Zodiac (Zodiac Series #1)

Zodiac (Zodiac Series #1)

by Romina Russell

Paperback

$10.19 $10.99 Save 7% Current price is $10.19, Original price is $10.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2

Customer Reviews

Zodiac (film) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Barb-TRC More than 1 year ago
Zodiac by Romina Russell is the first book in her new YA Sci-Fi/ Fantasy series, which though different, can also be considered dystopian. This storyline revolves around astrology, with each sign being its own House. There are 12 Houses, and the world building in this book is nothing short of fantastic. We meet our heroine Rhoma as a young child, who is constantly being taught by her mother about the galaxy, the houses, and how to use her powers to foresee the future through the psy energy. We next meet Rho as a teenager (16), who is practicing in a schoolroom prior to a test. Rho doesn’t do things exactly the way the teachers at school expect her to. When she does take the test looking at the galaxy, she sees a dark mass, which no one else can see. The teachers do not believe Rho, until a short time later, the House of Cancer (Rho’s house) is attacked, with fragments effecting other houses. Each house has a guardian, and during the attack on Cancer, the Guardian was killed, leaving so few to follow. Rho is put through a series of tests by the surviving leaders of Cancer, and to her shock, she is made the new Guardian. Rho sees more dark mass coming, and forces herself to use her powers to see what is causing these unknown attacks. As she reaches out through the psy energy, Rho senses someone else out there. Someone who is controlling the dark mass, someone evil. When Rho investigates a long ago myth about a 13th House, she begins to realize that the myth is true. Ochus and the 13th house is real, and they have come to destroy or take over all the other houses. But no one will believe Rho. What follows is an amazing story, as Rho is determined to visit all the houses to warn them of the impending attacks, and the true nemesis that they will face. During this journey, we meet the two men that will help her. Mathias is a top Lodestar of Cancer, who has been assigned to protect her. Hysan is a young Libra ambassador, with knowledge of advanced technology, who immediately becomes her friend. Together, they spend the exciting, at times frustrating journey, in this difficult task to make people realize that a myth is real. Needless to say this is an almost impossible task, but Rho despite her failure, is determined to keep pushing forward. It is an exciting and very well written tale of a futuristic world along the Zodiac solar system, which I found very interesting. Each of the Houses have different specialties, and as we travel through the planets/houses, we get to meet some really different and nice characters along the way. Yes this is a love triangle, but not truly acted upon. We just know that she cares about both men. Romina Russell has given us a different type of dystopian storyline, in a Sci-Fi world that is really fascinating. After reading this book, which was difficult to put down, I have come to respect Russell for her ability to put this together so well. The ending was sort of a cliffhanger that us anxiously waiting to return to this world.
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Zodiac by Romina Russell Book One of the Zodiac series Publisher: Razorbill Publication Date: December 9, 2014 Rating: 4 stars Source: ARC sent by the publisher Summary (from Goodreads): At the dawn of time, there were 13 Houses in the Zodiac Galaxy. Now only 12 remain…. Rhoma Grace is a 16-year-old student from House Cancer with an unusual way of reading the stars. While her classmates use measurements to make accurate astrological predictions, Rho can’t solve for ‘x’ to save her life—so instead, she looks up at the night sky and makes up stories. When a violent blast strikes the moons of Cancer, sending its ocean planet off-kilter and killing thousands of citizens—including its beloved Guardian—Rho is more surprised than anyone when she is named the House’s new leader. But, a true Cancrian who loves her home fiercely and will protect her people no matter what, Rho accepts. Then, when more Houses fall victim to freak weather catastrophes, Rho starts seeing a pattern in the stars. She suspects Ophiuchus—the exiled 13th Guardian of Zodiac legend—has returned to exact his revenge across the Galaxy. Now Rho—along with Hysan Dax, a young envoy from House Libra, and Mathias, her guide and a member of her Royal Guard—must travel through the Zodiac to warn the other Guardians. But who will believe anything this young novice says? Whom can Rho trust in a universe defined by differences? And how can she convince twelve worlds to unite as one Zodiac? What I Liked: Ahhh, I have been waiting for this book for SO LONG. Before BEA 2014, before it had a cover, before it seemed like everyone else had heard of this one. Science fiction? Astrology? Wars? A girl named after a Greek letter? Awesome! Totally up my alley! I'm so glad to say that for the most part, this book did not let me down. Rho's world has actually been turned upside down. She's been seeing a dark mass in her star readings, something that no one else has been seeing. Then Cancer has been attacked, and suddenly, Rho is thrust into the role of Guardian of