Wicked Fox

Wicked Fox

by Kat Cho

Hardcover

$17.60 $18.99 Save 7% Current price is $17.6, Original price is $18.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wicked Fox 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
acuneo 12 days ago
Thank you to Bookish First and the publisher for providing me with a copy to review. I must say that this book was a first for me. I didn't see any of the plot twists coming. I must say that is part of the reason why I enjoyed it so much. Usually, I can see easily through the foreshadowing and smoke around the plot so it was refreshing to not be able to see what was coming. Besides an excellent plot, I enjoyed Cho's characters and writing. One thing that I really want to stress is that this is a romance book with fantasy elements. The romance shares the stage well with the fantasy but the elements like the beginning Miyoung and Jihoon's relationship, the I-am-not-supposed-to-get-close-to-you-but-look-I-have-feelings-for-you that you sometimes see in YA romance. Don't get me wrong I didn't mind the romance, but I wasn't expecting it so soon. As characters Miyoung and Jihoon are lovable and I think that we could be friends. Miyoung is a gumiho (if you didn't know that) and her mother moves her around a lot so she doesn't make many friends. And she is not allowed to tell anyone about the fact that she is a gumiho. Side note: the flashback chapters were a great way to introduce readers to the gumiho folklore without weighing down the story. Cho takes away the morally grey area of a gumiho by having Miyoung only "feed" when it is the full moon so she doesn't have to err, harm multiple men throughout the month. Jihoon is one of her classmates and works in his grandmother's restaurant. Up until the ending, I was enjoying the book. To avoid spoilers, I am going to be vague. The characters could have definitely made better decisions but it could have been worse. Also up until the epilogue, I thought that this book was a standalone as it wrapped up in a nice bow. The epilogue then comes and tears down the bow and screams "YOU THOUGHT WRONG!" I am not sure why Cho did this. She could have either condensed the ending and left me wanting more or completely cut out the epilogue.
PaperReader 16 days ago
When I saw that this book was listed as on of the books for BookishFirst, I was extremely excited because it was one of my most anticipated reads, and I have to say, I was incredibly disappointed. This book was beyond long, I felt like half the pages or plot of the book could've been taken out and you wouldn't have even noticed the difference. I feel like we're supposed to support and adore the relationships in this book, both friendships and family relationships, but they really just annoyed me and made me mad at the characters. The plot felt repetitive, I just wanted the conclusion to just come and for it to be over. Overall, reading this book felt like a chore, and I was ecstatic to finally finish this book.
LyricalReads 16 days ago
Content Warnings: violence, death (of a family member), (emotional) abuse from parent, bullying Set in modern Seoul, Kat Cho builds a world full of creatures from Korean mythology that is entirely immersive. Her story takes readers all over the city as well as to the outskirts. I have never been to Seoul, but I felt like I was very much so there. I absolutely love books where I can picture where the story is taking place especially since I am a very visual person. Whether it was Jihoon’s grandmother’s restaurant or the hospital or Yena and Miyoung’s apartment, I had a firm image of what each setting looked like. The beginning of the novel is a bit slow, but as I read more and more (and faster), I realized that the pacing of Wicked Fox is deliberate and beautiful because of that. There are moments of lull, but there are also points of high intensity. Wicked Fox has a very calculated build. The brief mythological stories between the main plot grew as the novel continued, and my interest in the direct link between these stories and Miyoung’s and Jihoon’s grew as well. Onto the characters: I am a sucker for the friends-to-lovers romantic trope. Friends-to-friends is also cool. Wicked Fox dances between these lines with a friendship that becomes a tentative romance but, in its essence, still remains a friendship. One of my brief notes I wrote down was “just friendship in this book (I LOVE TO SEE IT),” and I stand by that even now. There are strong friendships that challenges those who may be a threat to the ones that they love. So basically, I was clutching my heart the entire time I was reading this book. After finishing Wicked Fox, I can firmly say that Ahn Jihoon is my son, and I will fight anyone who tries to hurt him, sorry I don’t make the rules. In all seriousness, though, Jihoon’s character felt very real to me. It has been a while since I connected so