The Confession Club

The Confession Club

by Elizabeth Berg

Paperback(Large Print)

$25.20 $28.00 Save 10% Current price is $25.2, Original price is $28. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, March 3
MARKETPLACE
13 New & Used Starting at $14.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Confession Club 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Jean patrick 4 months ago
Everyone should belong to a Confession Club. It must be the most freeing feeling in the world to have a group of friends you can trust to know everything--good and bad--about you. Such a wonderful cast of characters, beautifully developed, each with their own story so that at the end of this book you know each of them intimately. Read and enjoy these women and be envious of their relationship with each other.
Anonymous 6 months ago
The characters are so intriguing and wonderfully imperfect, yet warm and natural. I've enjoyed all 3 books in this series.
Lilac_Wolf 4 months ago
A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review **I was given a digital review copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.** This book had so much small town life. There was a confession club, where the members confessed their deepest and darkest, but they had made it a safe place for all of them to be. And I love how they help hold each other up. Then there is a little romance between 2 older individuals, which just melted my heart. The conflicts were a bit forced and then concluded too fast. That's my only complaint. I liked all the characters and how they interacted and I would have spent much more time with all those people.
Carolefort 4 months ago
The Confession Club by Elizabeth Berg is the third instalment in the Arthur Truluv series. Reading the two previous novels would be helpful in becoming familiar with the characters. Speaking of characters, there are so many of them that the reader can be easily confused. Although I have been an avid reader of Elizabeth Berg novels, I feel that the last few seem overly charming and cute. A group of women in Mason, Missouri belong to a club where, each month, one of the members confesses to the other members some kind of secret or indiscretion or shameful tidbit. Hence the title of the book. Two new members, Iris and Mandy, join the group and are soon divulging their secrets. This idyllic small town is represented as having only kind, helpful, sympathetic and friendly inhabitants which, in the real world, we know is not always so. If you are looking for a quick and light read, this is the book for you. Thank you to Random House Publishing Group and NetGalley for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.
txjewkat 4 months ago
A big fan of Elizabeth Berg yet this was awful and so disappointing. The story did not catch my interest. Had to quit reading about a quarter into the book.
Anonymous 4 months ago
This was a slow beginning for me. I wasn't sure what was happening as the author jumped from one character to another and I couldn't get a sense of how the story was going to move forward. Then Iris came into the story and it started to settle in as did I. I loved how this was written, not too much description and dialogue but I never felt like the author was just telling me the story. It evolved, rolling along in the same peaceful, friendly way I imagined the small town of Mason to be. John was my favorite character and has made me take time to consider homeless people and how they chose to live in a way that's so alien to me. The Confession club was a great idea and the confessions varied and believable. As many of the confessions came from smaller characters I sometimes wished the author could have given us more on them. Karen, the pastors wife was a character I would love to see develop. I stayed up late to finish this and went to sleep with a warm, cozy feeling that all was good in the world.thank you to Netgalley for the ARC.
SL22268 5 months ago
Loved this 3rd book in the series Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for an e-ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This 3rd installment in the Mason series was a delight. I loved Arthur Truluv and Night of Miracles, so I was excited to learn that there was a 3rd book that was being published. The Confession Club brings back to us Iris, Maddy, and Maddy's daughter Nola. It brings another circle of friends "The Confession Club", a group of ladies that don't seem to have much else to do with their time. Add in Maddy's husband, their estrangement/misunderstanding, and this book is a cute and fun read. I enjoyed it!
Debable 5 months ago
4.5 comforting stars rounded up to 5 Sometimes you get the exact thing you need – at a restaurant, from a friend, in a book. Read during a Christmas time that had deep loss fighting with hoped for joy, The Confession Club was exactly what I needed. Caring friends confess worries and support each other. “It wasn’t necessarily the sin that was interesting; it was the willingness to say, There. Have a good look at my imperfections. It made you feel better about your own.” Loads of subtle humor adorn the story. “The lighting in the dressing rooms is adequate, but merciful.” “Dodie is north of seventy though she won’t say how far north. ‘I’m Minneapolis, not International Falls, okay?’” I could relate to women of various ages in the story. “I go into the shower wanting to be an environmentalist and come out a hedonist.” Cake, a little Romance without schmaltz, thoughtful questions about the homeless, Coziness, Acceptance and some Wisdom. Well-written with interesting characters. This is the third book in this lovely neighborhood. I hope I get to visit it again. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous 6 months ago
What a delightful story when you just need to read something nice. This group of friends join together for a weekly dinner and a confession club. They tell each other their deepest, darkest secrets that they are ashamed of or bothered by and get loving support and advice. It's a wonderful idea. Who doesn't want to unburden themselves and get loving support? It's a great idea. The women are growing and changing since the last book but this one really centers around Iris and her taking chances. She's doing her cooking classes (and wouldn't you love some of her recipes?) and taking a big chance on love. She's also decided to raise baby goats and llamas which sounds more fun than it really is. The main thing to take away from this book is the love and support that we can give each other. It's great to have friends and be supported and appreciated. It just makes you feel good and want to start your own confession club. Thanks to NetGalley for a copy of this ARC in exchange for a fair review.
