Time Is a River

Time Is a River

by Mary Alice Monroe

Hardcover(Large Print)

$34.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Time Is a River 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 66 reviews.
pln56 More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book! It's a great story, well written, and was a joy to read. Ms. Monroe is a great storyteller and knows how to keep one's interest. I look forward to reading more of her books.
nicholept More than 1 year ago
I read this book about 6 months ago when I was going through a pretty rough time. And while I did not go find a creek and learn to fly fish, I did take the words and the meaning very much to heart. This was the first book by this author that I had read and I was amazed at the depth of the characters and the scenes; whether it was the babbling brook or the cinnamon filled bakery, I felt like I was there!! I have since read 3 more books by Mary Alice Monroe and I intend to read them all. I am so impressed at how she can take things like fly fishing, and turtles hatching, and shrimp boats and somehow make me connect with these things even though I am sitting on my couch in Kansas. And don't be put off by the number of pages in these books; they range in the 300-400 area, but the pages fly by and you find yourself sad that you have come to the end. Please, do this for yourself; read "Time is a River" and then walk, don't run, to read "Beach House" and "Swimming Lessons" and "Last Light over Carolina". You will not be disappointed!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mary Alice has struck a chord with me once again. This time Monroe gives the reader a first-person look into the angst, pain, love of cancer survivors. Each of Monroe's book strikes directly in the heart for both my wife and I. Bravo. Thanks again.
Orchids More than 1 year ago
Time Is a River is an interesting and compelling story. The journey of a person's struggle with cancer and its emotional and physical wounds touched me deeply. I made that same journey with my beloved husband. The heroine in this story has other personal problems too, but the way the author brings in added components - the peace of the river - and learning the skill of fly-fishing brought added knowledge and enjoyment. I have lived close to the Mississippi River all of my life, so the description of the river in this book had a special appeal for me. Mrs. Marion M. Hill Baton Rouge, LA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What an amazing, original story. I will definitely read more by this author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Until now, Mary Alice's 'The Beach House' had moved me the most. But, 'Time is A River' marks a culmination of her literary talents to date. I like that Mia is able to find much to heal her wounded body and spirit. I so look forward to a sequel!!!
Anonymous 4 months ago
wonderful so enjoyed this book
punxsygal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mia Landan¿s sister arranges for her to attend a fly-fishing camp for breast cancer survivors, led by instructor Belle Carson. When Mia returns home to Charleston she finds her husband in her bed with another woman. Broken hearted, Mia returns to the mountains and turns to Belle for advice. Belle lets Mia take refuge in the cabin that was once owned by her grandmother, the legendary fly fisher and journalist, Kate Watkins. Belle never knew her grandmother and does not want any of the old rumors about Kate dug up. Residing in the cabin, Mia finds old journals regarding Kate and begins her healing as she feels a connection to the woman and the river nearby.
kimreadthis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An easy read. A young woman spends a summer in a cabin overcoming her body issues resulting from a bout with breast cancer and her recently deteriorated marriage. While there, she unravels an old mystery in her friend's family.
SugarCreekRanch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn¿t enjoy it quite as much as I¿d hoped. It was good ¿ just not excellent, not destined for my ¿favorites¿ list or to be recommended to all my friends.What I really liked about this book:·A major plot point is a decades-old mystery. This started out pretty slow, but picked up as the book went along. I found myself more interested in the ¿old¿ characters and their issues than the ¿current¿ characters.·The descriptions of Appalachia are beautiful. It¿s a great place for a story.·There are a number of strong female characters ¿ the kind I would want to befriend in real life.Where I was disappointed:·The book didn¿t go as deep into the breast-cancer survival emotions as I¿d hoped.·The supernatural theme wasn¿t as strong as I¿d hoped. ·The fly-fishing theme was too strong for my taste. I am outdoorsy, but not a fisherman.
dianaleez on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mary Alice Monroe's `Time Is a River' explores the needs for self-knowledge and a connection to the world around us. It is the story of a breast-cancer survivor who uses fly-fishing in the hilly steams of North Carolina as a path to self-enlightenment. It is yet another story of women bonding - when Mia Landan, the protagonist, learns that her husband of ten years has been unfaithful, it is her fly-fishing guide Belle who provides a place for her to hide out and come to terms with her situation. While staying in Belle's family cabin, Mia is drawn into uncovering the story of Belle's maternal grandmother - a fly-fisher herself, a naturalist/artist, and a murder suspect. Throughout the novel, strong women unite with strong women to face adversity. Bonding and self-enlightment are dominant threads in contemporary women's literature and will have a great appeal to many readers. I simply found Monroe's depiction to be a bit heavy handed. That said, for me the book has too many stock figures, predictable situations, and easy answers. There are times when a reader looks for a well-worn path, a smooth read, an expected outcome. This is a book for those times. It's an easy read with no real surprises. And sometimes that's a comforting, if not thought-provoking, read.
JaneAustenNut on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books that I have read in quite a while.I was thoroughly engrossed and couldn't seem to put it down.
labelleaurore on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An accusation of a murder that happen some 80 years ago, turning a small town into shame and tabloid scandal. A breast cancer survivor rents a cabin and finds herself back into the history of fly fishing passion.Very well written, a page turning book that will stay in your mind for a while.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another wonderful book full of awesome information
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book really draws you in. You feel every sense of emotion from it. It's so forward and it just makes you keep reading and reading by the mysterious secret of Kate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an excellent example of Mary Alice Monroe's talent and love of the Carolinas. I was sad to finish the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lpppp v e the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WCUmom More than 1 year ago
A must read for anyone who loves fly fishing, has/had cancer, or just loves a good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago