Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy Series #1)

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy Series #1)

by Richelle Mead

Paperback

$10.79 $11.99 Save 10% Current price is $10.79, Original price is $11.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3150 reviews.
Minnechicka More than 1 year ago
I am a 28 year old woman reading this young adult series. I picked it up at the local Walmart one day because I was bored... I didn't expect much so I was very pleasantly surprised! Yeah, a lot of teen books are described as "goody two shoes" or whatever. The thing I like about them is that I can enjoy the characters and plot without the adult content. For an adult who wants to escape, I say it's perfect. Rose--the main character--and her inner struggle with her feelings for instructor, Dimitri and stirring emotions about wanting to go forge her OWN way kept me pretty hooked. I read all three of the available books in a WEEK. Well written, romantic and emotional. If you liked the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer I think you will actually like this better. :)
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.
band-geek2013 More than 1 year ago
Vampire Academy is a great book filled with twist and turns in the plot that will leave you in sunspense till the last word. A great book for teens that enjoy fictions. A good book for a rainy, stormy, or boring day. An amazing book not only with romance but action and a bit of humor.Excellentlly written book with a fanasty that we all wish we were a part of in some ways.
kudous to richelle mead.
LJBoldyrev More than 1 year ago
While I loved the characters of Rose and Lissa (I've always liked the name Vasilisa from Ukrainian/Russian folklore), it took me a few chapters to get into this one. It's written well enough and it's got a great hook for the beginning, but I'm a stickler for Vampire tradition. Mead has created her own world of vampires, something I've seen a lot of YA authors do when it comes to the undead, and while that is not necessarily a bad thing, for me it delays my interest in the story. After a few chapters, I was hooked and fully emerged in the world Mead had created with Vampire Academy: There are two types of vampires--Moroi are mortal vampires and wield the earth's magic elements (fire, water, air, earth). Strigoi are immortal undead. They've gone to the dark side and lost their magic but gained strength and ferocity. They're basically the traditional vampire but they now carry an uncontrollable desire to drink from the Moroi. Then we also have dhampirs. While half-breeds aren't a new concept, having them as guardians that devote their lives to protecting the Moroi, is (I hate ending a sentence with the word "is" but for today, I'll deal). Rose is a novice guardian and she's fully devoted to protecting Lissa, her best friend. In an effort to protect Lissa, from what Rose doesn't fully understand, she takes her away form the academy. The book begins with their return to St. Vladimir's Academy. They're back within the well guarded confines of the school, but danger may be even closer than it was on the outside. Like I said, I thought it was well written. Mead is a very talented story teller and not once did the book feel dull. There's romance, secrets, scandal and vampires. Oh! And big sexy Russian vampires! Ya lublu, tebya, Dimitri Belikov. What's not to love? I recommend this series to all teen vampire fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading the Twilight Series and the Sookie Stackhouse series, I needed something to fill my time. I honestly never thought I would enjoy this book b/c it looked like it should be for a younger crowd. I was wrong, this book is FANTASTIC! Great characters that you can definitely identify with and become a fan of. Had plenty of suspense and forbidden attraction...loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vampire is a good book to read if you like vampires and romance. The main character is strong female and it is a good point of view to write from. It is an easy read and once you start reading it is hard to put down. I bought the first book and I was lucky I also bought the second one because I had to continue reading to see what happens next or else I would have gone crazy. For those of you who liked Twilight and are vampire fans, this is a really good book to read.
markintoch More than 1 year ago
It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go! I found the characters and the storyline very entertaining. Before I had finished the book, I purchased the next two in the series.
Gabarella24 More than 1 year ago
This book, is like no other! There somthing about the books that makes you feel love, affection, jealousy, and fear for the charictors. This book pulls you in, right from the first page! I finished this book within one setting. What can i say? I couldnt put it down. This book is a MUST READ for anyone who loves romance and heart-breaking twists, oh, and dont forget: Vampires too!! look out Twilight, theres a new book in town, and its working its way up to the top!
IM-ON-THE-EDGE-OF-MY-SEAT More than 1 year ago
This was one great serise. Yes this one wasn't as good as the others, but the serise in genral, WOW! Never before did I ever think that I would find a serise better than Twilight, but here it is. And don't even get me started on the SMEXY RUSSIAN. Forbiden love, a choice between the love of her life or her best friend. This will have you begging for more. So READ IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To be honest I was a little skeptical when I first picked it up. The only reason I bought the book was because Twilight was over and I needed a new vampire book to read. I mean, it took me about six trips to Barnes and Nobles to actually buy it but once I did I couldn't put it down. The main character is independent and funny, and her best friend seems timid and shy. The story was an overall good read. There was mystery and romance, action and humor. To be honest it was better than twilight, while Bella is weak and dependent, Rose is the exact opposite, independent and strong. Great Book!
Book_Worm999 More than 1 year ago
I will admitt that the very begining of this did bore me a little. It was slightly hard to read it because of that. But after you do get into it, I found this book to be very well done. It was exciting, had a little bit of romance but what amazed me the most was the friendship between Rose and Lissa. Having such a close bound with someone you really care for is what most people ever really want. I loved it. I do have to say that I find it immature that people have to put there review in all caps. After all if you didn't like it that's all you have to say. Don't freak out about it. It was just a book. If you didn't like it then move on....
d_e_s_t_i_n_y More than 1 year ago