Cancer. She must travel to each of the planets to warn them about the mysterious dark matter that is forming, and the myth that isn't a myth - Ophiuchus and the Thirteenth House is real. But who will believe her? And who will stand by her side, when all twelve Houses don't trust each other - exactly what Ophiuchus wants? Science fiction! Ah! I love anything that has to do with space, honestly. This book gets really into that kind of science fiction - there is a lot of hyperspace hopping and planet traveling and intergalactic crazies. Well - maybe not intergalactic. Intragalactic? In any case, I love the depth of the science part of this book! Russell does an excellent job of creating and constructing this science fiction world - a world that is completely fictional (thus, not futuristic). The world-building is phenomenal and very believable and fun to read. Also, how cool is it that my star sign is the same as the protagonist's!? Go cancer! Also, it is worth noting that while I LOVED the original cover, I think the new cover is awesome! I would have loved a copy of the book with the old cover as well as the new cover... but ARCs (and finished copies) have the new cover. Right? Any ARCs with the old cover? Someone let me know. Ha. Rho is an interesting character. She isn't perfect, and I didn't always agree with her decisions. She doesn't expect to be a Guardian, so I totally feel for her. She is an excellent student (something I'd like to think I relate to), an apt observer, and a clever mind. She doesn't let others' disbelief in her stop her. Her own planet didn't believe her when she started to talk about the potential of Ophiuchus being real. Rho also doesn't let a tricky and confusing romance shake her. She is determined to visit the Houses and warn them about the impending doom that is Ophiuchus, but no one will listen to her - save a Libran ambassador, Hysan. Not even Mathias, the Lodestar she appointed to protect and serve her, believes her claims.  As you can probably guess, there IS a love triangle in this book. Not sure how it will go in the series (for obvious, spoilery reasons), but in this book, there is a love triangle. Russell does a really great (and cruel) job of making readers love one boy in the first part of the book, and then love the other boy in the second part of the book. So, basically, I actually really like both guys, and I'd hate to see one of them get hurt. Hysan is charming and flirtatious and a secret genius. Mathias is protective and skeptical and quiet. Both are different, but I really like them both, as characters AND as love interests. The plot of this book follows Rho's journey to each House (which are planets) to warn them about Ophiuchus. None of the Houses really believe her, and with each House visited and warned, Rho's reputation both grows and splinters. I love seeing her tested, House after House. I feel like Rho definitely wises up from beginning to end.  The ending is... interesting. Nothing is really resolved, which is sort of how a first novel in a series functions. So much is occurring within Houses, in Rho's Guardian life, with Ophiuchus roaming about, in Rho's romantic life. Rho is definitely confused, and isn't about to make a decision in terms of a relationship anytime soon. Which is smart. Overall, I'm pleased with this book! I've been begging and pleading for it, and then it dropped into my lap - which is cool with me! Thank you, Razorbill! Now, the wait for book two... What I Did Not Like: The love triangle is the only reason why this one isn't getting five stars. Seriously, I enjoyed the book that much. I'm not sure how the romance will go in the remaining books in the series, but in this book, the love triangle is clear. Rho is torn between both guys - but the thing is, I can totally see how she is. The situation makes sense, ish. I still don't like the presence of the triangle (it's not necessary, honestly), but I get it. Kinda. Would I Recommend It: If you love science fiction, then DEFINITELY check out this book! There aren't nearly enough awesome space-related science fiction novels in YA literature these days... Beth Revis's Across the Universe series, Amie Kaufman/Meagan Spooner's Starbound series, and Imogen Howson's Linked series are three other really great example of space-related science novels!  So, if you liked any of those books, definitely check out this one! And even if you haven't read any of them, pick this one up anyway. Rating: 4 stars. What a wonderful debut! I'm so glad that my instinct was correct with this one, and that the story did not disappoint. That would have been heartbreaking! What's really heartbreaking is waiting for the next book...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I learned about astrology and I was intrigued by the title of this book: "Zodiac". After reading the first chapter, I thought it would be a fun story. It took a little while to get into the story, and after that I read it through in a day. I think there is some inspirational behaviors/actions (courage, be true to who you are, etc) that are in this book. A good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. I gets and keeps you hooked. I could barley put it down! Get it NOW
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fu<_>ck I love this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only is the plot good, but so is the writing!
