The Wanted (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #17)

The Wanted (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #17)

by Robert Crais

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wanted 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A typical Crais masterpiece: same characters, scenery, and voice with a few new tricks and treats
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not enough smart mouth from Elvis and not enuff Joe Pike, but overall another excellent read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have sorely missed Elvis Cole and Joe Pike, and it is wonderful to have them back in this engaging, compelling plot. Cole is hired by a concerned single mom to find out what her teenage son has done to possess an ultra-expensive watch. Turns out a couple of bad hombres, with insider knowledge, are after the son, too. The son, and 2 young friends, have been involved in a string of burglaries, but one of the items they stole is worth far more to the bad guys than anyone knows. The case plays out satisfactorily, with Crais relating the tale in his usual linear unconvoluted manner. The problem for me is that characters whom we have gotten to know well are completely missing from the denouement. Their stories end so abruptly that I thought pages must be missing from my ebook edition. Alas, not so. Furthermore, there is no plausible explanation for what motivated the ultimate bad guys to take the course of action they chose. There are far too many threads left hanging at the end of this book to give it a satisfactory rating. After the long wait to meet up with Cole and Pike again, the author’s decision to omit a reasonable epilogue is gravely disappointing. It is as if Crais wrote the bulk of the book, and some other author finished it. If so, the author and the publisher owe me $13.99. Plus tax.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Elvis and Joe! Book kept me reading. Hard to put dowm! My disappointment is with the end, what happened to the 2 thiefs? Did they get jail, did they get a movie?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have read all 17 Cole/Pike books plus many others by Crais. He is one of my favorite authors. But this one was a real disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Crais you know how to get a reader to keep turning the pages. I love your books and the characters. I have read every one of them. Will be looking forward to the next one. Thanks for writing this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the characters and the way the story brings you in from the side. Had to finish the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read. Never disappointed by Craig.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fans of Elvis Cole will not be disappointed!
Anonymous 12 months ago
Love Elvis & Joe! The book ended abruptly without an ending. Disappointing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Elvis Cole thinks his current assignment will be easy. Single mother Devin Connor has hired him to find out where the money, clothes, and fancy watch that her teenage son, Tyson, have are coming from. She thinks that Tyson has started selling drugs, but it isn’t long before Elvis determines that Tyson is part of a trio that is robbing houses in the LA area. While Devin isn’t happy with the news, she’s preparing to deal with it, and Elvis thinks the assignment is over. However, that night Tyson disappears and a frantic Devin asks Elvis to find him. As Elvis once again begins to hunt for the teen, he discovers that someone else is after the teen and his friends, someone leaving dead bodies in their wake. Will Elvis be able to find Tyson in time? This is yet another satisfying thrill ride from the pen of Robert Crais. The story starts strong and keeps us going until we reach the end. Unfortunately, it does have a few trademark Robert Crais issues, including Joe Pike acting a bit like a deus ex machina, although it isn’t as bad as in some books. Also, parts of the book rely on characters being too stupid to live (I was rooting for one to die, in fact). The characters could all be stronger, for example I couldn’t keep the main villains straight at all. But they are developed enough that I cared about the outcome. This is one of those books where it is easy to pick apart the flaws, but it is such a fun thrill ride that I’m glad I read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crais+does+it+again.++Cole+and+Pike+show+their+stuff+and+big+crimes+are+solved.++The+good+guys+win+and+justice+is+served.++The+saga+continues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story. Wish it had been longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent...fast paced...more Pike would have been good...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good storytelling, great plot. I couldn't put it down. Enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very exciting; hard to put down. Can't wait for his next Elvis Cole book. Clay
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great story with Elvis and Pike. The characters were interesting and the story's pace kept me turning pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun read. Like watching a movie on HBO.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What should have been a simple case for Elvis Cole turned out to be anything but simple. In fact, it became quite deadly. Sure was great to see the boys working together again. A well written thriller that will keep you guessing as to what will happen next. I've always enjoyed Robert Crais' stories involving Elvis and Joe. Looking forward to there being another one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely not up to standard of previous Elvis Cole/Joe Pike. Something was definitely missing - I felt like Crais phoned this one in. Story ended way too abruptly and left a lot of loose ends. Elvis Cole is more than just wise cracks and Joe Pike is more than just being the strong silent type. The ending left a lot to be desired.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ended too abruptly! Excellent read until the last few disappointing pages.