The Sound of Gravel: A Memoir

The Sound of Gravel: A Memoir

by Ruth Wariner

Paperback

$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Sound of Gravel: A Memoir 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great read. I couldn't put this down. Ruth 's descriptions of her life and surroundings made me feel I was there and could feel all her emotions. What an inspirational story that really makes you stop and think about the important things in life. I couldn't imagine having to be so strong at Ruths age. Great story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a memoir. Glad I bought this on a Saturday, I could not stop reading it. The story of a remarkable girl with - an abusive step-father, a mother with low self-esteem, a terrible life style, many brothers and sisters who needed nurturing, poverty, lack of education, and more. Riveting!!! A++++++++++
Ukfanmoore More than 1 year ago
The Sound of Gravel was simultaneously heartbreaking and inspirational. With grace and beauty, Ruth recounts a childhood most of us can’t even imagine. There were times while reading that had to stop, so difficult were the circumstances she presents. Yet, I could not leave the book unread for long because those stories were equally as compelling and powerful. Ruth is a masterful story teller, and her style connects the reader to each member of her family. I marvel at her indomitable spirit, her incredible ability to speak from a place of love and forgiveness, and her bravery. This will be a book you will never forget.
GayIdle More than 1 year ago
"I am my mother's fourth child and my father's thirty-ninth." So begins an astonishing story of a woman who grew up in a polygamist cult. From the very first sentence Ruth draws you into her life...and you begin to experience the attrocities and injustice of this life as you are taken back with her to her childhood, reliving it through the eyes of a young girl. Ruth is a gifted storyteller and recounts the truth of her own harsh story in vivid detail. So hard at times that I would have to put it down to take time to process all the emotions that the reading brought to the surface of my heart and soul. But the story would not let me go and so I returned again...and again. Yet, somehow, there was always the glimpse of hope. I won't tell you how it ends...though obviously she has lived to tell the story. Just to say that this a story that will cause you to ponder. The only flaw for me was left in wanting to know more...but perhaps that is what makes a story truly good. I recieved an advance reader's copy of this book from the author...and as a member of #the4500booklaunches team. I approach every book I receive with an open and honest head and head. No fluff..just my own perceptions and opinions.
Cerebralclime More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing, compelling book. Hard to read but impossible to put down. Wariner expertly communicates her unique story with a depth I find surprising for a first-time author. This book will not disappoint!
Adine More than 1 year ago
I finished this book in one sitting. I am one of Ervil LeBaron's youngest children. Ruth's father is my uncle Joel, my father's brother. Ruth Wariner, the author of this book, is my cousin. Ruth and I were not raised together, as our shared past runs on parallel tracks. As I read Ruth's words, I found echoes of my own childhood. The images her writing portrayed were so vivid to me, that at one point I almost could not finish. She tells her story of pain, abuse, and eventual freedom in an honest and open manner, without self pity. She is able to depict the convoluted logic of the adults around her with amazing accuracy. Logic that my adult self has a difficult time comprehending, even though I was raised to think the same way. How could they allow themselves to be so sucked in? There honestly had to be some sort of disconnect. The fact that Ruth came through all of this whole and intact is a testament to her inner strength and endurance. This book is a must read.
AnnaLeBaron More than 1 year ago
I hope that everyone that has experienced a troubled childhood will read this griping and inspiring memoir. I heard about The Sound of Gravel first on Twitter, when I Tweeted the author, and then later that day found out she is my cousin. Seriously. I met my own cousin on Twitter. I was given an Advance Reader Copy ("Thank you, Flatiron Books!") and was riveted until I read the last page. Reading Ruth's story was so much like reading about my own life growing up in a violent, polygamist cult. My review is so personal because, even though our lives were separated by the heinous crime my father, Ervil LeBaron had committed against her father, Joel, in 1972, we survived the same type of neglect and deprivation, among other horrors. Ruth makes the shows, documentaries, news reports and other media you see on television about the fundamentalist Mormons come to life, even as you are wishing nobody ever had to experience such realities. Thank you, Ruth, for your vulnerability, bravery and courage. I applaud you!
