Warriors Don't Cry

Warriors Don't Cry

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - MP3 - Unabridged CD)

$29.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Warriors Don't Cry 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 124 reviews.
Cougar_H More than 1 year ago
This book spoke to me to never give up. That i can make a change even at a young age. I think the authors purpose and reason for writing the book was to show teens and children that we can all make a difference no matter how old or young we are or color and race cause at the end were all on the same planet and same world.I think the author was communicating that we can all are diverse and different and that what makes us and that were all here together. What i learned from the book is that i can make a change no matter what race, short,tall, i am cause when we come together as one world we can all make a difference and make a change. I would recommend this book because it is very powerful and inspiring to me and hopefully to do the same with others .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book should be required reading for all students. It was a powerful and uplifting story and everyone should be aware of what people had to endure and the sacrifices people made for humanity. This book is good for middle school students to the retired. We should all feel the reality of what happened.
GeorgiaPorgia More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome! It is good for anyone 12 and over, though I read it at age 9. Melba Pattillo Beals dealt with the horrors of segregation since birth, when her mother was denied help from white doctors and nurses. I personally believe, as did her family, that God spared Melba. At age five, she was vindictively denied entrance to a merry go round. At age twelve, a crazy white racist guy tried to rape her. However, she was determined that she could be able to integrate so she signed up for a integration program. Her name was broadcast over the radio. Over the year at high school, melba dealt with death threats and other things. However, she trusted in God, which I personally believe saved her. I recommend this to anyone who has lost faith in God.
Iloveyounickj More than 1 year ago
This book is a memoir on the inspiring journey of Melba Pattillo Beals and the rest of the "Little Rock Nine" as they fought to survive as the first African American students to attend an all white school (Central High) in Little Rock, Arkansas. This book is very intense and completely full of courage. Its very inspiring, which is one main reason I enjoyed it so much. I very much loved reading about the student's incredible fight for freedom and loved capturing their feelings from their experiences with dealing with the unfair circumstances they faced because of the color of their skin. Their journey was definitely a rough one, what they had to go through was unbelievable. Their attitudes were mostly positive, as they tried to keep their heads up and ignore all the prejudice and the heartless remarks. Somehow they survived and succeeded and changed the lives of every African American in the 1950s. This is one of my favorite books ever. It was so suspenseful and full of brave and heroic individuals that I respect so much. I was so involved in this book and would love to read another exactly like it. I am so glad I took the opportunity to relive the crazy live's of the Little Rock Nine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book tells what people had to go through so that we could all have the same education. This book was so touching and an eye opener for the young people who think that have it hard in life....they have no idea what these people went through that we didnt have to do. All young people should read this book no matter the race. Very good book!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book puts you into the real shoes of 16 year old Melba Patillio. This is a great book that i recommened to everyone....especially to anyone who likes friendships, trust, and civil rights. READ THIS BOOK
Guest More than 1 year ago
Melba was one of the Little Rock Nine, the first nine children to integrate Little Rock's Central High. This non- fiction book written by Melba Beals herslef, shows the integrationists' hope and the segragationists' hatred. It shows how awful people really can be, but also how nice and helpful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a fabolous book about nine warriors who attended a crazy racism school. These kids are heroes for doing the right thing wich was not fighting back but fighting for their education. Cuz i probaly would have been killed, going through the harsh and painful stuff they went through from their own school mates.Think god for the little of the right-minded white people who attended their school.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book 2 years ago but feel like it was yesterday. It has so much detail about this era you feel like your right there with the characters!!! I felt all her emotions because the book explained them so well!!!! I highly recommend to all preetens, teens and even adults. This story really touches you!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this is one of the greatest books ever published.In school we are talking about the civil right movement and it made me remember your book.Last year in the eight grade we has something called AR points and your book wasnt even on the ar list. i proteseted but we couldnt get it on ar.I still read it though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the midst of a difficult divorce I was led to read this book. Melba Beals struggles to integrate Little Rock High School were unimaginable. It humbled me in my seemingly bleak circumstances to read what she endured to simply learn to read, write and learn arithametic. I admire the courage of this young women. I admire her diligence to keep going to school in spite of the fact that her very life was in danger. In 1957 the world was not a good place for a black person to live. As a white, protestant woman, I now look at every person of color with more reverance and am more conscience of my own "inner racism" that we must irradicate in thought.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When our teacher assigned us to read up to chapter 4 in this book over the weekend, I thought this it was gonna be corny but instead of reading only 4 chapters i finished the book over the weekend! The story tells in vivid details what Melba and the other little rock children had to go through just to intergrate the school. It was torcher for them but she stayed strong and continued to live. I dunno where she got the strength from but this is a MUST read because it teaches an important part of history in the words and mind of a child
