The Diva Cooks up a Storm (Domestic Diva Series #11)

The Diva Cooks up a Storm (Domestic Diva Series #11)

by Krista Davis

Paperback(Large Print)

$26.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Diva Cooks up a Storm (Domestic Diva Series #11) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
WDWFan2 5 months ago
Another EXCELLENT book by Krista Davis!! Sophie is a wonderful character and each book just keeps getting better. These are the can't put down, can't stop reading series!! Just bought the latest book and can't wait to start another wonderful read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really liked the book, sort of confusing in the beginning of the book. Got better toward the end
SunnyCarolinaGirl More than 1 year ago
I love this series by Krista Davis and am so glad that Kensington decided to continue this series. This book was definitely worth the wait! Sophie and friends go to an Underground Dinner and shortly afterward one of the people from the dinner ends up dead. A storm also hits Old Town and the power goes out. Everyone thinks that they know who the murderer is, but Sophie isn't so sure. Through her tenacious sleuthing and the help of her friends Sophie turns up clues that keep the reader guessing about who the killer might be. The mystery did keep me guessing, but the thing that I love most about this series is the friendships between the characters. They are so genuine and the way that Ms. Davis writes makes you feel like you are visiting with old friends. You could read this book as a stand alone, but all of the books in the series are so good that you'll want to go back and read them all! And the recipes are great too! I received a complimentary copy of this book from Kensington through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
I have only read a few books in this series, but I thoroughly enjoyed this story and had no problem enjoying this story. It might have taken me a bit to sort out the characters, but otherwise, it can be read as a stand alone. In this story, Sophie finds herself investigating the death of one of her neighbors, Hollis. Hollis came to Sophie with fears that he was being poisoned, and it appears that he was right. With a new, much younger wife, a bitter ex-wife, and a teenage son who is having issues with his father due to his remarriage, the suspect list is quite full and keeps growing as the story progresses. The story is full of excellent twists and turns that kept me guessing until the very end. Krista Davis has a way with story-telling. The characters all feel like friends, even Natasha, Sopie's frenemy, and the perpetrator was a huge surprise. The pacing was excellent and the dialogue and scene-setting doesn’t drag. This was an interesting and hard to put down cozy that I found myself reading quite quickly. The publisher, Kensington Books, generously provided me with a copy of this book to read. The opinions stated are my own.
ethel55 More than 1 year ago
Sophie Davis is back with another unique foodie spin on murder. Movable underground dinner clubs seem reminiscent of the Prohibition Days and it was a great vehicle for the story. We've had our share of bad weather and blackouts here, especially in the summer, so I really enjoyed Sophie's neighborhood gathering to use up food! I found Hollis' pre-worrying about poison a good way to set the stage and have there be all kinds of possibilities for the murderer. Great to visit Old Town and many favorite characters.
DanieleK More than 1 year ago
I am so glad that The Domestic Diva series continues on with a new publisher. Thank you Kensington; I have missed Sophie so much. THE DIVA COOKS UP A STORM is the eleventh book in the series, and the characters and setting are as fresh as ever. In this installment, Sophie finds herself investigating the death of one of her neighbors, Hollis. Hollis came to Sophie with fears that he was being poisoned, and it appears that he was right. With a new, much younger wife, a bitter ex-wife, and a teen aged son who does not acknowledge his father, the suspect list starts off with a solid base. As the story progresses, there are more and more suspects to consider. The story if full of excellent twists and turns that kept me guessing until the very end. My favorite thing about the Diva series is the characters. There is such great camaraderie among Sophie’s group of friends, and I felt like I was part of the group as I read. Sophie is relatable and a down to earth sleuth. Most of the other characters are likable, even Sophie’s “rival” Natasha, and the Old Town, Virginia setting is perfect for Sophie’s genteel manners. Oh, and the food! Sophie is almost always cooking something, and the descriptions of the meals make my mouth water. Readers should definitely check out the recipes included in the back of the book. Davis is a fine storyteller who weaves a complicated and compelling mystery. Highly recommended. I received an ARC of this title from the publisher through NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The newest installment in a fantastic series !