TiccoaL More than 1 year ago
Once I started reading, I couldn't put the book down! Ruth Wariner tells her story with grace and strength; she weaves detailed scenes with gripping language. She begins by painting a vivid picture of the isolated environment of the colony where she grew up, and then thrusts her readers into the mind of her five-year-old self, leading us into the world as she knew it. This book is a MUST-READ!
Shineon24 More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC of this book. Actually, I stole my daughter’s ARC when she received it in the mail. After I took it away from her and devoured the first four chapters, she agreed to let me finish it after she’d read it. When I got it back (the next day—she read fast!), I cried, laughed, cheered, cursed, encouraged, smacked my head, and lived the life of Ruth Wariner. The Sound of Gravel is a book that truly begs to be read more than once.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Humble and stark memoir of growing up in a polygamous settlement in Mexico in the 1980s.
elischulenburg More than 1 year ago
I haven't read a book in a long time that grabbed me so immediately from the beginning and kept me reading feverishly to the end. The mom in me was horrified at the depictions of life without electricity, adequate food, or appropriate adult supervision. The kid in me recognized the moments of magic, even in this seemingly dismal childhood. This is a memoir for readers who think they don't like memoirs - The Sound of Gravel will keep you up at night, bring tears to your eyes, and once again make you believe in happy endings. Highest recommendations. (Source - ARC from publisher - thank you Flatiron Books!)
kindlovingstrong More than 1 year ago
Powerful imagery and a story that is inspiring, shocking, compelling heartwarming and heart breaking, all-in-one. I am forever changed by this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will read this book more than once
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. It was hard to read and at times very disturbing what this family went through. There was so many times I actually got very upset and can't believe what people go though in their lives . Definitely but this book on your reading list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best I have ever read. My heart just broke for this family. It is worth the read. I will never forget this story I could relate to being the oldest in a large family aAwwwnd helping my poor mother raise the kids they think of me as there second mother. Thank you Ruth for your honest and heartfelt story it really touched me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put it down, kept me wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I looked forward to every evening to read this story. It amazed me how people can survive under such hard circumstances.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So happy Ruth overcame her Mormon upbringing, sexual abuse and had the love and courage to raise her minor siblings. A great story of the human spirit and 5he will to not only survive, but to thrive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sometimes shocking, sometimes depressing of a child that grew up in a polygamous Mormon sect and became a victim of sexual abuse. An eye opener. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put this book down what a story of courage! God gift the author is!
KathiRoach More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one sitting. Ruth is an excellent writer who has a way of weaving her words to keep you on the edge of your seat. This book is a cross between the tv show Sister Wives and memoir The Glass Castle. In one word it is UNPUTDOWNABLE. You will laugh, cry and be mad as hell. In the end you'll just want to give Ruth a big hug and be her best friend. Prepare your husband and littles to fend for themselves for a day while you are glued to the pages. (They'll be fine, that's what pizza and netflix are for.) One of the best books I've read in a long time.
TeaspoonJ More than 1 year ago
I can not imagine living through what Ruth Warriner lived through. I can not fathom the will to survive after witnessing what she did. This book is tragic and emotional, yet powerful and encouraging and wrapped up with redemption and hope. There is just so much emotion packed into this book; once the tears start, they don't stop until the last page. It's beautiful. It's a must read.
Carol_L_McPherson More than 1 year ago
Taking this journey with Ruth makes you feel as if you are a part of her story and you can't help but want to rush to her side and join her! This book grabs you from the beginning and you will not want to let go even after the last page is turned. The images burned into my mind by Ruth Wariner will forever be there and I will thank God for her healing and ability to share her story!
Anonymous 4 days ago
Well written story of strength and perseverance during the hardest of times. Thank you for sharing your story and giving hope to others.