War and Peace (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

War and Peace (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Paperback

$11.16 $13.95 Save 20% Current price is $11.16, Original price is $13.95. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

War and Peace Barnes & Noble Classics Series) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 97 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This review isn't for War and Peace (which is one of the greatest novels ever written), but this particular edition. Barnes and Noble Classics provides a wonderful, durable copy with an excellent translation for cheap. Why the loss of the star then? For two reasons. The first is that the footnotes are terrible. Arbitrary material will have a useless footnote and times when it would've been handy are ignored. The second is that the back cover of the book ruins the ending for you. Granted, this is a book widely discussed, so many already know how it turns out however, for the few who don't, this type of thing proves to be absolutely infuriating.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It took me a year to read Anna karenina and it took me less then a month to read war & peace. This is by far the best work that leo Tolstoy as written. Its amazing how well and life like his charecters can be. he really captures the human emotions of people when they are faced with hard and good times. I also enjoyed how he followed some of his charecters from childhood to adulthood and how their behavior changed with that age. This is by far one of the greatest pieces of literature ever written. I advise teenagers to read this book. Its not a waste of time and this is coming from a 14 year old. Please read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
War and Peace is an outstanding analasyse of human culture, but you need to have a background on literature to be able to understand it, and some knowledge of Russian culture. If you do understand it this can be one of the best books in the world, but if you don't you'll fall asleep before the first chapter is over.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is hard to describe just how good this book is. Tolstoy is a captivating author and the use of language is incredible. I found myself laugh out loud in a couple of parts and the characters were very well developed. Absolutely awesome book, don't be intimidated by the size of this book, it's worth every minute.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
realdads 3 is not even in the storyline it is not worth the buy. however real dads two is the best man made book ever made by man. it has the best story, and includes the origin of universe dad and has active dads. in real dads 3 it is green that means it was made by monkey and it is not my dad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, that is why real dads two is better and i am returning my book!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book it's just sad
The_Beastlord_Slavedragon More than 1 year ago
I still do not understand this book. I'm like the kid who read Dotsevsky for school. I read Tolstoy again and I still don't really get it all. I liked Andrey. I put down the book when he died. I liked Natasha and her Uncle even better, during the sleigh ride. I enjouyed Andrey's likening himself to the leaveless oak who is way beyond spring and eternally wrought year round in winter's clothing. The battles and chess analogies and the ever Imperial Madame Pavlovich. You gotta love that name. The portrayal of Napoleon's King of France made me laugh. He was like a Pimpernel or something, lost in war. Other than Dune, it is the most complete book on the human pageantry which I have ever read. I need several more readings.
TheQuillPen More than 1 year ago
One of the greatest books ever written, Tolstoy's "War and Peace" captures the spirit of human existence itself and is heart-warming, exciting, humorous, and sad all at the same time. Tolstoy's knack for capturing human-beings as completely unique, seemingly real, rounded people enhances the core, epic plot of his tale, and his writing style guarantees that the expansive novel will never be boring. The vast range of emotions that the reader experiences when reading "War and Peace" makes it connect like nothing else can. Tolstoy's work is strangely accessible and easy to read and understand, which, in the case of "War and Peace" increases the beauty of the story in its day-to-day life approach. The characters differ widely; from the alternatingly cynical and hopeful Andrey, the misguided, likeable Pierre, the gorgeous, dauntless Natasha, and the pious, sacrificial Marya to the arrogant, air-headed depiction of Napoleon, the devious Dolohov, the obnoxiously pretentious Ellen, and her foolish brother Anatole, they capture different people and are all relatable in one way or another. The scope of the novel is impossible to put into words. From a heart-wrenching scene of two enemies coming to the same fate of death from wounds to the melancholy depictions of lost love, to pictures of rare joys, "War and Peace" transcends literature and becomes life as every human being has experienced it in some way. Truly a genius work of art!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy Tolstoy's work, and this is by far his best. The intimate relationship which one develops with so many of the characters allows you to see the same events from different perspectives. People that are hesitant to read this book because they believe since so much history is involved, it will bore them to death like a textbook, should really give it a chance. The relationship the reader forms with the highly developed and true to life characters makes the historic elements, such as different battles in the Napoleonic war, very interesting and enjoyable. Tolstoy proved with this work that he had a deep and great understanding of human emotion and nature. That he was able to successfully work all these characters into a true historic context, is only a testament to his genius as a writer.
Anonymous 11 days ago
Name: bruh how do you not see the title | Age: 25 | Occupation: Security | Appearance: Normally he looks like a regular white male with curly brown hair and stubble on hu chin but when he gets T R I G G E R E D his body takes on the shape of a low-poly human body with no facial features or hair, with a skin color of S E I Z U R E inducing flashing colors. | Personality: Outgoing, friendly, and polite, as long as you don't make him angry or attack someone else. | Backstory: John has no memory of his life before waking up buried under a pile of rubble in what appeared to be an abandoned buildig from the 90s. He's pretty sure he was given some kind of experimental drug and freaked out and blew the place up. | Other: When he gets T R I G G E R E D and transforms, he can process images and events around him much faster than any human and has strength and durability enough to stop bullets and bend steel. He is able to propel himself at extreme speeds due to this strength. However, he rarely uses this strength as he does not want tbe discovered