deeply with a character. He has a playful and flirty side that he also uses to hide his struggles and his pain. In addition, most importantly, he is caring and kind in the best way. Sure, he is not always that way, but he tries his best to be so, especially when it concerns his halmeoni (grandmother). I think one of the main reasons I connected with Jihoon’s was because of his relationship with his mother. He struggles with the trauma of her abandoning him when he was young. Luckily, his grandmother took care of him, but it still hurts him to know that his mother now has another family and separates him from them. There was this one scene that I will never forget because I felt Jihoon’s emotions so clearly and intensely. I think I may have teared up. Somewhat surprisingly, I found that Yena, Miyoung’s mother, is one of the characters that have stuck with me well beyond me finishing the novel. She is extremely scary, but once her backstory was (slowly) revealed, she became so much more real. She has reasons for why she is the way she is and why she puts certain pressures on Miyoung. It was really the importance of family and found families that completely drew me into this story. Each of the families that are present in Wicked Fox have their own distinct relationships whether they were positive or negative. All of the characters struggle with the flaws of those who love them. This aspect struck me as particularly powerful. If you follow me on Instagram or have seen a few of my more recent posts here on this blog, you may have realized that I have gotten into watching K-dramas.
OldEnoughForFairytales 17 days ago
Loved this book! I’m all for Asian inspired fantasy and I LOVED that this story was set in Korea! I’ve beeb learning more about Korea lately, so this book was perfectly timed. Also, can we talk about this gorgeous cover? It has all my favorite colors and I’m sooo happy to see two Korean characters on the cover. Representation is so important! Also I’m a huge fan of Korean food, so plenty of scenes in this book just made my mouth water I was not familiar with the Korean Gumihos myth, so I appreciated this introduction to it. It was such a unique story! And the romance! It was lovely. I’m a sucker for a cute romance like this one also, I just realized that Wicked Fox has a sequel slated to come out next year? I’m here for it!
PinkFirework 27 days ago
Shoutout to Bookish First for sending me an advanced readers copy.
Milkz 3 months ago
I previously wrote a 6 paragraph review of this while at the airport but then accidentally deleted it with no way to get it back, but let’s try this again because I absolutely loved Wicked Fox and need to talk about it! In Wicked Fox, Miyoung is half human, half gumiho. Every 100 days she needs to feed off the gi of people to live and keep her immortality. Because of this, she keeps to herself and has never made any true friends. Jihoon is a charming yet lazy high school student whose mother left him to his halmeoni when he was just a baby. He first gets involved with Miyoung when he gets attacked in the forest and Miyoung saves him. Kat Cho’s writing is both accessible yet atmospheric and rich with Korean culture and mythos. Cho, a Korean author, sets her story in modern day Korea so we get a chance to experience Korean family dynamics, language, mannerisms, and customs. She also expands on the gumiho legend every few chapters which adds to the magical atmosphere. After the prologue, the pacing is a little slow for awhile, but I think it helps to set up the rest of the story. I really like the exploration and execution of the themes. First, Kat Cho explores what it means to be alive through the lives of Miyoung and Jihoon. Miyoung is immortal. She may live forever, but she spends her life in isolation never making lasting relationships and never experiencing what most teenagers get to experience in fear of someone finding out her secret of being a gumiho. She wants for nothing because her mother, who is also a gumiho, has lived long enough to get her anything she wants. Yet her mother is old enough to know how to survive and is hardly around to make sure she and Miyoung keep on surviving. On the other hand, there is mortal Jihoon. He will obviously not live forever, but he’s had lasting relationships since he was a kid. He is also not financially wealthy, but has a close and affectionate relationship with his halmeoni and never has to worry about not being able to live his life to the fullest. Next we see different expressions of maternal love through Miyoung’s and Jihoon’s guardians. First, there is Jihoon’s mother. She had Jihoon when she was very young and left him with his halmeoni when he was just a baby. Though in present time Jihoon has no relationship with his mother and even seems to resent her, he is also curious about her, and she seems to be curious about him, too. Next, there