way or another. In this book we see how secrets affect a family. The author has a unique way of telling the story. It keeps the reader spellbound and entertained. The characters are easily identified with by the reader; the author has a way of drawing the reader in wanting to keep reading until the end of the book. This is the second book I have read by the author and I look forward to reading more from David Rawlings.
LucyMR1 3 months ago
David Rawlings has done it again with his sophomore release. It reminds me of C.S. Lewis writings in that you have to look deeper into the real meaning. To me the camera represents The Holy Spirit shining truth and light on our lives. If we self exam our lives we will see our flaws and try to live more Christ like. It made me do a double take at myself. I loved the writing style, flawed characters, and real life problems with the twist of a camera that reveals secrets. It was a page turner that had me torn to finish and not wanting it to end. I look forward to reading more by this author as his books worm their way into my heart and onto my bookshelves. I received a complimentary copy from CelebrateLit/author. The honest review and opinions are my own and were not required.
5643437 3 months ago
Imagine having secrets from those you love and should share everything with all the time. This situation is exactly what happens to Daniel and his wife Kelly. The secrets they are keeping from each other could potentially devastate each other and their daughter. But then Daniel’s beloved grandfather dies and leaves him a camera. Daniel begins to experience strange things, such as an entire roll of film being taken by someone other than him. But even stranger, when the pictures are developed Daniel sees things that never happened. When a marriage counselor and his wife are having marital problems, who can they turn to (especially when the marriage counselor is a best-selling author who has secrets of his own? I love how the story slowly winds its way through unexpected twists and turns. Millie, daughter of Daniel and Kelly, is one of my favorite characters. She sees everything and only wants her life to return to normal. The book ends on a note I was happy with, but then an epilogue enters the scene that makes me want to read more about the characters in this book. I feel there are so many more stories that need to be told. So check out this book for yourself. It is definitely worth reading. I received a copy of this book for my fair and honest review.
Ourpugs 3 months ago
The Camera never lies The Camera never lies is a really meaningful book. It can really make you think about life. The book kept my attention which is hard to do sometimes. I found it very interesting. Daniel received an old camera from his grandfather that just passed away. He has to have the film developed. The pictures reveal things he doesn’t know. The guy that developed the film keeps saying The Camera never Lies. I love this quote from the book:” Perhaps the truth is in your heart. Others might not always see the truth people hold in their heart, but the camera never lies.” I received an advanced copy of the book from the publisher through Celebrate Lit. This book review is my own opinion.
Deana0326 3 months ago
All throughout the book I kept having this pop into my head; "A picture is worth a thousand words." In this story I was hoping for words to set people free from shame, lies, deceit and temptations. The author missed the mark in getting his message across with too many characters with problems and a twist on seeing someone's inner thoughts. The main character is a marriage counselor and a bestselling author. He is finding success in his life, but what if it was based on lies? Daniel wasn't easy to like because he just felt like a person who goes through the motions but his heart isn't really there. Over and over he continues to help couples while his own marriage is in shambles. It is funny that there were signs that his life was turning upside down, but he pushed it aside until pictures he takes with a special camera makes him face reality. There is a lot going on in the book and at times I felt it was too busy. We have a man on the brink of disaster, a wife who has to choose between integrity or hiding the truth about her company and a troubled daughter who screams for help but no one hears her. I understand where the author was going with the book, but I wanted more meat and less whining. I may be one of the few but I was't as blown away about the book as others. I didn't see any faith elements in the book but perhaps the author had that thought while letting us glimpse inside characters thoughts. Secrets are huge in this book and as we all know they always find a way to come out. I liked the book to a point but I guess I could already figure out what was going to happen. I wanted the author to give examples of what happens if a character chooses the wrong path or even giving readers a reason to sympathize with characters. I didn't really like Simon and couldn't quite connect with him. He didn't seem to fully have compassion for others and almost couldn't wait for the pictures to expose the truth of someone's thoughts. Although I didn't like the book as much as others, I hope readers will give the book a try and come to their own conclusions. I received a copy of this book from Celebrate Lit. The review is my own opinion.
