The Thing about Love

The Thing about Love

by Julie James

Paperback

$13.50 $15.00 Save 10% Current price is $13.5, Original price is $15. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, December 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Thing About Love 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book and it’s strong characters. Wish Mrs. James could have put a little short story about Tara and Ryan’s meet and greet. But overall great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read til 2 am on a work night, but had to wait to finish the next afternoon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is just one of the many awesome romantic comedies that Julie James writes. They are so beautifully written and she is by far one of the most gifted contemporary authors currently writing today. Thank you so much for the adventures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the story and characters. Absolute fun and fantastic read. You will love it!!!
starznstripes24 More than 1 year ago
This was my first Julie James read. She's been on my list for awhile now. I wish that I had started her books earlier. With so much fluff out there, it was refreshing to read a book with so much heart. I loved the dynamic of these characters. Their interaction and the way Julie pens the tale is addictive to the reader. Not only that, but the subject matter is intriguing and makes the book un-put-downable. I love that we get into the mindset of how both Jessica and John perceive their time together in the academy. It's so easy to see how each could be frustrated with the other. I loved watching them slowly opening up to each other and eventually laying certain cards on the table. While the ending wasn't where I thought it might go, it was very apropos for their mindset. It's true that not everyone is meant to do certain things despite abilities and mentality. It's easy to see the research and dedication to characters on Julie's part. The secondary characters were equally interesting and the interactions and dialog with them were fun and provided a certain level of insight. I wholly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more. I highly recommend not only this book, but also this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all of her books!
Rhodes123 More than 1 year ago
triangle, part-of-a-series, special-ops The Thing About Love is part of a series. It is a stand alone book and has interconnecting characters. It is well written with good characters, humor, and a believable plot. This is somewhat different from the other books in this series. I wanted to read this book in one sitting and it just didn't happen. It was a little slow to me. Just didn't compare to the others but still a good read.
LindaTownsend More than 1 year ago
I sure wish Julie could write faster as I can’t get enough of her books! Her eyes widened. “Ooh… was it hate sex? I’ve always wanted to have hate sex.” The Thing about Love by Julie James unquestionably ranks as one of my favorite audios I’ve listened to this year! It stars two FBI agents in a sweet, funny, light-hearted, believable, seductive, well-written done-right story line . It’s an enemies-to-lovers trope tale and it’s hot… and sexy… and funny… and, well, just gloriously perfect! Even though this is the seventh book in the author’s FBI/US Attorney series, this installment - like the other books in this series - works entirely well as a stand alone, if that is your preference. This is the story of Jessica Harlow and John Shepherd. They first meet at the Quantico FBI training facility where the two are highly competitive and quickly draw wrong first impressions of each other. After graduation, they happily go their separate ways expecting never to see the other again. Fast forward to six years later as they find themselves both assigned to the Chicago office as partners on a high profile undercover case located in Jacksonville. Thank goodness, they are both professionals and their personal feelings for each other will not be factors as they work their case. If you believe that, I have land for sale in the middle of a yet-to-be-discovered ocean. Jessica and John are written excellently! They are each likable and genuine. Both are driven to excel in whatever they do. Jessica is newly divorced and looking for a fresh start in the Chicago FBI office. John has recently separated from his long-time girlfriend after discovering her cheating on him with his best friend. Actually, they could each write a book on relationship hard knocks. Their constant need to compete with each other makes for some highly entertaining laugh-out-loud moments. Their chemistry is fantastic and their witty banter is both giggly and swoony. Julie has written this story alternating their viewpoints so readers get the inside track inside their heads. I couldn’t get enough of watching them interact from the sidelines. Karen White is one of my favorite narrators. I’m ecstatic that she’s narrating this series. Not surprisingly, she aces every aspect of The Thing About Love! She nails the personality of both main characters with authentic, consistent and realistic-sounding male and female voices. Her pacing couldn’t be better. The end product is polished and professional. I literally could not put this audio down and I’m sure those around me on a pedestrian bridge that I frequently walk wondered what was going on as I burst out laughing at the hilarious banter throughout. I further confess to listening to some of this audio in my hot garage because I didn’t want to hit stop. Karen’s performance, without a doubt, added to my enjoyment of this read. If you are an audiophile, I would highly recommend that you elect to listen to The Thing About Love. Julie and Karen are a pairing made in heaven! I sure wish Julie could write faster as I can’t get enough of her books! I absolutely adored this book and would listen to it again. If you are looking for a highly suspenseful read, don’t pick it up. But, if you enjoy sexy, feel-good contemporary romances with just the right amount of angst, do yourself a favor and check out The Thing About Love! My full review is posted at Reading between the Wines Book Club. Please check it out there!