is Jihoon’s halmeoni. She constantly scolds and yells at Jihoon, but there is no doubt that she loves him. Miyoung even points out how her relationship with Jihoon is so comfortable they don’t even notice how easily they love each other. “Jihoon and his halmeoni moved with such consideration for each other, a lifetime of learned behavior. She spooned some of her meat into his bowl. He nudged the cucumber kimchi closer to her before she reached for it… How could two people go from shouting in the street to sharing such a loving meal? They were so at ease with their love. They fought and laughed and adored each other so openly.” Finally there is Miyoung’s mother, Yena. Yena is always on the move. She does not see her daughter often and also expects the best from her. Though Yena and Miyoung don’t have the most affectionate relationship, all Yena does is for Miyoung and she always reminds Miyoung that she is her daughter and that makes her “smart and beautiful and strong, and loved.” In return, Miyoung loves and is loyal to her. Yena is one of my f
Anonymous 3 months ago
I haven’t read the book yet but I was wondering if it’s still selling in the store
Anonymous 3 months ago
I haven’t read the book yet but I was wondering if it’s still selling in the store
QuothTheRavenclaw 3 months ago
A fun, high-stakes urban fantasy! 4.5 stars, rounded up. This story is an urban fantasy set in modern-day Seoul. Miyoung is a Gumiho— a nine-tailed fox capable of passing as a lovely human girl. She must feed on gi— life-force— to survive, but, with the help of a shaman, she feeds only on those who have committed despicable crimes. One night, in the woods, a young man named Jihoon sees her fighting a goblin, and she elects not to kill him, even though he has seen too much. When it turns out that they are in the same class at school, things become complicated. This book isn’t exactly what it says on the package. There’s a star-crossed romance, yes, but the “100 days to decide who lives and who dies” is only one small part of this story, and isn’t introduced until much later. Expect multiple conflicts and characters with varying motivations in this story. This story has a wonderful cast. Jihoon was one of the most engaging love interests I’ve read in a while. The short chapters will have readers turning pages to find out what happens next. The rich backdrop of modern Seoul was the perfect setting for this rich, romantic fantasy. My only complaint was that there are lots of different threads to this story as a whole, and some of the transitions from one conflict to the next felt a little messy. I look forward to the sequel! That epilogue has me itching for more!
Anonymous 4 months ago
YA fantasy meets Korean mythology and K-pop culture. This is a paranormal YA fantasy, focusing on Korean mythology and set in present day Seoul. Looks like a unique Asian inspired fantasy and did it hook me right away, i was not expecting to be so interested in this as i am. We need more Asian inspired books or at least different settings, different places and cultures. I never watched Korean dramas but if you have, i think you will love this because it has that kind of structure, just like a Korean soap drama, or at least it gives the feeling of one. In general, if you love Korean pop culture and mythology this is the book for you.
spellbindingstories 4 months ago
Wicked Fox by Kat Cho was an automatic five stars from me!!! Though I knew very little about the book going in, I couldn’t put it down once I began. The main storyline is a beautiful blend of Korean mythology and modernity. Its focus follows a young gumiho named Miyoung but shamans, ghosts, and even dokkaebi make appearances. Humans, however, play perhaps the second greatest role in the story considering that Miyoung is surrounded by them and even half of one herself. Her love interest, Jihoon, is also human. This love story acts as pretty much the main story line of the novel, and its safe to say that it was absolutely endearing. It was so heart-warming to see the two characters connect and grow together. However, as fun as Miyoung and Jihoon’s romance was, I think my favorite part of the book was the side-relationships. The various friendships Miyoung creates with Jihoon and his friends was developed very slowly and thoughtfully, which I really appreciated. Jihoon’s contrasting relationships with his grandma and his mother were probably the highlight of the book for me. They were so complex and intricate in their own ways that each had me in tears at one point or the other. I really appreciate the extra mile the author took to ensure that such relationships maintained significance in the story and for the characters. It’s far too often that such relationships are simply pushed aside in romances so seeing them so fully developed makes me so excited! I absolutely cannot wait for the sequel!!!