MelissaF 3 months ago
What a good book and it’s a quick read too. This book was so engaging, I wanted to keep reading to see what the camera would capture next and what did it all mean. And then it captures something that opens up the eyes of the reader and things make a bit more sense. The temptation that Danial was facing made me want to shake him and say get out of that situation, stop trying to fix it yourself. Fire Monique before something bad happens, that is the only way to deal with something like that. But you’ll just have to read the book yourself to see how it all plays out, because there is his wife and daughter that have their own stuff going on as well. Very good! A copy of this book was given to me through the Celebrate Lit Team. All opinions are my own.
Stardust_Fiddle 3 months ago
“No matter what you think you might see, the camera never lies.” Because I heard so many positive remarks about “The Baggage Handler”, I decided to give “The Camera Never Lies” a try. Photography doesn’t really interest me, although I do enjoy looking at nature and wildlife photos, and I have never been a fan of having my picture taken. To be honest, I wasn’t thrilled when I skimmed the synopsis, either. Had I not read so many favorable reviews when this author’s previous book toured with CelebrateLit, I likely wouldn’t have signed up to review this one, and I’m glad that I did! Blending elements of magical realism and allegory, David Rawlings’ “The Camera Never Lies” explores the secrets that we hide and the consequences to which they lead. This story reminds me of Rod Serling’s “The Twilight Zone” television series, and I can easily envision it as an episode; likewise, if this book had a theme song, I think that Natalie Grant’s “The Real Me” would be a perfect fit. Rawlings offers great insight into the human psyche and how one lie leads to a cascade effect, even subtle lies such as pretending that things are fine when they’re not. Using a camera to develop the ideas in the narrative is brilliantly apropos because “[t]he camera reveals how our lives truly are. We can’t trick it, even if sometimes we think we can trick ourselves and everyone around us.” Furthermore, “Truth cannot simply be avoided, covered up, or ignored, and the camera chooses the truth it shows.” The symbolism also works well, as with the fictional prescription drug Mendacium, which references the term “mendacious” and its Latin etymology from words meaning “lying” and “fault.” The revelations from the storyline filter through the lens of truth, exposing the lies. One aspect of this book that I did struggle with was the characters. I didn’t particularly like any of them, with the occasional exception of Simon, nor did I feel a personal connection with any of them. I found myself groaning and rolling my eyes a bit with David, in particular, but to be fair, his reactions are believable and his approach to life is essential to the plot’s execution. Also, although there is no direct mention of faith, there are easy parallels to Christianity throughout the text and in the theme of uprightness vs. deceitfulness. Sometimes we, like Kelly, might think that honesty doesn’t always work, but as Simon tells her, “Well, sometimes your honesty doesn’t produce results you can see with your eyes. Sometimes the results are about your own integrity.” This immediately brought to mind Hebrews 11:1: “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” It all comes down to trust. We have to decide who or what we are going to trust in, ourselves or the Lord, and when we choose to trust in Jesus, we find the truth, the way, and the life. “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free” (John 8:32). I received a complimentary copy of this book through CelebrateLit and was not required to post a favorable review. All opinions are my own.
Floyd Johnson 3 months ago
David Rawlings writes fiction that is as revealing as it is fictional. On the surface, the book is about a man, one David Whiteley, whose family, whose job, and whose reputation, stand on a precipice - one that will crumble beneath his feet if something does not change. Beginning with the death of his grandfather and the unexpected camera left to him at his grandfather’s death, life begins to unravel. But this camera is special. The resulting pictures have exceptional clarity, and they often reveal more truth than the photographer is planning for. Ultimately the question becomes, what will the photographer respond to that truth. And that is the question that David faces as he retrieves his prints from Simon, the owner of the camera shop around the corner from his work as a mental health counselor. The author has the very nice ability to ask both David Whiteley and the reader to answer the same two questions: Are we willing to have the truth revealed; and how will we respond to the truth. The answers do not come easily and the cost of difficult truths is often less than the cost of hiding that truth. David Whiteley finds The Camera Never Lies. Are we willing to look at our lives with the same clarity? ______________ This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are my own.