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Would love to see a continuing series with these two and their life together.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining characters. Good beach read until the final act which ended in the EXACT scenario of a book I read several years ago. Wish I had spent fewer $$.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
OMG, absolutely loved. Julie James hasn't written anything I haven't liked, but this one? Blew all of the others out of the water! The dynamic between Jessica and John was fantastic, whether they were in their earlier antagonistic phase (or was it antagonistic? Poor John, LOL) or their reluctant let's-make-the-best-of-this-op phase, or their OMG these two are setting the pages on fire phase, they are absolutely fantastic together. If you like romantic suspense that's high on the romance and snark and does a decent job with the suspense, you can't go wrong with Julie James! (I got a NetGalley copy, but actually listened to the audio from Audible because I love the narrator. She does a fantastic job every time--definitely worth the expense!) Rating: 4 1/2 stars / A
BetweenMyBookendz More than 1 year ago
Julie James is back and better than ever! After a long wait, “The Thing About Love” is finally here, and I for one could not be happier! Jessica Harlow loves to be the best at all she does. Stanford Law School aced. FBI Academy, top academics. A top undercover agent in the Los Angeles office…..and then her marriage to a Hollywood producer crashes. So not “her best.” Barely divorced, she returns home to Chicago to lick her wounds and is now assigned to the white collar crimes unit. Then there’s “Shep.” John Shepherd always put 100% in everything he has done. Son of Chicago Police detective, he played football at Wisconsin, then decided to serve his country as an Army Ranger. Recruited to the FBI, he excels at the Academy in the grueling physical schedule and at firearms training. He came in second in academics, right behind some lawyer who thinks she is better than everyone. He is assigned to the organized crime unit of the FBI’s Chicago office, his home city where is widowed dad, brother, friends and live-in girlfriend surround him….until he loses his girl and some close friends in one fell swoop. Now Shep is about to lose his mind, as that stuck-up lawyer from the Academy is now assigned to the Chicago office and, yep, they have to work undercover together. Time to cue the witty banter and sexual chemistry! I loved every page of this book. Some readers seem to find that it lagged, and were disappointed in the book. I was not. To me, this was vintage, excellent Julie James! The banter between Jessica and John was absolutely priceless. The writing as sharp as ever and the plot engrossing. I loved the dynamic between these two - the chemistry was there from the beginning at the Academy, but our duo just didn’t know how to deal with it! The undercover mission was interesting and the secondary characters added the perfect touch - I hope to see some of them in future books! And it was fun to see glimpses of our old favorites - Sam Wilkins, my main man Jack Pallas, Nick McCall and the ever-swoon-worthy Vaughan Roberts. This is an A+ read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this. Well worth the read.
krissysbookshelf More than 1 year ago
I had a difficult time deciding between three and four stars for this one. It was good, not great but not bad either however it could have used less time sort of dragging out the sit downs and socialization and really focused on the h/h who I completely adored but expected more out of after all the focus being drawn on a certain attribute or trait but then never getting to see it. I didn't really get why it was made such a big deal out of why John was this or that when he just comes off as a regular joe without anything to establish the whole he's a 'this that or other' ditto that for Jess. I didn't particularly get why they were a love match either since there wasn't a whole lot of love to be found or explored between them since their relationship is more or less a focus on their professional bond that made them feel more like friends than lovers than any passion or emotional bond that should have been established. Yet there is a lot of world building, there is a lot in plot, a lot in the case being worked, there is a lot involved in Julie's author voice her writing is fantastic, I just wanted more out of our h/h and a reason to cheer for their love life involvement. Still, it was a great read and I enjoyed it so in the end I went with four stars. Good read.
1flyerphan More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! Loved their banter. Loved their dynamic. The supporting characters were awesome. Can't wait for her next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good characters with an engaging storyline. Nothing earth shatering, but very enjoyable. I'll probably re-read.
