True and False

True and False

by David Mamet

Paperback

$14.36 $15.95 Save 10% Current price is $14.36, Original price is $15.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 21
MARKETPLACE
44 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

True and False 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you consider yourself an actor, you must not only read this book -- you must read it immediately, posthaste, and pronto ... if not sooner. Mamet cuts through all the nonsense and garbage that we, as actors or students, come across far too often in classes, workshops, and productions -- and leaves us with a remarkably pared-down core of refreshing, common-sense simplicity. As I read this book, I found myself frequently nodding my head in agreement and saying aloud (even while on the train), 'Yes! That's it!!!' If you're the sort who uses a yellow 'highlighter' pen or who 'dog ears' a book's pages when studying or reading, by the time you're done reading this book (which should take no time at all -- it's an incredibly quick read!) you'll find yourself with pages more yellow than white, and more dog ears than a puppy kennel. A MUST READ!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mamet is a genius. The most honest and straightforward book on acting and the business ever written. A must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mamet's True and False portrays the very real reality in the theatrical world. He talks about how the institutions of theatre have turned the craft/art of acting into something artificial and intellectual, rather than organic and simple. Mamet also talks about how certain institutions, such as university training, can ruin good actors. I have constantly wondered why I wasn't getting what I needed out of acting classes at the university level, and Mamet explains why ever so eloquently. And I thought I was in left field for so long. I have been brought back into the light.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Clockhart More than 1 year ago
David Mamet is one of the most respected directors and writers in the theatre today and his technique is, in my opinion, the most applicable of all acting strictures. The statements he makes are tremendously obscure, but powerful nonetheless, and furthermore indispensable to any actor in the theatre. Be open-minded when reading, some of the things he says are slightly frustrating.
Devittdude More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be challenging, because of the steps it asks you to take. It goes against any acting training you can recieve in a school. It cuts out character work, and inspires any actor to focus on the important aspects of the profession. His style of writing is simple to read, but complex to understand,(If you have had previous acting training) if you haven't - it will be easy to put to practice. In Mamet's style of prose he proves what can't be proven. It is cutting edge. It puts to rest the theory of "Method" Acting. It is a must have for any actor, or any to-be actor. It is a must have for anyone planing to work on a Mamet play.
Not_Really_Real More than 1 year ago
This book speaks about the pure notion of the theatre. I do not recommend this book if you are a film and TV actor. Theatergoers and Theatre Actors should really consider this book; it speaks with honesty and ignores propriety.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Challenging and engaging but often unclear. Mamet is vague. I read this a while ago but I remember that he said all an actor needs to do is memorize lines, know your cues, and speak loud and clear. That's silly. I think there is more to it than that. I'd love to work with Mamet, I wonder what he is like as a director.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Beware if you are a university theatre professor, this book may take you into areas of self examination in which you may not be prepared to go. But for the rest of us, this is the most exciting theatre book that I have read since my first reading of an Actor Prepares or Shurtleff's The Audition. I found myself at times arguing with the book and at other times cheering for Mamet's forthrightness. If you are looking for a topic of discussion: get a group of theatre people, read this book, a cup of coffee ( or two) and have an evening of the greatest conversation.