You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone

You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone

by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Paperback(Reprint)

$11.69 $12.99 Save 10% Current price is $11.69, Original price is $12.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, February 24
MARKETPLACE
11 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Marta22 More than 1 year ago
Before I start reviewing this book, I want to tell you that You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon is probably my favourite book of the year. It's one of the most powerful reads of mine, it was raw, it made me feel things. It was absolutely perfect and when it comes out in January, please make sure you read it because you have no idea what you're losing on. "I thought I could force him to love me. Relationships are not about control, though, and perhaps that is why I have never had a real one. I want to always feel strong when I am with guys. That isn’t going to change. I am always going to wear my dresses and red lipstick because I like them. I am always going to have people watch me when I am onstage, but my looks are not the only things that make me Adina." I'm not sure how to make a structure for this book review as I usually tell you first about the things I've enjoyed and then about the ones I didn't. But this book is different because I've enjoyed absolutely everything. Like literary, there's nothing I didn't enjoy. So, buckle up because we're going on a fangirling trip, my dear. Things that I absolutely loved about You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone : How the books makes it pretty clear that women can be everything and don't have to be limited to only on trait (like smart, beautiful or talented). The characters are absolutely unique, Rachel Lynn Solomon did a great job at creating complex and three-dimensional characters. They felt so real, that for the first time, I had absolutely no problem imagining them, imagining what they would like, what they might do in a situation. I absolutely love how Adina and Tovah, the main characters, are very different. Adina is a music prodigy, she is very cofident, she loves make-up and dresses, she's experienced in relationships. And then, Tovah is the smart girl, the one that never gets comments on how she looks, but is always complimented on her brain, she's not that experienced in relationships. You get the idea. What I absolutely loved about Solomon's book is how she fought these cliches. She showed us this sister rivalry that was pretty much rooted in people's expectations and how society sees girls. I've always been annoyed with how girls can only be smart or can only be beautiful and there's never both of them. And if you're beautiful, then you're expected to have a boyfriend, if you don't, then there's something wrong with you. If you're smart, you're expected to focus on your studies and forget about the boys. So, society wants us to be one dimensional, pretty much. And Rachel Lynn Solomon slammed it all. 2. Sisters and a very complex take on their relationship Tovah and Adina don't have a good relationship at the beginning of this book, they are arguing all the time, they don't spend time together and so on. The thing is they have very valid reasons and it's not that simple. You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone is, in my opinion, a love letter to sisters, in the end, you realize how beautiful and touching it is to have a sister, how that bond is beyond everything else. To me, as an only child, it really touched me and made me envious of everybody who has a sister. 3. Family over relationships, always Solomon did a great job of focusing on family rather than on romantic relationships. I think you've seen pretty often on my blog commenting on how YA does pretty badly in incorporating family interactions in the stories a.k.a the missing parents. This one again d
AReadingRedSox More than 1 year ago
I am honestly speechless, y'all. I had heard really great things about YOU'LL MISS ME WHEN I'M GONE, and let me tell you, it lives up to and surpasses all of the hype. The story and the characters are heartbreaking and emotional and utterly alive. One of my favorite novels of all time; absolutely stunning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chancie More than 1 year ago
Wow. WOW. That's what comes to mind first. I'm not sure where to start. This book is beautiful and heartfelt, and I loved every single page of it. The characters are so alive and easy to love and root for (even the not so lovable ones), and I loved them from the first twenty pages, and the story is rooted in the way we, as humans, deal with grief and hardship and the ugliness that comes with it and how we wade our way through it anyway (one of my favorite story themes) . I don't even feel that I have the right words for how much I adored this novel. Please, go buy a copy. I loved this novel so, so much. Also, can we mention how wonderful the cover is? The different boot styles, the fact that we can see one girl's face (I won't say who it is because spoilers) but not the other's in the reflection? Yeah. Loving it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful, touching, and engaging story. You'll love the characters and be hungry for more! It's a great read. I can't say enough good things about it!