voraciousreaderKB More than 1 year ago
Captivating!!!!!!!! I was given an advanced copy of this book to write an honest review for Netgalley and Cocktails and Books. I thoroughly enjoyed this fun and flirty story. What makes it so captivating are the well developed characters and the the witty, snappy dialogue. I enjoyed the main characters and all the entertaining secondary characters. This is a fast paced story with a hunky, alpha male hero and a sassy heroine. Special agent John Shepperd and special agent Jessica Harlow first meet when they go through the FBI academy in Quantico together. They spend twenty one weeks trying to outwit each other and compete over everything. By the end of their training, they loathe each other and hope they never meet again. Before joining the FBI, John was an Army Ranger and is the biggest, most athletic in their training group. While Jessica, an attorney, is one of two women in their class and feels she has to constantly prove herself. Now, six years later, Jessica moves back to her hometown of Chicago and finds herself partnered with her former nemesis, John. Neither of them is happy to be working undercover together and find themselves falling right back into their old habit of competing over everything. I was laughing out loud, enjoying their snarky remarks and how they continually try to one up each other. All the while, pretending to everyone else, they get along. As they work on the case, they grudgingly start to admire each other and find themselves having to fight their mutual attraction. I loved the chemistry between John and Jessica. They have a dry wit and there is a lot of verbal bantering and funny lines. Julie James has an easy, breezy, carefree style of writing that is so hard for most writers to achieve but she seems to do it effortlessly. I was immediately transported into John and Jessica's world and I never wanted to leave.
ljtljtljt More than 1 year ago
I have always wanted to read a book by JULIE JAMES but never got around to it. Then I got lucky, and received a copy of THE THING ABOUT LOVE to review. Wow, what an enthralling novel. This book is so good, I read it from cover to cover in only a couple of days. The characters are well-convinced, the plot is exciting, and the love story is seductive. FBI agents Jessica Harlow and John Shepherd attended academy training together. During that time, they were very competitive and rubbed each other the wrong way. In fact, they could not wait to graduate and end their professional relationship. Now it is six years later, and Jessica and John are both based out of the Chicago office. Much to their dismay, they are partnered up, and assigned to an undercover sting operation in Jacksonville, Florida. Spending time together in the sunshine state fuels their feelings for each other, and over a very short period of time they fall in love. However, due to John's promotion and transfer to Quantico, a future may not be possible. This is both an angsty and passionate love story. The author perfectly combines drama and seduction into this fast-paced romantic read. I immediately connected with both Jessica and John, and I cheered them on as they discovered their feelings for one another. I loved learning about the intricacies of being an FBI agent, and how committed an agent has to be in order to be successful. Overall, this is a terrific book with a happy ending that will leave a smile on your face. Complimentary copy provided by Romance Junkies.
JulieMaguda More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I've ever gotten to read a Julie James novel, and I went in with pretty high expectations because I've heard great things about her books. I am very happy to say that I wasn't disappointed at all. I'm a big fan of secret agent romances with some suspense, and this one also happens to be an enemies to lovers story so I was really excited. FBI agents Jessica and John meet during training in Quantico and immediately get off on the wrong foot. Jessica is a very hard worker and feels the need to prove herself among all of the men in their training group. John also wants to prove himself, but he is trying to prove that he isn't just a "grunt" and that he has a good brain behind it all. Throughout the training they constantly butt heads and their rivalry begins, always trying to be the better agent. After graduating they both go there separate ways, until six years later they are picked to work together as partners on an undercover assignment. There is still a lot of tension between the two of them, but they both start to realize that maybe it's a different kind of tension this time around. Jessica has just ended her marriage and isn't looking for anything serious. John has also recently left his relationship after catching his girlfriend cheating with his friend. Jessica was a great strong character. I've read a lot of books where they try to make a strong female character but push it a little too hard and either make it completely unbelievable, or just end up making them really unlikable. Jessica wasn't either of those things. She was a hard-working agent, that had some great witty banter with John's character but never came off as a "man hater" type. She was aware that her height and weight had her at a disadvantage but never complained about it and found a different way to overcome the situation. John is a former Army Ranger for whom that has had little to no trouble with the physical aspects of FBI training. John had some struggles early on in the academic department, but he worked harder in those areas, just as Jessica had to work harder to succeed when it came to the more athletic areas of their training. The competitive streak in them both pushed them to work harder and become even better agents, even if they resented each other in the process. John also has a bit of a protective streak when it comes to Jessica, that I found really sweet but not overbearing. When these two first see each other again after six years, they pick up right where they left off with the bickering, and I have to say I loved it! Their banter back and forth was one of my favorite parts of this book, and it continues even after they start to get along. It's more of teasing at that point, but it was cute. I liked watching them working out their problems and work together, and watch those sparks between them build and build. This is a slow burn romance, but it was worth the wait, in my opinion. They had great chemistry together. I've read a couple reviews that talk about the police procedure scenes taking up too much of the story, but I actually really enjoyed reading about that aspect of their work. I thought it was all really interesting. I feel like this was a little bit more light-hearted and less gritty than other FBI/secret agent type of romances that I've read. I really enjoyed this one a lot and look forward to reading more from Julie James in the future.
