The Three Snow Bears

The Three Snow Bears

by Jan Brett, Graeme Malcolm

NOOK Book(NOOK Kids Read to Me)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Three Snow Bears 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Mother_of_picky_reader More than 1 year ago
We had been searching for a good Goldie locks and the three bears book. We had no luck until we came upon this book. It is a terrific twist to the story. The beginning of the book was a little weird because it throws you right into the story, but my two year old loves the book. We read it at least twice a day if we let her get away with it. The graphics are beautiful. I really think it was a great idea and well executed. I still just struggle with the beginning, I almost feel like we are missing a whole page.
squeekyMC More than 1 year ago
This story is a great winter story to share with students. It complete the winter unit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'The Three Snow Bears' is a keeper. Jan Brett always makes you think you are there, in the story, when you read her books. She really investigates her characters each time she writes a new book. For 'The Three Snow Bears', Jan Brett traveled to Baffin Island to visit the last of the more traditional Inuit communities. This attention to detail shows throughout all her stories and illustrations. Kids and grownups love Mrs. Brett's books and illustrations. They really are works of art. She draws her characters in a way that shows their emotions very expressively. This is perfect for picture book audiences. Jan Brett's great care with the story makes 'The Three Snow Bears' come to life. 'The Three Snow Bears' would make a great Christmas Present or a wonderful addition to a library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Intriquing story with a twist. Cute characters and story line hold younsters interest.
coachncheern on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful retelling of Goldilocks and the 3 Bears using an Inuit girl, polar bears, and an Artic setting. The illustrations are beautiful with sidebar pictures depicting additional action.
Nini345 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a nice little change from goldylocks its not something you would read every day
dreamer2000 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good twist on an old story. Very nice pictures. I like the ending, and that she was looking for her dogs and thats why she found the house.
mmsharp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great rendition of Goldilocks and the Three Bears. It makes for a fun cozy winter story taking place in the depths of the snow.
mistywood on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Three Snow Bears, written and illustrated by Jan Brett, is a wonderful story about Aloo-ki and a polar bear family. This story follows the plot of the traditional story of Goldilocks & the Three Bears. The story begins with Aloo-ki shouting for her huskies to "come back!", as we see them floating away on a chunk of ice. Aloo-ki is dressed in traditional Inuit clothing, as are the three bears. We follow Aloo-ki as she searches for her huskies, and along the way finds and explores the igloo home of the three bears. The book is beautifully illusrtated with side stories and illustrations in all the margins. The attention to detail and the way the pictures tell the story are two of my favorite parts of this book. I feel this book is a great way to introduce a new culture to children using a familier story that they know. An extension idea could be to build an igloo using ice cubes. Children could be encouraged to build an igloo using other materials such as: legos or larger cardboard boxes, paper mache' can also be used (whole group project). You could also have a brainstorming session about why Aloo-ki should not have entered the home of strangers ect...
Nhritzuk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I LOVE the Brett uses her borders to tell a parallel story and to help the reader make predictions. This Inuit version Goldilocks and the Three Bears will instantly spark recognition among young readers.
taterzngravy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This picture book is a retelling of Goldilocks and the three bears. This story takes place in the Arctic and the little girl is an Inuit who is separated from her dog team and finds shelter in an igloo inhabited by three polar bears. At this point, the story varies little from the original. But the story is a good story and Brett uses her technique of telling two stories simultaneously. It is a wonderful story for children.