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great! It is very educational. Even though I was forced to read it for an English paper, I am glad I did. I leard a lot from it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a touching story written by one of the 'Little Rock Nine'. Melba Pattillo Beals expresses her thoughts through out the integration. She talks about how she was almost raped, how people spit and kicked at her, and how people tortured her. A wonderful security guard named Danny tells her one day that 'warriors don't cry'. She marries a white man that reminds her of him. Follow Melba through out the good times and hard ships of the 'Little Rock Nine'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this book it inspired me to be couragous and i recommend it to anyone who is facing a challenge!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down, a page turner.
YAbookfest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
On Wednesday, September 4, 1957, nine young African American teens attempted to attend the all-white high school in Little Rock Arkansas. Melba Pattillo, a sweet, smart 15-year old girl was among them. She and her mother didn¿t make it to the school that day. They were attacked by a raging mob of hateful segregationists who refused to allow Negros into their schools. When Melba went home and wept into her pillow that day, her grandmother told her ¿¿Make this your last cry. You¿re a warrior on the battlefield for your Lord. God¿s warriors don¿t cry.¿In her memoir, Warriors Don¿t Cry, Melba Pattillo Beals describes the long hard battle she experienced during her junior year at Central High. It took an order from the President and the Screaming Eagles from the 101st Airborne to get the students into the school and protect them. Melba was spit upon, cursed, cornered and kicked. She faced death threats and knives. Danny, her guard, taught her to deal with it like a soldier. Her grandmother, India, taught her to deal with it like God¿s soldier.Warriors Don¿t Cry gives us both the personal and political perspective of these pivotal events in civil rights. We hear the voice of Melba the teen as well as the adult voice of the professional journalist she would later become. The writing is straight-forward and often intense. This is an excellent read for students in middle school or older. The organization Facing History and Ourselves offers a reader¿s guide.
gkuhns on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In 1957, Melba Patillo is one of nine black teenagers who attempts to integrate Central High in Little Rock, Arkansas. This story details her harrowing experiences in the battle for civil rights. What is most remarkable about this book is the narrator's voice. The events of the book are so traumatic, but the narrative style is more like journalistic reporting than emotionally fraught personal memoir. This point of view gives immediacy to events and puts the reader in the young character¿s shoes. However, the restraint makes the book more powerful because it makes the conflicts more authoritative. In this way, the main character in the book, Melba Beals, reveals much about herself by what she chooses not to say. High school students who are struggling with bullying could take comfort from the strength of this book's author.
JanaRose1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Melba Pattillo Beals was one of the nine black teenagers who integrated Little Rock¿s Central High School in 1957. A story of courage and determination, Melba recounts the harassment she and the other eight teenagers suffered. Despite the racism of the time, numerous white and black individuals stepped forward to help and warn her about pre-planned attacks. This book is written in an engaging manner that keeps the reader interested. Melba¿s courage and quiet dignity can be used as an example for any teenager.
wdlaurie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is heartbreaking, as it details the grinding tale of the ongoing abuse the author struggled with as one of the 9 black children who were at the forefront of integrating Little Rock. The failure of authority figures (police, school teachers and officials) who ignored, or worse, encouraged the physical and verbal abuse is stomach turning. After a few months, it sounds like all of the kids were suffering from PTSD. Imagine going to school and only feeling safe if there was a soldier next to you. Imagine not being able to go to the bathroom because girls would light paper on fire and drop it on you. In PE, their clothes were stolen and groups of kids would keep them under the shower as they turned it up to scalding.The families of the children were also threatened, lost jobs, etc. All but one child finished out the school year.It's a reminder that heroism often isn't a single moment of glory, but often a long, lonely path that requires persistence and unshakable conviction.
McFeeley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a haunting and insightful look at a journey taken by a young girl for the sake of so many people. Her struggles and pain, along with that of the other Little Rock Nine, are events that should always be remembered to show us how inhumaine humanity can be! This is a great companion read to go along with To Kill a Mockingbird to help see the struggles of Tom and the people of the Quarters in the eyes of some real history.
mjspear on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Melba Beals first-hand account of her first year at all-white Central High School in Little Rock is compelling drama. The emotional and physical abuse continued all year --a surprise to this reader who was only familiar with the archetypal first-day photographs. With a plucky combination of resolve and faith, Melba faced a year that saw her social life dissolve, her privacy vanish, and her very being challenged. She is the ultimate hero of this book but as can be expected from such a dramatic story there are other heroes: her grandmother, "Linc" -- a white student who literally saves Melba's life due to his love for his black nanny. There are many more villains: AZ Governor Faubus, The CHS teachers -- who almost uniformly turned a blind eye to the abuse-- and "Andy" who is pathologically bent on harming Melba. Matter-of-fact reporting alternate with Melba's diary entries to make the days come alive. In a perfect world, one would have wished for better writing but no one can argue with the book's immediacy and importance. Religious content might ruffle secular feathers and frequent use of the n-word (in addition to unrelenting violence) might disturb others; otherwise, nothing objectionable.
bookwormteri on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Absolutely amazing. I had never really put thought into what integration must have been like for those couple black students in Arkansas and was just blown away by how horrific it was for them. I never thought about it at all. Amazing and horrifying. I just wanted to sit down and weep for the way they were treated.
Don1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mesmerizing account of the integration of Little Rock's public high school in the 1950's. The writer was one of the few students who were the first blacks to enter the school.
MrsLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A heartbreaking book full of the sinfulness of man, and yet alive with the hope of faith in God. Only Jesus will be able to heal hearts and the wounds suffered through bigotry and hatred. Please Lord, never let me add this kind of suffering to any soul.