My friend recommended it to me and I have been addicted ever since. I read the first 4 books of the series in about four days. I hardly slept because I couldn't put the book down.
book-lover-tls More than 1 year ago
i love this series. i've read all the books that i can, and can't wait(though it's the day school starts) for the 25th of this month. i also can't wait for Spirit Bound, the 5th book in the series, coming May 18, 2010. so far away! oh well, can always reread the books til that day.
Jade1779 More than 1 year ago
I love the whole idea of the teacher and student relationship. It creates suspense. Dimitri is amazing. Rose and Lissa are great characters. It shows how Rose matures over the period when she's with Dimitri. Overall I can just say I love this whole serious. And I'm ecstatic for Spirit Bound (May 18,2010)!!!!
i_heart_lax More than 1 year ago
i have read all the books and i fell in love with all them. I can't wait for blood promise to come out!!
J.R._BookWorm More than 1 year ago
I got this book the year it came out...why i'm writing this now I don't know..... Anyway I love it! I think it was good, but isn't it getting old...? You know the whole 'Vampires going to a specile school...for vampires...' I'm just saying.... Anyway...the whole series is sooooo good, but I should say that I cryed SOOOOO HARD at the end of the book 3! :( If you go to Richelle Mead's web site you can see the cover for the next book, Blood Promise!!! I wonder who that is on the cover... Read this series! You wouldn't be dissaponted!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i am an avid reader, and i couldn't put this book down.. it took me two days to read it, and i had to go out and buy the sequel. it was even better that the first. the third one was incredible! it left you wanting more. i am so excited for the fourth book of the series to come out! i applaud Richelle Mead for her incredible work.
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
I, like so many others, have been completely swept in to this vampire obsession that seems to be taking bookstores by storm! I thought the story was engaging, as I could hardly put it down. I especially liked the authors way of drawing me in by revealing the 'whole picture' in increments because it really kept my interest.
Fans of the teen vampire rage should definately add this to their libraries, especially if they enjoyed the "House of Night" series by P.C. and Kristin Cast. If you don't mind a bit more romance, I definately recommend the "Nightcreature" series by Lori Handeland. It deals more in werewolves, but is a great read, nonetheless! Be sure to start with "Blue Moon".
VamploverSS More than 1 year ago
ok guys, so i read the summary on the back of this book about a year ago, and instantly thought it would be lame so decided to not persue it. but then recently i saw a friend of mine who is also a major twilight fan like me, and i asked her if it was really actually good, or if it was just something to read to pass the time. and she told me to not even read the back summary which i have to say makes the book look horrible. im sorry, but anyways i read it and just like everyone else says, it pulled me right into its complex story line and had me finish it in 3 days. READ IT!!!! i promise it will make u run to the store to buy the second one as soon as u finish.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. i just picked up because not to long ago i read the twilight series and it also was about vampires. Anyway i read it and fell head over heels in love with dimitri. The book isn't just about love though, it also has adventure and excitment. I can't wait for the next vampire acadamy book coming out in April. I recommend this book to everyone.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
So, VA, where to start, I ponder as I write this review. Okay, how about before reading this. I been hearing non stop, well over the years actually and with the upcoming movie, how good the series is. Me loving my vampires, I for whatever reason, as always with books I really want to read but skip, didn't read this sooner. Anyway, then a co worker of mine, being a fan of the series, shows me pics from the upcoming movie, telling me why I should finally read the series. And let's just say, I'm kicking myself for not reading this sooner. Now for actual review of said book. Going into this, I tried to not think about the hype, the upcoming movie and well how awesome this is. Though I did hear the first book while good was more building up the story. And it does, but still had some moments where I rolled my eyes, turning the page, anticipating what'll happen next, and facepalmed. Especially with Rose. Oh Rose, Roza, Hathaway! Our MC, I like. Becoming one of my new favorite MC's next to Blue Sargent from Raven Boys. While I like her, at at times thought, her heart is in the right place, but she can be a little too overprotective with Lissa. Especially concerning Christian Ozera. And times when as Dimitri mentioned, may need some self control training. But like she didn't think what others thought, even if their were rumors going about. Thank goodness she had Lissa but others, like Mason, Dimitri, etc. Even the sisterly friendship Lissa and Rose had was adorable and kind of sweet. Speaking of which there were also some adorable moments, with Lissa and Christian, and then Rose and Dimitri. The writing was especially good, the descriptions and backstory were also good, as the pacing. Yeah not much action except near the end, what with high school drama and what not, but I still found myself liking it, regardless. Now I can't wait for the movie and want to get started on the rest of the series, hearing that it gets even better and we meet some new characters.
PRJunkie More than 1 year ago
This series was amazing! Rose is quite possibly the best, strongest, funniest female lead I've ever encountered. Her POV was entertaining, the writing was gripping, and the storyline addictive. You will not regret picking this one up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was very happy with the main character's loyalty and comebacks.I had just one problem with her and that would be how she seemed to be the jealous type. I felt most of the characters were well developed but some were not. I also thought a bit more of explanations would be nice.
Amandarr More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best vampire books i have ever read. I'd have to say it was better than Twilight.
coolnetta1 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing i give my props to RICHELLE MEAD When I read this book i was astonished This book was really nice How rose what risk any thing for her best friend Lisa Even if that means she cant be with the one she REALLY TRUELY LOVES Thatz a true friend She would do any thing 2 keep her friends safe Even by taking her awwway from school This Book YOU WILL LOVE just as I