BookFanatic132 More than 1 year ago
Rhoma&mdash;or Rho, as her friends call her&mdash;is a teenage girl learning about her world and living her life when all of a sudden, an attack she had foreseen happens. She hadn&rsquo;t told anyone about what she saw because she didn&rsquo;t think it was real, but when the attack happens, she begins to trust herself. I do say begins, however, because throughout this book she doubts what she sees just as much as everyone else does. Rho has a gift&mdash;she can see dark matter in the Ephemeris, which many others can&rsquo;t. When she is forced to become the Guardian of the House of Cancer, she is thrown into a battle from which she will emerge changed forever. Throughout this whole story, one thing happens right after another, which means that poor Rho doesn&rsquo;t ever have time to breathe and assimilate all of the things that have happened to her. From the attack to the danger of Ochus attacking other Houses, she is constantly on the move, trying to protect other Houses from Cancer&rsquo;s fate. Unfortunately, Rho&rsquo;s age and lack of experience make her a target for a whole lot of skepticism, which means that many people don&rsquo;t trust the warnings she gives them&mdash;especially because everyone thinks Ochus isn&rsquo;t real. Because of this, very little of the other Guardians believe her&mdash;and no one supports her&mdash;not even Mathias, a person that is very close to Rho. Throughout this novel you never know who you can trust, and you find yourself constantly doubting the predictions you made for the novel. Rho was a character I could very easily relate to&mdash;especially because as a young adult, I am confronted by many others who think my lack of experience and my age mean that I can&rsquo;t ever know truly what I&rsquo;m talking about. Her drive to help other people as well as her perseverance in the face of adversity makes her a truly worthy person to be the &ldquo;Holy Mother,&rdquo; as Cancerians call their Guardian. While Rho made decisions that I maybe would not have done, she is definitely someone that I would have the pleasure of knowing and looking up to. Mathias is a very interesting character. Though all I truly know about him is through Rho&rsquo;s perception of him, I feel like honestly we, as readers, didn&rsquo;t get much insight into him. Mathias, for the most part, was quiet and moody&mdash;and many of Rho&rsquo;s training sessions were slightly glossed over. I don&rsquo;t think I really got to bond with Mathias because of everything else that was going on, which saddens me. This book seems to have that fatal error of the secondary characters being back-up and the readers not actually being able to form a connection with them. The only secondary character that I felt like we got to know a little better is Hysan. Hysan is an &ldquo;ambassador&rdquo; for the House of Libra, and he is one of the few secondary characters I found myself actually caring about. Unfortunately for the author, the secondary characters tend to fall a little flat&mdash;being only two-dimensional. While that isn&rsquo;t always a bad thing&mdash;especially with so many secondary characters being present&mdash;I do wish we could have gotten a better look at Mathias, Hysan, and Nishi. However, what this book lacks in secondary-character depth, it makes up for in action. Event after event happened and this book was very much fast-paced. At times it felt like Rho didn&rsquo;t even have time to breathe, because she was always traveling and getting attacked. The few times this book slowed down was when Rho was forming connections with other characters, but even these were sometime glossed over in exchange for the action. This book is definitely one of those that you have to take a small break every once in a while because of all the action and suspense (you&rsquo;ll feel as exhausted as poor Rho!), but you&rsquo;ll be opening the book soon after to find out what happens. I definitely recommend this book for those looking for a protagonist that is coming of age while she&rsquo;s trying to save the world, as well as a book that has fantasy, a lot of action, and a little bit of forbidden romance to spice things up. This is the first of an unfinished series, however, so read with the warning that you&rsquo;re going to have to wait for the rest of the series to be written!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KaleyH More than 1 year ago
I actually really liked this book. It had a great amount of science fiction, mystery and romance. I have already ordered the next book, I can't wait to see what happens next.