Anonymous 7 months ago
This was a delightful book. A group of women meets on a regular basis. They share food, drinks, and laughter. They also confess something about themselves to each other. There are different characters who I go got to through their confessions. Each week, over food, when the group meets a different remember has the opportunity to "confess". I learned a lot about women through their confessions. Maddy, who is estranged from her husband and Iris become members of the Confession Club. Maddy is struggling because she does not want to live in Ne New York City, but wants to stay where she is. She says this about the confession club, "You taught me the value in opening up, in confessing the thing I used to think I had to keep inside a lot of time." Iris, another member of the group, who teaches cooking classes meets John. John is a homeless man who is squatting in an abandoned house. Iris and John meet and and find a connection. Iris is surprised and hesitant at her connection to to John. A beautiful story, about women supporting women, with wonderful characters. The story pulled me in from the beginning. I felt as if l was a member of the confession club and the community.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. You can receive your copy here: https://www.amazon.com/Confession-Club-Novel-Mason-Book-ebook/dp/B07P1PSX3D/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=The+Confession+Club+Elizabeth+Berg&qid=1573006937&sr=8-1 This is the third book in the Mason series. This takes place in Mason, Missouri. A long way away from NY, where I live. This book is about a group of people that get together and confess things that they normally wouldn’t to people who are full of judgement. This club began accidentally. It started with a group of women who had taken baking classes with Iris Winters that would get together on the third Sunday and have supper. They then started sharing things that they had done wrong. This then morphed into a weekly group. They go by the phrase, “ The Truth is always interesting.” We learn so much about these characters through their confessions. Homelessness is a huge issue that is addressed in this book. They confess about how they get by being homeless. Scoring clothes from various thrift shops, wandering into funerals to help out, knowing that at the end of the day, there will be food to be given away or thrown out. I would have never imagined that people would do things as such. We learn so much about a Veteran of the Vietnam war. Things that people do not realize: when there is a holiday, public buildings tend to be closed. Where do the people who rely on the heat or cool go on these days to hang out and get out for a few hours go when these buildings are closed? Bathrooms and comfy chairs. Who would have thought that was what a library is for some people? A safe haven of sorts. We learn so much about these people through their confessions. I laughed at some of the old lady antics of sampling some $12 cookies and putting them back on the shelf because they did not like them. Planning an 80 year old birthday party with dancing boys. Some of the antics are just sad that these women feel that they need to do these items, but the fact that they are meeting with each other, does help matters. Help them deal with the demons that make them do these things. Despite this book being fiction, all stories are based on truths and I honestly believe that some of the people in this world really do seek out these places for food, comfort or just company. This book really changed my life and makes me want to do more for the community. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. I laughed, I cried, and had a lot of other emotions while reading this book.
TinaLynne 7 months ago
Thank you to Random House and Netgalley for this ebook in exchange for an honest review. We've all heard of Book clubs, Wine clubs, Running clubs, but a Confession Club is a new one for me. What a creative concept, and I loved the fact that this group of women, all different ages, from different walks of life, came together this way. This was my first novel written by Elizabeth Berg, so I wasn't familiar with any of the characters, some of which also appeared in two previous books in the 'Mason' series. I can definitely say that it stands fine on its own, but I will definitely be seeking out the first two books, because I'm dying to know more! This story was so well-written, and I grew to care so much about so many of these characters; they felt like real people to me. I absolutely recommend this book and can't wait to dive into more novels by this author.
trollman 7 months ago
I think I love the idea of The Confession Club more than I loved reading the book, but Elizabeth Berg does bring a solid group of ladies together that I would love to meet! This book starts out with getting to know the main characters and sitting in on the Confession Club's meetings. The pace starts out slow to introduce the characters to the reader. Some of the characters are familiar, beloved friends from some of Elizabeth Berg's novels. I have not really read any of her work, so I did not feel the connections as strongly as some readers who had read her novels. The women are sweet, with their own sets of issues and concerns... and the relationship between Iris and her new man are the focus of the majority of the book. Moral lessons and sweet reads combine to wrap this book up nicely. The book was good, just a bit predictable and the pace slower than I cared for in the beginning. I did enjoy the women and their stories as well as the story line. Thank you to Elizabeth Berg, NetGalley, and Randhom House Publishing Group for an advanced reader copy of The Confession Club for me to read and review. As always, my opinions are my own.