EllenRozek More than 1 year ago
This was stellar on so many levels - as a story about sisters, about making plans for a future that's entirely unpredictable, about finding a way to live when confronted with death. There's so much at stake besides the girls' Huntington's results, and I couldn't help rooting for them to find their way forward and find their way back to each other, even when their mutual resentment made perfect sense and a reconciliation seemed impossible. I loved how ambitious both Tovah and Adina were, albeit in completely different ways, and their constant, persistent awareness of their own history--both as Jewish people and as daughters who might inherit the worst parts of their mother's genetic legacy--was beautifully handled and very realistic. I loved their relationships with their parents, and I loved the ways in which each of them had to forge connections with the parent they were less close with. I loved the ongoing dialogue about planning ahead versus living for today, and the realizations both characters come to about their own place in the world and their own self worth. I can be pretty hard on "unlikable" heroines, as so many of us tend to be, and the highest praise I can offer this story is that I never once felt disgusted or infuriated by the choices either of these heroines made, just like I never once wanted to stop reading. As far as I'm concerned, YOU'LL MISS ME WHEN I'M GONE is contemporary YA at its best: heartbreaking, compelling, and completely unforgettable.
Mini_F More than 1 year ago
Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have great life ambitions. Adina is an aspiring soloist, hoping to take her musical skills to above-average levels. Tovah wants to go to medical school and become a surgeon. Various obstacles could deter their plans, but only one of them could crush them to bits: Huntington’s Disease. Their mother suffered from this illness. One of the twins is diagnosed with the disease, and their relationship — once shaky — will take devastating turns. This is a wonderful read. I’m glad the author sent me the ARC file. The characters are well-defined — flawed but relatable. What I like the most is the relationship between them. They’re complex and toxic. The story deals with the family’s Jewish faith, a girl’s crush with her male teacher and mentor, sibling rivalry, and cancer in the family. You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone is as realistic as it gets. I hope Rachel Lynn Solomon is here to stay.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Pulse for the opportunity to read and review You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon. Adina takes music lessons from Arjun in his apartment. Arjun is twenty-five and Adina has a crush on him. She’s also fearful of her possibly life threatening genetic test results. Adina is being tested for the same disease that her mother suffers from. Tovah, Adina’s twin, will be taking the genetic test for Huntington’s disease also. Their mother was diagnosed four years ago and she struggles with the effects. The girls have Jewish heritage from their mother and while Tovah embraces it, Adina doesn’t. I like how Tovah explains why she believes God didn’t cause their mother to have Huntington’s disease: “God has limits, humans have free will, and the natural world isn’t ruled by a higher power”. So, in other words, God doesn’t make people have illnesses. The sisters seem to be complete opposites in everything they do and believe and with their actions and choices. The story’s complexity deals with heritage, Huntington’s disease, twins with extreme differences, genetic testing, coming of age, sexuality, relationships, culture, religion and family. 4 STARS for this debut novel with a lot of depth! *I received a complimentary copy of this book for voluntary review consideration.
njgn More than 1 year ago
How good is this book? I was able to read an E-ARC in November, and I read the whole book in under two days - on my phone. While on Thanksgiving vacation, visiting my son. I was completely hooked from the first sentence of the book and was constantly trying to read a few pages without anyone noticing. The plot is unique and totally captivating, as are the characters. I loved the honest complexity of Tovah and Adi's relationship. The slow revealing of their back story contrasted with the gut-wrenching misery of their present situation. The integration of Jewish culture is also handled beautifully and thoughtfully. There are some mature scenes in the book, and I would suggest this for 15 and up.
The-Broke-Book-Bank More than 1 year ago
>>Immediately engaging, like stayed up all night to finish it and did not see shit coming! >>Loved both sisters for different reasons. They’re a study in contrast, but it’s not gimmicky. It didn’t feel forced or contrived at all. >>Impressed with how the age-gap romance was handled. I haven’t see such a realistic and nuanced portrayal before. >>There are some brutal, heart wrenching, and awkward moments that made me want to look away and will haunt me. >>Love the sex positivity and talk of girls masturbating. >>The ending is AMAZING. Feels like how it was always supposed to be, I just hadn’t realized it yet.