bookscoffeeandrepeat 5 months ago
Feels like I'm watching (more like reading) a Korean drama! As a person who grew up watching a lot of Korean dramas (albeit I'm not really Korean), I have to say that I LOVE this book. I enjoyed reading about how the author incorporated Korean mythology in the story to create an urban fantasy novel involving Gumihos! Basically, this book holds a special place in my heart despite its flaws (which is kind of subjective).
taramichelle 5 months ago
I finished Wicked Fox and absolutely loved it. I flew through it, I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. Wicked Fox is a YA fantasy romance set in Seoul. Cho absolutely nailed both the fantasy and the romance aspect. The Korean mythology was fascinating and I loved how we slowly learned more about the world. I also absolutely loved how Cho made me continually question what was good and evil. And really delved into what individuals will do for those they love. I’m so glad that this is going to be a series because I need more of this story and the characters. I already want to reread this one. If you’re a YA urban fantasy or romance fan, consider picking this one up! *Disclaimer: I received an advanced copy of this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
WeezieL 5 months ago
Won paperback ARC on BookishFirst.com Umm first of all, the cover. It's beautiful!! All the dark purples and pinks and just a *hint* of a fox tail there! I love it! Gu Miyoung is a gumiho. An immortal nine-tailed fox. But she is also human. Her father was (is?) human, her mother a gumiho. Miyoung has to take gi (energy) from humans in order to maintain her form and immortality. Intrigued yet? I was! I love fairy tale/mythology/folk tale retellings, all cultures and countries! Kat Cho's debut book was a page-turner! I read it in 2 days and couldn't get enough of it. I love Jihoon in all his subtle not so subtle ways of getting Miyoung's attention and not giving up on her and I enjoyed their interactions with each other. I love Jihoon's halmeoni, she is such a sweet, strong grandmother! About halfway through the book I didn't know where it was going! Betrayals abound! But I liked the ending and now I'm impatiently itching for book 2!! Hopefully it gets an equally breathtaking cover!
KeniaM 5 months ago
The cover caught my attention before anything else. The art work is beautiful and colorful and it captures your attention quickly. I was able to read an except of the book before release and I was hooked. Gu Miyoung caught my attention, she’s coming off as a strong female who might care for humans but doesn't want to. Being a Fox demon and doing what she must to stay alive only kept me hooked even more. This book is a full on K-drama and I’m all for it. I felt like I was watching this on tv, I was able to like the characters quickly. This was a good read, I was a bit slow on reading this but that’s only because life happened. I really enjoyed the description Kat Cho did through out the book. It helped me visualize each scene.