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Sophie and Nina had planned a mini vacay to the beach, but an impending hurricane has changed their plans. A pop-up dinner party is just what they need. An event planned by someone else where they can sit back and enjoy the food with their friends. But not everyone is enjoying the event, Hollis Haberman and his young new wife are in attendance as are his ex-wife and their son. Most of the town has shunned the new bride while remaining friendly with the ex. The next morning the storm is coming closer to Old Town so Sophie heads out for a quick walk but finds Hollis Haberman having some kind of attack in front of his house. EMTs are called and he is rushed to the hospital but he doesn’t survive. It is an unusual death. He has asked for Sophie’s help because he thought he was been poisoned and the police seem to concur but they’re not sure how. Could it have been in the food at the party? or has it built up over time? His young bride is so upset and she is sure she is going to be arrested. Sophie agrees to look into the case herself hoping she doesn’t end up in a storm of trouble herself. I really enjoy these characters, even Natasha. I love the way they come together when someone is in need or when they get together to celebrate. A heavy storm hits Old Town leaving the community without electricity. What does this gang do? The organize a street party so people can cook up or grill the food that would have been ruined by the lack of power to keep it cold. The party also gives the crew to do a little covert investigating. Friendship really blooms within the pages. Poison is a common method of murder in cozy mysteries, but this time the author gives it a unique twist and they added some distinct turns that really opened up the pool of suspects. She kept me guessing right up to her grand reveal. I love when a story diverts my thinking so much that I and the protagonist have our “aha moment” together. The author packs so much into these pages. The pacing and plotting are excellent. The characters are very real and most are very down to earth. The story contains the exact right amount of humor in relation to the drama. Krista Davis is a skilled storyteller with the perfect recipe for her cozy mysteries. I highly recommend this entire series, but if you are new to it, don’t worry, there is plenty of background provided to dive right into this one. Then you can go back and start at the beginning to see all the world building and character development.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
The Diva Cooks Up a Storm by Krista Davis is the eleventh installment in A Domestic Diva Mystery series. Sophie Winston enjoyed dining at an underground restaurant with her friends the night before. She is out walking Daisy when Hollis Haberman staggers from his house and collapses in the street. He is struggling to breeze. The police check on his new wife, Kelsey and she is coughing. Later that day, Wolf Fleischman, Criminal Investigator for Alexandria Police Department, informs her that Hollis did not make it. Kelsey is at the top of the suspect list and asks for Sophie to help clear her name. Since approaching storms have called off her beach vacation, Sophie does have time on her hands. Sophie needs to figure out who disliked Hollis Haberman enough to do him in. Then a second person connected to Hollis ends up dead. Can Sophie zero in on the killer before he strikes again? The Diva Cooks Up a Storm is well-written and has a steady pace. Sophie is an engaging main character and there are equally delightful secondary characters. If you are new to the series, you would have a hard time starting with The Diva Cooks Up a Storm. The author introduces a number of people in the beginning and it can be confusing to keep track of them along with their relationships. The author crafted a multi-layered mystery with twists that will surprise many readers. I enjoyed solving this challenging mystery. The underground or pop-up restaurant concept is unique, and I have not encountered it in a book previously. There are many charming cozy moments in the story that include cooking, a library book sale, neighbors helping each other, an impromptu food gathering in the neighborhood, close friends, romance, and cute animals. Recipes are included at the end of the book. At the beginning of each chapter are advice letters with answers provided by Sophie and Natasha. While Natasha’s advice made me chuckle at times, I would not follow her counsel (Sophie is more reliable). The Diva Cooks Up a Storm is an appealing story that will delight cozy mystery readers. I am giving The Diva Cooks Up a Storm 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Shelly9677 More than 1 year ago
I love the Domestic Diva Mystery series! The writing flows and is deliciously descriptive. The characters are well-developed and engaging. The plots are always interesting, absorbing and captivating. I really can’t say enough good things about author Krista Davis! This installment of A Domestic Diva Mystery is no different. Sophie and her best friend Nina secure invitations to a hip gourmet pop-up dinner where death is ultimately on the menu. The book drew me in from page one and kept me guessing until the end. I hope these books keep coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters are fun!! Love this series