LADennison More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. I loved the complicated sister relationship. I loved reading about a practicing Jewish family. But the story really hit home for me as someone who has been through the difficult choice of having genetic testing done related to my own mother’s illness. The situation is one that can’t be resolved simply or with a completely happy ending, so I was fascinated to see how the story would unfold. Solomon gives both sisters distinct and intriguing voices and paths, and I really enjoyed the contrast of their development. Adina’s relationship with her tutor was was handled so well, both realistically and with depth. My favorite part about Tovah’s story was seeing how her faith related to her thoughts and choices. This is such a rich, layered story of family and what motivates us to do the things we do, and it was such a pleasure to read.
ahyperboliclife More than 1 year ago
You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone - Rachel Lynn Solomon // JAN 2 “You can spend lifetimes searching tragedies for reasons why.” This was such a great human story. Everything felt so real and earnest. We follow estranged twin sisters, Adina and Tovah, as their lives are changed after one of them tests positive for Huntington's Disease - the same disease that has caused their mom so much pain. Now each girl must reconcile their futures, their faith, and their relationships in the face of this new information. I really liked that Adinah and Tocah were just so human. They got angry and had fights and messed up. They were not perfect people and I didn’t agree with everything they did, but I liked them because they were fallible. They had completely emotional responses to a life-changing situation and I really loved that. I liked that we got to see a practicing Jewish family, and we got to see what their faith meant to each girl. Faith is such a personal things, and I liked seeing how each girl chose to interact with it. This was such an enjoyable emotional read, and I loved the realness of it. I’m a such for twin stories, so that’s what drew me in, but You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone is a beautifully compelling story of forgiveness, family, and looking to your future - even when it’s irrecoverably changed. I received a copy of the book from Simon Pulse via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
Lauren817 More than 1 year ago
Rachel Lynn Solomon's You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone was one of my most anticipated books of 2018, which made starting it all the more nerve racking. I wanted to love it. The premise sounded amazing and fresh. The cover is stunning! Plus, there's nothing but high praise coming from the YA community about it. Thankfully, You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone was fantastic - hands down one of the BEST books I've read this year! Heartbreaking yet vastly hopeful, You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone is an eye opening look at how a Huntington’s diagnosis drastically changes two twin's lives. You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone is told in the alternating POVs of Adina and Tovah, two twins who couldn't be any more different. Charismatic as well as elusive, Adina is the twin everyone talks about yet no one truly knows. Adina is okay with that - she likes her hermit like existence, she'd rather focus on her music than live the typical teen experience. Tovah, on the other hand, is the sister that often blends into the background. Dedicated to her studies and becoming a doctor, Tovah has little time for nonsense or love. Tovah and Adina are complicated characters, ones who are more unlikable than likable; however, there's something about both that makes them incredibly compelling and easy to root for. I loved getting to know both. Out of the two, Adina was my favorite. She gives off a larger than life feel. Her emotions are dramatic and colorful. She's never someone to do something quietly, and I admired that about her. I loved her passion and dedication. Tovah, on the other hand, is quiet and more straight forwarded than Adina. Tovah's life focuses on following the "rules" - getting good grades, the right experiences, the best recommendations. She leaves little time to breathe and just experience life, and I could relate to that - I've been there before. The one aspect that I found the most interesting about Tovah and Adina was that they weren't best friends. In fact, they start off the book hating each other. Throughout the novel, I was dying to know what lead them to that point - what could make someone hate the person they shared the most with? To make it even worse, Tovah and Adina become even more estranged after the diagnosis. They do horrible things to each other- things that made my stomach turn. Yet at the same time, I felt that showcasing those events and their feelings made their characters more real, more gritty in a sense. The plot in You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone mainly revolves around the outcome of the test results. I knew a decent amount about Huntington’s disease prior to starting this, but there's such a difference between knowing the facts and seeing a family experience the disease. It was heartbreaking to witness Adina and Tovah's mother fall apart right in front of their eyes. I respected that Rachel Lynn Solomon didn't sugar coat anything when it came to that. In all, I could go on about this book all day, but I won't bore you with that. Instead, I'll live with you this: give this book a chance. I won't sugar coat it: it's a hard read, but it's so incredibly worth it. I loved so much, in fact, that I'll be pre-ordering a copy just so I can re-read it.