yaykisspurr 5 months ago
A nine-tailed fox is a creature that features prominently in Asian mythology and folklore. In Korean tales it's called a gumiho. It's literally a fox that has accumulates a 1,000 years of life energy and can transform into a woman. In this form she seduces boys and eats organs. And Kat Cho does an excellent job taking these elements in Wicked Fox and giving us a compelling story about Miyoung, a girl who was born to this life. She has a complicated relationship with her mother, Yena, who has lived many years and had unpleasant experiences with humans who know the truth. I loved how we see a convergence of the traditional gumiho and the modern fox girl who wants to belong. Miyoung explores the question, are we evil if we do bad things? I loved this in Wicked Fox! It's very pertinent today with the popularity of morally grey characters and for teens who are developing their moral compasses. Jihoon really helps her to understand that her actions matter and I love that while he influenced her, Miyoung made the choice to change. He also deals with feelings of abandonment and grief that made my heart melt just as much as it did for Miyoung. I loved getting into their emotions as well as their fears and struggles. In Wicked Fox we get this subtle taste of what life is like in Korea. We experience Korean high school through Jihoon and Miyoung. There are shamans we meet and get to experience some of what they do. Then we have Junu! Another piece of Korean folklore comes our way as we meet a non-traditional dokkaebi. We meet Jihoon's halmoni who runs a little eatery (these are all over Seoul!) And I just can't recommend Wicked Fox enough to those who want to get a taste of Korea through a wonderful contemporary paranormal read! As you can tell I really enjoyed Wicked Fox. There are so many things going for it. The opening scene really hooks you. I read it first as an excerpt and it totally sucked me in again the second time in the book. I craved these moments where the fox part of Miyoung comes out and causes her problems. And when they were in action I zipped through the book at high speed. They were so compelling and your heart was in your throat for Miyoung and Jihoon. At times though there were odd lulls in Wicked Fox. It felt like time was passing and we were waiting for something to happen. I started to wonder id this was turning out to be a rather ho hum understated romance until suddenly a plot that has been brewing in the background was blown wide open. When this time passing lull happened again I realized I needed to wait for the second explosion. While I wish the pacing were better and the plot always had things going on I really enjoyed the personal emotional development that these moments allowed. I especially related to Miyoung's relationship with her mother and Jihoon's relationship with his halmoni (grandmother). So when things become rocky for both parental figures in different ways I was about ready to come through the book and get those threatening them. Wicked Fox really takes us on an emotional journey as well as a cultural one. And there is another relationship that comes out that really made me tense and wondering how it would play out. I was really pleased with how Wicked Fox ended and can't wait to read the sequel!!
Magdalyn_Ann 5 months ago
Ripe with K-Drama level of feels and a rich fantasy woven through, Wicked Fox is a delight from start to finish. I was so excited to get my hands on this book. Wicked Fox has everything I love: a powerful girl and a dopey boy who falls in love with her and she can’t risk falling in love with him because she may hurt him. ALSO SHE’S A NINE-TAILED FOX. Ahem. This is one of these rare brands of modern fantasy that checked off every box in both romance and fantasy that I love. I don’t often go for modern fantasy stories, but Wicked Fox scratched that itch so well. I really enjoyed Kat Cho’s writing and how immediately tense it got in the best situations. It would go from a cute high school romance to Oh No There’s A Monster type tension and it was such a wild ride. Wicked Fox hit all of those K-Drama moments perfectly, including making it feel impossible to put down. I couldn’t bear the leave the story behind for any reason. It was such a fun, intense story. There were some part where I wish things were slightly more explained; even in just a bare description. Because the story takes place in Seoul, everything is sprinkled with Korean. I didn’t want a direct translation (I have Google for that) but I would have loved some descriptions after a Korean food name was dropped so I could get deeper into the scene. Some of the magic and monsters could have been described a bit more. There’s a goblin-demon type monster called a dokkaebi that attacked Jihoon early in the book. They’re described as hunched, ugly goblin creatures. Later on, we meet a dokkaebi that passes as a handsome human guy and it’s never really explained why this particular dokkaebi is the way they are. But all in all, Wicked Fox was a thrilling and emotional story that’s perfect for fans of fantasy, romance, K-Dramas, and Korean myths.
Kelsey Bickmore 5 months ago
I like foxes of all kinds, whether they be ordinary red foxes, or of the nine tailed, mystical Kitsune/Gumiho variety that are also girls. This book does not disappoint! Miyoung is a cool, strong gumiho just trying to live a quiet life with humans, but not really a part of them and only steal the gi for her immortality from nasty guys. This changes with the rescue of Jihoon from a nasty goblin. Unfortunately the rescue costs Miyoung her bead and that is when the fun stuff begins. Jihoon is pretty cool for a human (even if he is a bit of a slacker) and my favorite because he stays the same and doesn't betray/double cross/trick Miyoung at one time or another. Miyoung is a bit hard to like sometimes, due to her personality and attitude towards nearly everyone else but I blame her mother for that (though her mother does have her reasons kind of for being the way she is). Miyoung had some hard choices to make and I am glad that she proved herself to be a decent person/gumiho and it will be interesting to see what direction the next book will take.