Virginiaw 3 months ago
I would never wish to have a camera like this one. I think it would be very scary to have a camera take pictures where every truth comes out. I would not want the responsibility to help these people. This story made me laugh and cry. The characters were not always real likable but that is just like real life. This was a wonderful book. I received a copy of this book from Celebratelit for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.
amybooksy 3 months ago
The Camera Never Lies is the first book I have read by David Rawlings and it will definitely not be the last. The writing style and story line is a little bit different than what I am used to, which I found to be a nice change to read something a little unique. I enjoyed this quick read and meeting Daniel. It was interesting to take the journey with him and the lessons he learned about life. It was really thought provoking and made me stop to think about some things throughout. What a magical tale that needed to be told! I am so glad I had the opportunity to read it. I am giving The Camera Never Lies four and a half stars. I would love to read more by Mr Rawlings in the near future. This one is definitely worth a read. I think many readers would enjoy this clean and inspiring story. I received this book from the publisher. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.
mypreciousbitsandmusings 3 months ago
Secrets have a way of pulling us down especially if it's the wrong kind being kept. That's the premise of this book and the author tried really hard to highlight it in a fun an interesting manner. Our hearts may not necessarily be revealed immediately but our actions portray what we are thinking and the harder we try to hide our real intentions, the harder it becomes for us to love comfortably. Daniel and Kelly dealt with this throughout the course of the book. O love the way the realised the freedom that comes from being honest. That were much happier as a family even if they had to face certain consequences because of their actions. It was a great read and recommended for those who love allegory. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author via Celebrate Lit for a blog tour. A favourable review was not required. All opinions expressed are solely mine.
vics49548 3 months ago
I’ve never read a book quite like this. Other reviewers say that it is very much like a Twilight Zone episode and I’d have to agree. Deep secrets come to light as well as the price that comes with them. Not just individual lives are affected, but entire families. Author David Rawlings does a great job with his novel, making us face what we would look like if photos told only the truth. The truth about not only what happened, but about what emotions and feelings were involved, also. Kind of a scary concept, it will challenge you and make you look at your own life differently. Full of life lessons and challenges, I highly recommend it. I received a complimentary copy of this book but was not required to leave a review.
bmrawlins 3 months ago
This book should come with a warning label to read only if you are prepared for your heart to be challenged and changed. Fans of the Baggage Handler and James L. Rubart will absolutely want to read this book. Be prepared to devour it, then allow yourself to savor the depth of truth that it shares. Daniel is graciously gifted a camera that reveals the truth behind the masks we wear every day and what can happen when those truths are not addressed. It makes the point that lies, and sin, cannot only affect the person trapped by them, but do indeed spread to all those who interconnected in their life. A chance at redemption if you are willing to stop pretending and expose the truths you are desperately trying to hide behind. I received a complimentary copy from the publisher via NetGalley and all opinions expressed are my own and freely given.
Janice Lombardo 3 months ago
Daniel's beloved Gramps passes away at the age of 88. The two were close and a legacy was left for Daniel - an old Olympus camera. Also, Gramps wanted to remind Daniel that the camera never lies;;; Kelly, Daniel's wife, and Milly, his 12 year old daughter, live in a rather expensive Cliffside house. A big reason is to have a large kitchen so when Daniel's next book is published Kelly can open her catering business. Actually, there are two main themes; Daniel's camera and Kelly's current job as a pharma rep. The marriage is in a rocky period and Milly is 12 appears to be a brat... As pictures are taken (some of these pictures; Daniel has no idea who has even taken them) there are strange views in the images. Daniel had brought the film in to be developed by the "only game in town", "Simon's". Simon, himself, is a bit odd.. Excellent character development and plotline! I can only say that I find this book to be a MUST READ!!! Many Thanks to Thomas Nelson, Publishing and NetGalley for a wonderful read!
RMeckley 3 months ago
This book presents a very clever concept. A very old camera is bequeathed to Daniel by his grandfather, but the camera’s pictures show the hidden truths rather than what is visible through the viewfinder. Daniel’s personal and professional lives are all affected by this discovery. The novel is a very intriguing page-turner that had me considering what this camera’s pictures would show about my own life. Excellent! Thanks to NetGalley for providing a preprint.