Anonymous 11 months ago
At "owy" res 7 ;) might rewrite it here tho
Anonymous 11 months ago
Name~ Faith Age~17 Sex~ female Relationship status~ Single Height~ 4`11 Looks~ pale light blue eyes and jet black hair that flows to her waist... Personality~ easy to get along with...loves learning new things and meeting new people.. open minded about everything and never judges... hates liars and fake people
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NAME: rachel letendre AGE: 16 APPEARANCE: rachel is an average-built teen, standing at a boring 5'4". she has long brown hair that fades to a raspberry color at the tips. freckles sprinkle her face behind classic black rimmed glasses. she has light brown eyes. generally, she wears comfy clothes such as big baggy sweatshirts, hoodies, joggers, leggings, and converses. She has a semicolon tattoo on her left wrist, and the quote "your soul knows good and evil" on her inner right arm. PERSONALITY: very honest, but also lighthearted and funny. also sarcastic... cant forget that. LIKES: TOP, P!ATD, MCR, IDKHOW, and cheesecake.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name- Laura Marie Ryans. <p> Age- Eighteen. <p> Family- A mom and dad, no siblings. <p> Personality- Quite bubbly and outgoing. Loves to be around people and is a die-hard musical fan. <p> Appearance- She stands at 5'1 and has a dancer's build. She has been enrolled in gymnastics, has done cheerleading, and is now sporting theatre, so she's quite lean. Her face is ovaled though she has a strict jawline, sharp enough to cut with (hahaha jk). Her cheeks have a red undertone, so they aren't naturally rosy, she just looks sunburnt on her front cheeks and nose. Her skin is more on the pale side, though a milky pale, and not deathly. In contrast to that, her hair is naturally jet-black and is quite long. It's very straight and is often kept in a ponytail. Back to her facial features; her nose is more on the straight and rounded tip side, and her upper lip is quite slim compared to her lower one, giving off that pouty look. Her eyes are round and innocent looking, being a very icey-blue color, and she has long lashes to accent them. <p> tada I'm done. Cx
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name%3A+whatevs%0AAge%3A15+%0Alikes%3Amusic+ice+cream+dancing+etc%0Adislikes+cheaters+and+bullying%0ADark+blonde+hair+and+a+pair+of+grey+orbs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a summary of an impossibly long bio no one wants to read: russiky; tall; platinum blonde; hella resting bi<_>tch face; weird eyes; expressive mouth; smokes enough cigarettes to keep tobacco companies (namely NXT) in business; bOURBON; leather; steel-toed boots; thiccc; probably a sociopath; liscensed self-medicator <p> eto knoets sveta
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sdfghjkloiuytrewsxcvbnm,kiu
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Age: 14 Eye Color: Blue- Green Status: .... Description: Wavy blonde hair..... rectangular glasses...... a frown on his face.... a green Kyrie Irving Celtics jersey.... a retro New England Patriot hat...... Nike Joggers....... Personality: Mad at the world but not you..... loves sports and tries to be friendl Party: Republican Religon: Christian
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plz dont hate if i get it wrong...just let me know so i can update..James, Archer, Liam, Kaden, Hayden, Trevor, Alix, Zander, Seth...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got the nook and if I see anyone flirting with Shay u finna get hit bloods for life
Shay_01 More than 1 year ago
Shay I cant be on tonight sorry guys :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Archer Duke Williams (You can just call him Duke if you would like) <br><br> Age: 16 <br><br> Grade: Junior (11th) <br><br> Looks: He is tall, standing at 6'4, he has sandy blonde hair that's usually down to his eyebrows but pushed slightly to the side so he can see, he has light blue eyes almost like the color of the sky, tan, has a nice muscular build which is usually shown off because of what he wears, and he has a few freckles across his nose. <br><br> Attire: Archer will usually wear matching name brand sports clothes such as Nike, Under Armour, Adidas or Puma. The clothes he wears range from sleeveless hoodies, shorts, normal hoodies, sweatpants and he will always be found wearing his black Nike backpack where ever he is. His backpack usually has a football and Ipad in it. <br><br> Personality: Archer very may be the nicest guy you'll ever meet. Even though he is tall and has a good build, he never uses that to intimidate anyone. In fact, he never wants to ever intimidate anyone. He hates fights and always tries to be friendly with everyone, no matter what. Archer is very outgoing and kind to everyone. He usually won't start a conversation but definetly won't push someone away if they approach him. He is also extremely selfless. He will always think of other people around him when he says something or does something, unless he is by himself. <br><br><br><br><br> Likes: Football, Baseball, Basketball, music, outdoors, boating, hanging with people and some alone time as well as all teens do. <br><br> Dislikes: Jerks, coc<_>ky kids, bullies, fighting, fu<_>ckboys. <br><br> Facts: Archer is currently single and wouldn't mind having a girlfriend even though he's not desperately searching for one, he is on the football team and hopes to make the football and basketball team because he's new, he is straight (just put that cause i just remembered i didn't already haha) <br><br> Disclaimer: Sorry for typos or bad grammar. Don't hate. <br><br> Ask for anything else!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
can someone help me? It's nothing serious.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Jackson Eli Archer Gender: Male Age: 16 Looks: Prominent cheekbones, light grey eyes, light blue hair. He is slightly tan, but not overly sun-kissed. His face is nicely shaped, small dusting of freckles, and a piercing gaze. Personality: Cold on the outside, but he can warm up to someone eventually. He has a bit of a dev<_>ilish streak but he keeps out of trouble. Sex<_>uality: Bi<_>sexual.