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
I can’t believe this is book 11 in the Domestic Diva Mysteries. Oh, how I have missed Sophie, Natasha, Nina, Mars, and the gang! But they are back and just as delicious as ever. When Nina and Sophie’s plans for a beach vacation are cancelled when a storm heads to Old Town, they remain in Old Town and it’s like divine intervention since a neighbor dies under mysterious circumstances. EVERYONE seems to think it was the new young wife, well, everyone except for Sophie. As Sophie digs around to clear the young widow, she discovers the ugly truth and helps solve another murder in Old Town. I just love this series and am thrilled that the wait was well worth it. If you haven’t read one of Krista’s books, this is a great one to start with. You’ll find yourself reading the others in quick succession. Krista Davis is one of my favorite authors and I adore all of her series. Can’t wait for the 12th book.
BookloverUT More than 1 year ago
Domestic diva Sophie Winston attends an underground dinner club where her divorced neighbor, Hollis, brings his new wife to the festivities. Some people at the gathering are not amused, including his ex-wife and son. Things go totally awry when he’s found dead the next day from poisoning. Can Sophie find the truth before another body is found? I love it when a story sweeps you away from your life, and transports you to another place filled with intriguing characters and a plot that keeps you up all night. This cozy mystery was that type of book. Sophie is a great character with major culinary knowledge, and I would love to taste one of her dinners. Another character that I enjoy was Natasha. She is a person who tries to be a domestic star, but winds up looking like a novice. She is annoyingly entertaining. The plot kept me guessing about who the culprit was, and left me surprised at the end. This is the quintessential cozy mystery and I recommend it to anyone who loves the genre. I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and am voluntarily reviewing it.
BeagleGirl123 More than 1 year ago
The Diva Cooks up a Storm, the 11th book in author Krista Davis' beloved Domestic Diva cozy mystery series, takes us back to Old Town Alexandria, Virginia where Sophie Winston is preparing to go on a beach vacation with her bestie Nina Reid Norwood until a hurricane forces them to cancel their plans. Neighbors in Sophie's historic area of town come together to help each other out after the storm, that is until someone murders fellow resident Hollis Haberman, and his wife Kelsey turns to Sophie for help to clear her name as the prime suspect. New characters - Humphrey's mother!!! - are introduced, and Sophie must solve this whodunit before someone decides to do her in as well! A cleverly written cozy mystery, and as usual I was smiling at the antics while I attempted to deduce the culprit along with the protagonist. Delicious recipes included! 5 stars!
Nancy0708 More than 1 year ago
When I came to the end of this story I wanted more. Yes, the murder had been solved but the story was flowing so nicely I just wanted to keep reading. In this 11th book in A Domestic Diva Mystery series Sophie Winston had quite an interesting evening at an underground dinner but that turned out to be nothing compared to the discovery she makes in middle of the street at 4 a.m. This story is well written with an enjoyable cast of characters. If you're a fan and have read previous books you'll be glad to know your favorites are back plus some interesting new characters. Even if you have not read the previous books you could easily read and enjoy this story as a stand alone. Thanks to NetGalley and Kensington for an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Chatting-About-Cozies More than 1 year ago
This story starts buzzing on page one and is a thrilling flight until you touch down on the final page! Event planners, Sophie Winston (down-to-earth), and her rival, Natasha (rather snobbish); are showcased at their best with their different personalities when a neighbor’s death stirs up trouble and a hurricane knocks out everyone’s electricity. Sophie hosts an impromptu backyard party for everyone to use their cold or frozen food before it spoils. I love the laugh-out-loud moments throughout the story—Natasha is like no other domestic diva in her advice to others on how things should be done while Sophie is more laid back. The recurring characters that make this cozy series a favorite are all re-visited here. Author Krista Davis dishes up plenty of hints and clues galore, yet still manages to cleverly disguise the murderer’s identity until she’s ready to give it away. Once all the ingredients for the murder are separated out; it becomes clear who did what and why. It’s such a pleasure to read such a well-written cozy mystery. All I have to do is sit back, and relax, and let the words take me on an adventure. The author includes several delicious sounding recipes for food and drinks for readers to try in their own kitchens. I highly recommend this story and the entire Domestic Diva series. I reviewed a digital ARC provided by NetGalley and Kensington.