Mais 5 months ago
I was so glad to be able to read an ARC of Wicked Fox! This story was absolute perfection. Everything wrapped up together so nicely in the end, and the author was very clever in where she placed certain events. While I was reading (the end especially) my mouth would open in complete surprise because nothing was predictable. When I finished reading, all I could think was, "this author is a genius". I appreciate that the characters were very well done. All of them were complex and redeemable in their own ways. The themes of friendship, love, and hate were superb in their execution and came off as authentic and believable. Specifically, the relationship between Miyoung and Jihoon was quite believeable. Their personalities fit well together even though they weren't that similar. Their familiy history was similar, though, and this helped connect the two. Family and friendship were prime topics faced throughout the novel, and the way the author handled these topics really made the story something special. Plus, the way all of the characters progressed and changed was impressive, no characters were left out or put on the back burner in terms of progression. While I thought the book could have ended as a standalone, I will definitely be reading the next book. I enjoyed this novel from beginning to end, and it is a new favorite of mine.
Momof2kids 5 months ago
I'm really not a fantasy/paranormal stories and I never even knew that K - Drama was a thing. When I read this, I thought I would hate it. While it wasn't my favorite book and it is one I probably won't read again, I did finish it despite the challenges I had reading it. I enjoyed what I learned about Korean Mythology. This book mainly focuses on the tale of the gumiho (9 tailed fox). The gumiho takes on the form of a human girl and has to feed on human flesh/energy(gi) to survive. Our main character Miyoung is half gumiho. She tries to keep her humanity in check and will only take gi from worthless men, or at least men she deems worthless. Enter in Jihoon. She winds up saving him and somehow loses her fox bead and finds herself attracted to him. Since Fantasy really isn't my favorite, I can't say that this is a fantastic book as it isn't really my cup of tea, but it was really well written. I enjoyed the setting of Seoul as well.
magicalreads7 5 months ago
Wicked Fox was one of my most anticipated 2019 releases, and I was not disappointed. This book was a stunning debut that lived up to my expectations and then some. A gorgeous fantasy, Wicked Fox tells the tale of a gumiho and her unexpected bond with a schoolboy, set against the atmospheric world of modern-day Seoul. This book was beautiful, just beautiful honestly. It honestly felt just like a k-drama with the characters and the drama and the pacing. Wicked Fox is just so soft and lovely and just overall wonderful. I couldn't help but picture that scene in Strong Woman Do Bong Soon where the two main characters are by the bridge and the cherry blossoms are falling on them. The ache! The yearning! The mortifying ordeal of being known! If you watch k-dramas, this book really follows the typical pacing. Half the book is this slow, soft unveiling of the plot and the characters, and then when we reach the turning point, we really hit the ground running. From there, it's so intense and high stakes, but there's also still time for some of the soft, gentle scenes that captured my attention during the first half. I honestly need this book adapted as a TV series! This book is set in Seoul, which is a nice departure from the typical set-in-the-West books we often have today. And the best thing: it's written by someone who shares the same culture. Cho is Korean American, and the difference between an #ownvoices novel and one that's not is so marked. I think Cho did a great job of explaining Korean culture and differences from American standards that non-Koreans might not know without over-explaining. The prose is skillfully done, with the right emphasis on drama, love, passion, sadness, and so on at the appropriate times. You'll find yourself sucked into this book at every moment; I couldn't put it down. I adored all of the characters! Jihoon is the soft boy to end all soft boys, and I would honestly lay down my life for him. Miyoung is going through her own struggles, and I just love her so, so much. All of the side characters are great too, and I need more of them. And the romance! It's a nice reversal of "the soft one busting their way into the tough one's heart," in that "the soft one" is Jihoon and "the tough one" Miyoung. Their relationship is so well-developed, growing stronger at just the right pace. I mean, the soft yearning of their relationship; Miyoung not wanting to fall in love with a human but she can't help it. Wicked Fox is one of the best debuts of 2019, and honestly, for this to be Cho's debut is astounding; I cannot wait to see her works in the future because this book is just so amazing. The pacing is perfect, and the prose is so, so beautiful. I adored the characters and the softness of the romance. Wicked Fox is not to be missed, trust me.