KaleyH More than 1 year ago
I actually really liked this book. It had a great amount of science fiction, mystery and romance. I have already ordered the next book, I can't wait to see what happens next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe more like a 1.5. This book had a lot of potential; the plot seemed like it was going to be really interesting, but it just never really got into it enough for me. The book was more focused on a love triangle between the main character, Rho, and two boys who are complete opposites. Mathias, the 22 year old crushing on an immature 16 year old girl, has no respect for Rho and blatantly disrespects her at every opportunity. Hysan, the 17 year old, gives in to Rho's every whim and serves only her. The love triangle and character personalities aren't formed so well, and it pained me every time the book started referring to the love triangle AGAIN. I didn't really learn much about the Zodiac; it seemed like things were thrown in suddenly, without explanation, as if the author had forgotten to mention it until that moment. The book was so focused on the love triangle that not much actually took place in the plot of the book. Scenes were things were being described, like action scenes or locations, were incredibly hard to follow. I just couldn't picture anything that was being described. I really enjoyed the idea of the book, but it was executed very poorly. I'm only giving it two stars because I have a little bit of hope for the future books, but I'm not sure if I'm actually going to read them. When I start a series, I feel obligated to finish, but I had to set this book down for days at a time because I just became so frustrated with the characters, and I currently feel no desire to continue reading about Rho and her adventures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Romina Russell has created such relatable characters. They are frustratingly human, and that's why I love them. Her plot is interesting. I've never wanted to read about space, but she lured me in. She also wrote the book in spanish, which has helped me so much in trying to learn the language. She's awesome, she's not afraid to broach controversial topics in her writing, and I love what she has done with this series.
YAandWine More than 1 year ago
I am so enthralled by the world that Romina Russell has created in Zodiac. She has beautifully combined science fiction and astrology to craft a setting that is every bit as breathtaking as this gorgeous book cover. The characters are divided into separate houses based on the zodiac signs, and the common attributes of those signs manifest themselves in the characters' traits and strengths, which is such a fun and original approach to character development. The plot is incredibly fast paced and high-stakes right from the very beginning. When tragedy forces Rhoma into an unpredicted position of power, readers get to see behind the scenes of the political machinations taking place in this world, which is very intriguing and helps balance out some of the intense action scenes that occur throughout the story. Yes. There is a love triangle in this story. I personally am not a hater of love triangles in novels as long as they make sense and work well within the story, and I do feel that that was the case in Zodiac. There is some sizzling romantic tension between Rhoma and both Hysan and Mathias. I found the dynamic between the three of them scintillating and so much fun to read. I also love me a good villain, and Zodiac has an excellent villain. Russel does a good job of showing his treachery while hinting at the motivations behind his actions. Overall, I really enjoyed this story. I found it entertaining and imaginative and really enjoyed the dazzling setting it took place in. I'm so looking forward to the next book in our readathon, Wandering Star, and hope you'll join us!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a little un sure if i would enjoy a sci fi book but i must say.. excellent!! Rho makes a great heroine in this series and yes there is a love triangle but i dont feel that its over consuming in the series! Cant wait to see what happens next!
Dova More than 1 year ago
Well... The plot is great. The world is beautiful and immersive. I loved the main character, too. And then they threw in the love story. Now, I loved how it changed to the second guy. They were perfect. But, later, it switched and it went to crap. Overall, I think it's a great story, but the ending through me for a loop (not in the best way).