Anonymous 7 months ago
The third book in this series focuses more on Iris, her life as a divorced woman living and working in Mason, Missouri, and also brings Maddy from the first book back home. Just as with the first two books, there is the hometown sweetness to the characters that makes you share a slice of pie with them. The only thing for me is that I didn’t feel there was a whole lot of substance to this book. The story line of sexy-but-homeless John didn’t ring true, and the build up of Maddy’s “confession” didn’t quite have the payoff I thought it would. Not a bad book, by any means----I think that would be impossible for Elizabeth Berg to write, anyway----but not her best. Special Note: Thank you to the publisher and to NetGalley for allowing me to read this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
3900980 7 months ago
A group of women from a small Missouri town agree to a monthly meeting to confess intimate stories of their lives which they have never told anyone before. They decide to call themselves the Confession Club. What begins as a way of unburdening themselves, turns into a group of women who help and support each other as they divulge secrets some have kept hidden away for years. The cast of characters gives you that small town community feel, where everybody knows everyone’s business (mostly) and the gossip can be spot on, or misleading. Iris is a divorced woman who teaches baking classes in the town. Lonely and still heartbroken she meets a man, John who himself is tortured by his own sense of loss. Maddy and her daughter Nola live in New York with Maddy’s husband. Maddy decides to take Nola back to the town because she yearns for that township feel, but is afraid her husband will not agree, so instead of discussing this with him, she runs back to her past. Maddy’s young daughter Nola is the sage of the group, happily doling out her innocent yet profound advice to them all. And of course there are the funny quirky characters you will find in any small town whose adventures (and confusion) keep the reader amused! With humor, love, sadness and determination, the women of the Confession Club not only come together to teach each other with their advice, but their lessons of letting go of guilt can be learned by anyone who reads this beautifully written story. My one caveat would be that Iris’ recipes should be included! My mouth was watering during each club meeting!
rcahill 7 months ago
Many women rely on the support they receive from friends under the guise of a book club, church small group, or a dinner club. Elizabeth Berg takes this idea of female friendship and offers us The Confession Club, based upon a weekly meeting in which its participants unburden themselves in a judgement free zone. This novel is the third in the Mason, MO series and although the three books include overlapping characters, each novel can stand on its own. In The Confession Club we meet a multitude of supporting players, but then we get to know Iris, a woman who has resettled after her divorce and is pursuing a dream of offering baking lessons. She is unsure about herself and planning for her life in middle-age, when a mysterious man comes into her life. Iris will use her new friendships as a framework for her updated outlook on life and her self-worth. The women in The Confession Club are representative of multiple generations, attitudes, and backgrounds, so each reader will identify with at least one member. The real takeaway from Berg’s novel is the importance of female support and friendships, no matter your age.
mzglorybe 7 months ago
2019 My Recommendation 3.5 stars rounded up to 4 because it’s Elizabeth Berg, one of my faves. I am never sorry to have read any of her works. I didn’t realize that this was a continuation of the Trulove novels which I so enjoyed, when I requested it from NetGalley. These are about some of the people mentioned in those novels and the continuation of their stories, and some new characters as well. The Confession Club is a group of women in Mason, Mo. who meet weekly for socializing. It turns into a confession club when one woman confesses to something that has been bothering her and it’s decided that that will be the topic for the meetings, rotating around to each member of the club. I found their stories entertaining and as I have come to expect from Berg, a few gems of wisdom tossed in. I highlighted several statements I want to remember. I particularly liked how one woman defined how she wants to exit this world with a party and how she will choreograph it all if she gets the chance and whenever the time comes. Brilliantly, I thought. Very cute but ended rather abruptly with a predictable situation. Thank you NetGalley, Publisher Random House, and author Berg for the fun and enjoyment of reading this ARC. .
BigReader7860 7 months ago
First of all, I must say I have always loved Elizabeth Berg’s writing. Never Change is high on the list of my favorite books ever. Lately I’ve been somewhat disappointed. While I did enjoy Arthur Truluv, I am not happy about the last three books. Okay- that said, I found The Confession Club hard to read. I even had a difficult time remembering who was who. It was not the writer of her earlier books which had sentences that brought tears to my eyes. I liked The two main characters but had a hard time with both of them. I was in college when Vietnam took place. Yes I may have been somewhat sheltered but I have never met anyone with PTSD. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for allowing me to read this book in exchange for an honest opinion.