Ashes2ashes1189 5 months ago
Book is based off of Korean folklore and I enjoyed reading this story immensely. Before the only knowledge I had of the mystical foxes were from tv shows and they were just great fighters. After reading this story I find them even more fascinating. The story shows not only just a girl who has to feed off of the human life force but one who seeks out people who do wrong unto others. She fights for those that were unable to defend themselves. This book was not only enjoyable for myself but also my teenager as well the characters are young adult and they could not be more different from each other. The pace of the story was well written and I would read more by this author and recommend this to others
Dhammelef 5 months ago
I gobbled this book up and didn't want it to end. I had to force myself to stop reading because sleep is not an option. From the beginning this world grabbed me and took me on a twisty, high-stakes ride. Along the way I met three dimensional characters that popped off the pages. I found a new book boyfriend in Jihoon and rooted for him as he had so much family issues to deal with. I also found family, friendship, self-acceptance, and a sweet romance. The characters had to learn how to trust others and learn who they could really trust. This made for lots of suspense and plot surprises. I loved the Korean culture, setting, and foods inside. The author tossed unseen twists and paced this debut book perfectly. I can't wait for book 2.
Brooke Allen 5 months ago
I really enjoyed Wicked Fox. This story has a unique setting and great characters. I highly recommend it. First, the story is set in modern-day Seoul. I can't think of any other stories set in this part of the world. The Seoul-ness oozes out into the story, in the foods they eat, the way they dress, their school schedule, and their mythology. This is one of the things I enjoyed about it. Jihoon is an average teen; the equivalent of our high-school junior. He's certainly not a star student: he's actually last in his class. His parents both abandoned him and he lives with his grandma. I can see how that would affect him. Miyoung is half gumiho: a mythological creature that has to feed off the gi of human beings to stay alive. Her mother is cold, and she doesn't know her father. After Jihoon finds out her secret, they end up at the same school. Miyoung doesn't know why he keeps pestering her; she'd rather be alone. He ends up growing on her, however. Miyoung's mother, on the other hand, decides to cause some trouble. I thought the characters were likable, and as their story unfolds, the behaviors of the characters make a lot of sense. The climax of this story is exciting. Even though it resolves nicely, there is an opening for another book. The prose to this story was excellent and drew me in and kept me there. Don't miss this one!
jjyy 5 months ago
Motoring is a 17-year old half-gumiho, half-human girl who is presented as a morally gray and flawed protagonist. From the start, she is strong-willed and stubborn, as evidenced by how tightly she clings to her beautiful and terrifying gumiho mother's teachings about how she should approach her life. As a rule, Miyoung holds her emotions close and never lets anyone close to her heart. As a result, she is incredibly lonely. Along comes Jihoon, a human boy. Like Miyoung, he guards his heart, is strong-willed, and stubborn—especially when it comes to avoidance strategies that he has in place to protect himself. But unlike Miyoung, he does allow a select few people into his life and Miyoung is one of them. Despite her resistance, he pursues a friendship with her in a way that is sweet and charming. It is important to note that although this is very much a love story between Miyoung and Jihoon, there is more than one kind of love being dissected, challenged, and fostered throughout this book with several well fleshed-out characters. That makes this a story about love more than just a romance.