Erin_Slocum 3 months ago
My Thoughts on The Camera Never Lies: The Camera Never Lies will force you to take a deep look into your own life and think about what it would be like to have all your secrets exposed. Should they stay secrets? Who are we hurting or protecting by keeping them secrets? I have to admit this was not just a fun read for me. It was a challenging read. What would happen if I had a camera like that? Who would I see? What secrets of myself would I find exposed? Would I want them exposed? This is a very good read with lots of information to make you think. It’s not going to be a feel-good read. There is a mystery and there are lies and secrets galore. What will people do to protect their secrets? It made me really think about what my own secrets might be and what would happen if I made them no longer secrets. I do recommend this book and think it will appeal to lots of people. The author has a gift for writing and coming up with a very unique storyline. I have voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from Celebrate Lit. All views expressed are only my honest opinion. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC regulations.
Anonymous 3 months ago
What a good story ! And, without revealing too much, the accuracy of the description of feelings is absolutely incredible ! What "finesse" ! Everyone has a photo album, and, from now on, I bet all the readers will stare at their pictures with "another" eye ! The book raises many questions about "what if" . The plot could be close to a fairy tale, mixed up with questions we ought to ask sometimes about ourselves. David Rawlings got true talent to slowing compose a picture of our ways to communicate, in time of crisis. This is mind blowing. The quality of the descriptions are a pure joy. This is not a script for a movie, the author, in simple words and very easy to follow narrative, brush a picture of some of our contemporaries. I strongly recommend ! I received a copy in echange for a fair review. All opinions are mine.
A_N 3 months ago
David Rawlings takes a simple idea of an antique camera and secrets to create an engrossing story that had me not wanting to stop reading and never wanting the book to end. Which is a double-edged sword for a reader. I wanted to know what was going on with the pictures yet I was so captivated by the story I wanted to stay in the world of Daniel, Kelly, and Milly. This will be on my top reads list for the year. When an author keeps me that engrossed it's definitely a winner! I highly recommend this book! Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book via the publisher. I was not required to write a review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
KiahJT 3 months ago
4 star The Camera Never Lies by David Rawlings is a profoundly moving story. The camera is a bequest from Gramps after he passes away. It shows the whole truth of the lives of those whose pictures are taken. Rawlings has written an extraordinary book that grabs you from the first page and doesn’t let go. I have never read another book quite like this, which considering how many books I have read is astounding! The only negative aspect of this book is the length. It is quite a short book so it doesn’t allow for as much character development as longer books do. Everything just wraps of too neatly at the end leaving the reader to make a number of assumptions. The flaws are more than made up for in the quality of the book, so I highly recommend it. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley. The views given are my own.
brf1948 3 months ago
I received a free electronic copy of this novel from Netgalley, David Rawlings, and Thomas Nelson publishers. Thank you all for sharing your hard work with me. I have read this novel of my own volition, and this review reflects my honest opinion of this work. David Rawlings writes a tight, well-paced tale with interesting word pictures here and there that you can savor. I am happy to recommend his work to friends and family. The Camera Never Lies is based on that old adage about the cobbler's children going barefoot - our protagonist Daniel Whitely is a highly acclaimed family counselor with one best-selling self-help book out and rumors of another in the works. His wife Kelly is a rep for a pharmaceutical company making a hot new drug to help young children basically addicted to their screens - notebook, IPad, iPhone, etc. Their daughter Milly is 12 and losing it, showing signs of deep depression and has isolated herself from every aspect of her life, failing at the school that she once aced, friendless and suicidal. But Dad is focused on work - he is making bad decisions with employees and months behind on the draft of his second book. His editor is ready to take back the big advance for this work, which is already spent on the downpayment of their ritzy new home. Kelly is working to fill the financial gap until the next book sells, at a job she hates. Her dream is to set up a catering business but this temporary job pays the bills for now. But there are rumors of side effects to this new drug - serious migraine-like headaches, some requiring