chefdt More than 1 year ago
The Diva Cooks Up A Storm is the eleventh book in the A Domestic Diva Mystery series. Sophie, Natasha(the Diva) and their friends are back once again to solve another exciting mystery and tempt the reader with delicious foods. A nearby neighbor, Hollis Haberman, asks Sophie if she knows a way to check food at home to learn if it has been poisoned, but is unwilling to provide more information. She suggests that he bring some of the food that he is suspicious of to the “underground dinner” that they will be attending that evening. Sophie begins to wonder if there is trouble in paradise and his new “trophy” wife might be trying to poison him. The next morning, Sophie is up at 4:00 AM to get ready to go on vacation and while walking Daisy she finds Haberman lying in the middle of the street having breathing difficulties. Haberman is transported to the hospital where he dies. When Sophie and her friends and neighbors begin to look into Haberman’s they find several people who can be treated as prime suspects. First on their list is his wife, Kelsey. They have to seriously look at her as her provocative apparel makes them think she might be looking for husband #2, plus they soon learn that she had a violent past. Cindy, his ex-wife is also a possibility, having gone through a messy divorce. Also, Sophie wants to take a look at his law office, as there was a suspicious passing of one of the firm’s partners. Ms. Davis always provides well-plotted and told stories and this was no exception. She also provides an interesting and believable cast of characters. Once again, Natasha, shows why she is called The Diva. Her actions just make me shake my head at her. Delicious sounding recipes are also included in the book.
bluegreen91 More than 1 year ago
It was so great to go back to Old Town Alexandria and visit with Sophie, Nina, Mars, Bernie, Natasha, and their friends and neighbors! One of the things I love so much about this series is that it includes fairly equal amounts of sleuthing and real life. Sophie's on vacation from her job in this book, but there are plenty of relationship dynamics, activities around town, get-togethers, and cooking mixed in with the mysteries of the story. There are multiple victims, suspects, and secrets in this book, which kept me guessing until the very end. I love the advice column letters at the beginning of each chapter that show how sensible Sophie is and how ridiculous Natasha can be. I was so happy to hear that there was going to be a new book in this series, and even more thrilled that I got an advance reader copy. This review reflects my honest thoughts and opinions. I hope there will be many more books in this series to enjoy along with Krista Davis's other great series!
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
In this new book Sophie is approached by a friend who thinks he is being poisoned and asks her for help with finding out if it's true or not. She thinks Hollis should take his concerns to the police but that is something that he is not prepared to do just yet. When Hollis ends up dead Sophie worries that she didn't make Hollis talk to the police. Hollis who has recently married a much younger woman instantly becomes the main suspect but so is the ex-wife. Who killed Hollis, what killed him, and why are the questions that keep running through Sophie's mind. Follow along as she looks for a murderer among her friends and neighbors. Will she figure out who the killer is before she herself gets in harms way? Dive in and see if you can figure it out! This is such a lovely series, filled with wonderful tips on food, decorating and etiquette, there is something for everyone. You never know what you might learn throughout the read!!! Don't forget the wonderful recipes included at the end, I always have fun trying out my favorites.