The Umbrella: board book

The Umbrella: board book

by Jan Brett, Graeme Malcolm

NOOK Book(NOOK Kids Read to Me)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Umbrella 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
JanetB2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Delightful tale of amazon rain forest animals and a banana leaf umbrella.
kidlit9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Carlos goes into the cloud forest to look for animals, but he manages to miss seeing them even though they have an adventure with his umbrella.
Brittjj on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is good for teaching a spanish unit. it has some simple spanish words in the book. Carlos goes into the jungle with his umbrella. He finds different exotic animals within the jungle such as: a tucan, kinkajou, and a baby tapir. I can connect with this book because it teahes me about different little spanish words.
kdcoshatt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is a very colorful picture book of a Brazilian Rainforest. All the animals want to ride in the umbrella as it goes floating down the river. You get to see all the different animals that inhabit the rainforest. Children will love the brightly colored illustrations.
kperk12 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
All of these different animals in the rainforrest all seem to make their way into Carlos' umbrella. He never saw them because he went up in the tree on an animal search. They fall into and start floating down the river as they realize they are slowly sinking.; they decide to jump out and float to shore. Carlos gets his umbrella and decides to head home because he did not find any animals that day ( its because he was not in the right spot because they found his umbrella). He hopes to find them the next day. Good group read for a rainforest unit plan for 2nd-4th grades.
jlowens4 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book, "The Umbrella" was a great story. I would read this book to first, second, or third graders. The book began with the little boy Carlos going into the Jungle to see if he could see any animals. He layed is umbrella on the ground and climbed up the tree. Little did he know all the action was at his umbrella. When Calos climbed the tree the noise made the animals come out of the tree. Down at his umbrella was a tree frog, a toucan, a bird, a monkey, and a jaguar. The little boy goes home that day disappointed because he did not get to see any animals. This book would be a great asset to a lesson on the jungle. I think that students woudl reall enjoy the pictures of the animal and see where they live. I think that this book would be a great addition to any teacher's library.
LacyPalmer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about a boy named Carlos who goes into the cloudy rainforest to see lots of animals. It decides to climb up a big tree to get a better view hoping to see all the animals. Meanwhile, he leaves his umbrella behind and all of the animals end up in that while he is trying to find them. Finally, he gets to the top of the tree and cant find any. He then climbs down and gets his umbrella, little does Carlos know that the animals were so close the whole time. There are also a few spanish phrases throughout the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book to my little boy and he couldn't understand why Carlos missed seeing all of those animals right under his nose. I explained that 'Carlos was looking too closely.' What a great story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Temper Temper ia a story inside another story. I thought that the children that wrote these plays worked hard but I didnt really think the play was all that exciting.I didnt think it was exciting because it wasnt that funny but there were some parts where I could change my voice to make the part funny but I really dont know