hospitalization. The drug company reassures its staff that this is all malarky, that the rumors are just that, but she is vocally skeptical - which doesn't sit well with her bosses. She knows she has to keep this job until Daniel finishes this next book, but she vows to not pass on the reassurances recommended by the bosses if specifically ask about the rumors. Meanwhile, Daniel's Grandpa dies. His only real legacy is an old, beat-up leather briefcase containing the still lingering aroma of Old Spice and a vintage Olympus HS-10 Infinity camera containing a spool of exposed photos to be developed and a small album of pictures, most faded and almost without color. David is touched, and curious to see what the exposed film in the camera contains, and sets his secretary to work finding someplace he can get the pictures developed. His Grandfather loved that old camera. Engraved on the bottom of the camera, Grandfather assures that 'no matter what you think you might see, the camera never lies'. But the pictures taken on the Olympus are not exactly what was focused on - each picture portrays what the subject was thinking, or imagining. In one, David is holding hands with his co-worker Anna, Milly is doing a handstand on the balcony guardrail 200 feet about the street, the new secretary making eyes at David, and Kelly is always MAD. And Milly is in serious trouble. What a wake-up call! Will the Whitely family be able to overhaul their lives, get control of each day lived fully and together, or are they destined to come apart? Because according to the camera, they are all in very hot water...
Librarycataloger 4 months ago
Daniel Whitely ia a successful marriage counselor, an author of a best-selling book, and he, his wife, and twelve-year old daughter should be living the dream. Instead, their family seems to be falling apart. When his grandfather dies and leaves him a letter, a photo album, and the camera that he had used to take so many pictures, Daniel finds himself unnerved by what the pictures show. He discovers that Gramp's older camera is extraordinary because it produces final photographs that are nothing like the original shot. Was someone doctoring the photos? Was it a magical camera, able to project the true feelings of the person being photographed? Over and over, Daniel is told that ''the camera never lies". As he seeks answers an eccentric character named Simon reminds Daniel that "The camera reveals how our lives truly are. We can't trick it, even if sometimes we think we can trick ourselves and everyone around us." I found this book to be very intriguing and I wondered what my photograph would show if this camera was used to take my picture! The Camera Never Lies is a reminder that we often keep secrets to avoid pain or embarassment but these secrets can destroy our lives and the truth needs to be made known. It doesn't have a strong spiritual presence in the plot but author David Rawlings does convey in his story the need for honesty and he mentions the consequences and dangers of alcohol abuse, addiction, and acting on physical attraction. If you are looking for an entertaining story that will also make you think, you will want to read The Camera Never Lies. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson via NetGalley but I wasn't obligated to write a positive review. These are my own thoughts.
Ian_Acheson 4 months ago
As he did in The Baggage Handler, Rawlings uses a man with special insights into people's souls to present a story about the secrets and lies we keep to ourselves. It's a very clever story as Daniel Whiteley and his family are confronted by the revelation of each others secrets and fears. Daniel receives as a parting gift on the death of his grandfather ("Gramps") an old camera. A camera that takes 'special' photos. It doesn't just capture the on-the-surface reality but the truth hidden within the hearts of those included in the photos. Daniel is a well drawn character, a seemingly successful marriage counsellor, best selling book, magnificent home overlooking the ocean but not all is as it seems. Clearly, Gramps knew this by giving Daniel his unique camera. What unfolds is a enthralling story about a man, his marriage/family and business being challenged by the secrets he has hidden from everyone. Interestingly, Rawlings also explores the notion of perceptions and how misguided they can be. Often, we see Daniel misunderstanding what is going on, especially when it comes to his daughter's struggles, due to relying on his perceptions. I liked Milly, Daniel and Kelly's daughter. She's a teen who is now struggling at school and life because of what's going on at home. But Daniel can't see that. He needs the revelation of the camera to show him. There are so many good messages in this story and it had me stop to think about the secrets and perceptions I'm hiding in my heart. Having read The Baggage Handler, Rawlings first novel, it's clear that he has grown as a writer as he continues to write contemporary stories with a 'speculative' twist that challenge the reader to explore the deeper aspects of their heart and soul. Well done, David Rawlings.