mamalovestoread22 More than 1 year ago
FBI agent Jessica Harlow has fought hard to find a place in her male dominated field, and even though she has found some success, she knows she still has a lot to prove. She is hoping that her new high-profile undercover sting assignment will give her the edge she needs to prove to her boss that she can handle whatever he throws at her, but the instant she meets her new partner she begins to have her doubts. Of all the people they could pair her with they chose the most annoying and stubborn one they could find... the unbelievably sexy and oh so cocky ex-Army ranger John Shepherd! Ex-Army Ranger John Shepherd is on a mission to land himself a prestigious spot on the FBI’s elite Hostage Rescue Team, now all he needs to do is come out on the winning end of his new high-profile undercover sting assignment. He has rid his life of distractions, fine tuned his focus, and is ready to tackle this assignment head on... that is until he meets his new partner. When his former Quantico nemesis Jessica Harlow breezes through the door and he learns that they will be working side by side on this mission he just about loses it. She is the most infuriating woman he has ever met, and he is certain that there is no way he is going to be able to find common ground long enough with her to get the job done... or will he? This was my first time reading a book by Ms. James, and I can say with complete certainty that it won't be my last! I enjoyed everything about this book, the story line was plausible, suspenseful and engaging, and the characters came with a very realistic feel, you couldn't help but connect to them! I really enjoyed reading John and Jessica's story, their chemistry was electric, at times I swear you could literally feel the sexually charged sparks between them arcing off the pages. It was also refreshing to read a story with a strong and determined heroine who could hold her own against the alpha hero, Jessica had something to prove and she wasn't about to buckle to John's will!! Hands down one of the best first reads that I have settled down with in a long time!! Highly recommend!! I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this title.
FromTheSouth More than 1 year ago
The thing about love is it can strike in the unlikeliest of places. Take Jessica Harlow and John Shepherd. Thrown together years after an intensive 21 week FBI training course, where their competitive nature and insecurities got the better of them, these two adversaries are once again face to face working as a team to help bring down a greedy, dirty politician. Finding themselves on a new assignment and both of them newly single, they struggle to resist the temptation of being lip to lip as they push aside false, past notions of one another and focus on the job ahead. With heated glances and unexpected, growing, silent admiration they try to keep hidden, writing that flows, back and forth flashbacks to establish their past history, Julie James delivers another masterful, heart melting FBI themed romantic tale. This reviewer certainly is not surprised. You see, this is experience talking here, my fellow romance book loving friends. I’ve read each and every one of the nine books this author has written so far, and I’ve loved them all, especially her FBI/US Attorney series. So, yeah, love can be complicated, folks, but it was an easy decision to delve into Ms. James’ latest literary endeavor. Here’s to hoping my review has been helpful in some way and that you’ll feel the same. Title: The Thing About Love, Author: Julie James, Pages: 368, 4/11/17, stand-alone, MC are FBI agents, recently divorced heroine, newly single hero, adversaries to lovers, lots of back and forth banter, hesitant to be the first to make a move/commit, white collar crime case. VERY steamy scenes, no cheating, no OW/OM drama, no love triangle, romance safety read. (This review is based on an advanced reader copy distributed via Edelweiss in exchange for an unbiased, fair opinion. No compensation was provided to this reviewer, nor is there any affiliation between the reviewer and author/publisher/Edelweiss.)
ehaney578 More than 1 year ago
This review was written by Marie as a guest review on Ever After Book Reviews blog: The Thing About Love, is that it hits you when you least expect it. And the hero and heroine in this book were blindsided by it while doing the jobs they adore. This second-chance romance is a light-hearted, fun and sassy story about Jessica and John, two former FBI trainees who are reconnected years later, when they’re assigned to the exact same case. As the story unfolds, their former irritations with one another feed in to their undeniable chemistry. As time goes by and they are forced to spend time with one another, their quips and witty banter make for an entertaining show, and evolve in to just what they never expected – love. Ms. James never disappoints when she tells a story. Her literary talents bring her characters to life, and the snarky and strong-willed Jessica is a perfect match for the very stoic and swoon-worthy John. Throw in the excitement of a delightfully detailed FBI investigation, and you’ve got a beautifully pieced together romance with an air of mystery. I have always loved her books, and this one… this one is by far one of my absolute favorites. I voluntarily read a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and feelings are my own.