MLyons 7 months ago
The Confession Club by Elizabeth Berg is the third in a series (following The Story of Arthur Truluv and Night of Miracles) — and hopefully not her last! Although this can definitely be read as a standalone, please do yourself a favor and read the previous novels in this series before this one. The characters will become even more memorable as you read along. The story Berg tells in The Confession Club is a one which takes place in a small town in middle America — Mason, Missouri. It focuses on a dinner club in which the members take turns confessing personal details about themselves for which they feel guilty and are then forgiven by the other women. It is a character-driven story of community, camaraderie and women supporting women. The characters are very well-developed, and the novel is beautifully written, heartwarming and inspiring. I have found all of Berg’s novels to be wonderful reads, and this one is no exception.
Anonymous 8 months ago
The Confession Club is a novel set in the same location with some of the same characters from The Story of Arthur Truluv.. This is the continuing story of Maddie, they young girl from the previous novel. Her story continues after she has moved back temporarily with her daughter, Nora, New characters are introduced as a group of women of all ages have formed the Confession Club - a meeting where participants discuss their own personal confessions. This heartwarming novel is character driven as each grows and works through their own struggles. It was a nice follow up to The Story of Arthur Truluv and fans of Elizabeth Berg will not be disappointed. Thank you to Random House and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review the book in exchange for an honest review.
Shelley-S-Reviewer 8 months ago
So I began reading Ms. Berg's The Confession Club and found myself drawn in right from the start. Elizabeth Berg is a character-oriented writer who is absolutely brilliant in her ability to create personalities that are vibrant and believable - and that includes every age, from 8-88. There's a hint of "Our Town" in a way that is very appealing. The book covers life in the small Missouri town of Mason. The individual characters' stories are fascinating all by themselves. Berg's choreography intertwines the characters, both new and old. The Confession Club is uplifting, but never saccharine, so I absolutely adored it. This is the third book in the series, there is no need to read the other two but I highly recommend you do. Now that I've read all three Mason books I'm going to read the other two books again, then return to this one for another look at the entirety of the town and its fascinating citizens. I don't want to say more - no spoilers - but even if this is not your genre, you may well love it as much as I did. When a writer is so good at creating realistic and compelling characters, genre is not an issue...even though she is my favourite author. In a word...this book is wowsome.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I was so excited to get my hands on this book by Elizabeth Berg. I've been a fan of hers for YEARS. I admit, that the last few books of hers I have not read and perhaps that's why I didn't LOVE this one. Also, I have come to realize that I love the grip of thrillers. I thought this would be a nice treat, a quick read with beautiful descriptions of ladies similar to the Southern ones I've known all my life. I have to say, I struggled to finish this one. I struggled with all of the characters, their names felt unfitting for their ages and I found that each time I picked it back up, I had to re-acclimate myself with each of them. For that reason, I gave The Confession Club 2 stars. It just wasn't my speed. And, that was difficult for me because I love the writing style of Elizabeth Berg so much, I follow her on FB because her updates are so beautifully written. Better luck next book! I received this digital ARC from NetGalley and Random House in exchange for an unbiased review. Thank you to @Netgalley and @RandomHouse !
marongm8 8 months ago
This book was received as an ARC from Random House Publishing Group - Random House in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own. Books like these are very heartwarming and they definitely put a smile to my face. It's wonderful to see a group of women coming together and just because one of them shares an intimate story, that was a turn around from a sharing group to a confession club. The stories they share and the support they gave one another was very inspiring and I cried almost through the entire book. Elizabeth Berg really embraced this concept and did a spectacular job bringing it to life. I know our library community will really appreciate but most of all embrace this book and we can't wait to share it with them. We will consider adding this title to our Adult Fiction collection at the library. That is why we give this book 5 stars.
marquis784MA 8 months ago
I received this digital ARC from NetGalley and Random House in exchange for an unbiased review. With characters gathered from the prior two novels, a group of women from Iris’s cooking class organize a group for “confessions”. They rotate their meetings and serve a dinner appropriate for the occasion. Each night to dedicated to a particular member who can share a secret or concern to unburden herself. The group’s goal is offer confidential support and advice to their fellow members. The story continues as Maddy Harris returns from New York where she needs a respite from her busy life. She moves in with Iris Winters who has since begun to care for the house in her absence. Iris has continued with the cooking lessons started by her friend and mentor Lucille. The group decides to allow Maddy and Iris into their exclusive group where support and understanding are the ingredients for their recipe of friendship.
singingshauna 8 months ago
Elizabeth Berg can write. Maybe it’s my age, maybe she’s writing about things that I know about, such as a Magic Slate or the Marlboro Man. And baby goats! Yes, we should all google baby goats. This is a most beautifully written story. Pretty sure I will put it forward as my Book Club selection next summer. It’s that good. Thanks to NetGalley and publisher for the ARC.