The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor Series #1)

The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor Series #1)

by Jessica Townsend

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 1

Customer Reviews

The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor Series #1) 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Morrigan Crow is a fascinating young girl who is rescued from a horrible fate. She is brought to an amazing 'new' world filled with magic and possibilities beyond imagination! The reader travels over a year with Morrigan as she explores her new life and eventually realizes that she is much more than an ordinary girl! I can't wait for the next book to come out! I simply MUST know what happens next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny, punny, absorbing. I just simply loved it. Thank you Jessica.
WitchyWriter 7 months ago
When I finished reading this book, I couldn’t stop thinking about the characters. The WORLD. It would come to mind spontaneously *every* *day* and I would wish I could spend more time with these characters. Needless to say, I’m currently reading the sequel and loving it just as much. Morrigan Crow is considered a “cursed” child until she’s saved from her fate of dying on her eleventh birthday, and enters a magical world that is, dare I say it, a million times cooler than the wizarding world in Harry Potter. The magic is weird and wonderful, the adventures that ensue and the melding of real-life goals of winning her trials to gain entrance to this exclusive magical society school, with the emotional themes of belonging and trust and self-confidence, with the oh my gods so chilling and totally creepy villain is just... *chef’s kiss*. My daughter is only three and a half right now and I cannot WAIT for her to grow up so that I can read her this amazing beautiful heart-wrenching adventure with a compelling girl protagonist who models resilience and wit and friendship loyalty and all these amazing things. Imagine if Harry Potter was BETTER and FUNNIER and had a girl main character instead of a boy and you’re halfway toward understanding how awesome this book/series is. Even if you’re not a fan of middle grade, you should read this book. The audiobook, narrated by Gemma Whalen, is truly excellent, and all the different voices she does really bring the characters to a whole different kind of vibrant life. Don’t wait on this one—seriously.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very+good+fun+and+keeps+you+wanting+more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jupiter North is a character from my wildest dreams. It's a book you will never want to read again and again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wasn't expecting much when I went into this book tbh, but holy crap it had me hooked from the first page. It was magical and whimsical and a bit dark. All things I love from my middle grade fantasy. I'm definitely looking forward to the next one. I love Morrigan Crow!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 11yo son read this and loved it and recommended it to me. I loved reading it as well.
Jenna Grodzicki More than 1 year ago
This is the start of an exciting new middle grade series, perfect for fans of Harry Potter. Morrigan Crow is a lovable and relatable character, and I found myself rooting for her from page one. Young readers will be drawn into her world and will likely fly through the pages, desperate to find out what her "knack" is. I can't wait for the next installment.
Kaits_Bookshelf More than 1 year ago
Step Boldly! I breezed right through this book, which is saying something as it is a bit long for the middle grade genre (approx. 450 pages). But the action kept me turning the pages as well as the mysterious goings on in Nevermoor. There is a lot in this book that is left unexplained until the very end and even then we still don’t know what’s to come. But that’s what sequels are for right? (fingers crossed!) There were some good lessons for middle graders in this book, including lessons about bullying, having differences, and judging books by their covers, so to speak. I think kids would relate to Morrigan Crow and her friend, Hawthorne. I think they would also enjoy the idea of escaping to somewhere magical and learning that there is something special about them. I wouldn’t be surprised if this new world Jessica Townsend has created becomes the next craze in middle grade fantasy fiction. Have we finally found the next Harry Potter? Only time will tell…but I’m anxious for Morrigan’s next adventure. Until then, step boldly! Read full review at: KaitsBookshelf.com
Gret1973 More than 1 year ago
I was blown away by this book. As a fan of YA literature, I cannot wait for the next in the series. The character were realistic and fun. The world was creative and magical with room for lots of different types of future plots. i wish this new writer well and hope that many families enjoy this book and her future work!