18876111 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. When I was reading it, I kept thinking to myself "I can't wait to read the second book." I thought that Rho was such a strong female lead character and that made me love the book even more. I also loved how the book is set in space and the constellations, it made Zodiac more interesting. There is a love triangle, but it added to the plot and made an interesting conflict for Rho. And I definitely ship Rho and Mathias. I was able to put myself into the world of this book and that is something that very few books have the ability to do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
E_Ting_Groceries More than 1 year ago
In a post-apocalyptic world where people have moved from our world to a different galaxy, one where they are all divided into the different zodiac signs, Rho, an academy student from House Cancer, sees the stars differently. While other kids are solving for x, Rho makes intuitive leaps. So when a mysterious force destroys one of Cancer’s moons, changing the tides of Cancer’s vast ocean, killing thousands of people and their Guardian, Rho’s the last person anyone thinks will be chosen by the stars to be the next Guardian. When other Houses fall victim to weather disasters, Rho suspects a link. All signs point to Ochus, the Guardian of the exiled 13th House from legend. Rho, Mathias, a Cancerian guard, and Hysan Dax, a young envoy from House Libra, travel across the galaxy to warn the other Houses, but who would listen to the 16-year-old newly appointed Guardian? Zodiac is a thrilling novel that’s full of action and adventure. Zodiac is creative and different, but would still put Romina Russell up with other popular names in YA literature. The people of the zodiac are all human, each having their faults, but they are still out there like the galaxy they live in. The characters are relatable but still have that refreshing air of unfamiliarity. Zodiac is its own world with its own advanced myth. Each House has its own customs and lifestyles. The people of Aries commit to the army at 17, the people of Libra seek justice, and Capricorn’s love their pets. Zodiac is an excellent book, full of life, romance, loss, and possibility. This book has one of the most advanced plotlines and world planned out. Once you start reading this book, you won’t be able to stop. It will have you waiting to get your hand on the next book in this mind blowing series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It started off alittle slow but got really good, definetely reccomend it to anyone who is a scifi fan
TAWNEYBLAND1 More than 1 year ago
I&rsquo;m a SYFY geek and when I heard about Zodiac I was intrigued, especially by the gorgeous cover that seemed to glow! Zodiac was a fast pace galactic ride that was such a unique read it wasn&rsquo;t hard to fall in love with the whole world, er galaxy. Zodiac delivers a great read with intense action, loss, romance and mystery. Our heroine, Rhoma Grace is strong, caring and she&rsquo;s going to need that to not only fight for her world Cancer, but the other 11 Houses of Zodiac. Rhoma,or known as Rho, is from the House of Cancer, a world 99 percent water. On one of Cancer&rsquo;s moons, while Rho and her band play, a flash of light interrupts the concert destroying the nearest moon, Thebe, and killing all those in close proximity. It also causes major problems for the planet Cancer as tsunamis destroy many cities. Rho and her band escape the tragedy but she doesn&rsquo;t have time to mourn when she is nominated as House Guardian of Cancer. Rho also has a gift, she can read the constellation of the stars and while doing so, she sees a dark matter moving from House to House, destroying each planet. The Dark Matter is Ochus from the lost 13th House. Even when she agrees to be guardian, no one believes her when she tries to warn each House about Ochus. As each House falls, Rho tries to save not only her people, but her galaxy. Rhoma was a wonderfully developed character. She was so young to be given the job as Guardian but took it to save her people. Even though those in her House think she&rsquo;s a naive little girl, Rho takes it with pride and will do anything to save her House. She&rsquo;s head strong, courageous and never backs down, even when no one believes her about Ochus. She faces all her turmoil and stress just as any teen would, questioning herself or those around her. The secondary characters bring support and intrigue to Rho&rsquo;s journey. Two hot guys are her love interest, the Cancerian Mathias and the Libra Hysan. Mathias is assigned to guard Rho on her travels. He takes his job seriously and questions Rho on everything. He&rsquo;s a little bit stoic in his opinions and keeps his emotions checked. Hysan was a fun loving Libra, who I liked a lot because he wasn&rsquo;t as serious. He had a witty personality and kept everything light. I hate love triangles but this one was light hearted and romantic. So it didn&rsquo;t bother me as much. The words flowed and the description were breathtaking. I really felt like I was in space with Rho going to each planet to warn the Zodia. Even though sometimes I got lost in the verbiage, Romina did an excellent job in explaining what was going on. Let&rsquo;s get to the galaxy that Romina created! She just didn&rsquo;t world build, she galaxy build. Is that even a word? In the future, there are 12 planets, each the sign of the zodiac. Each House as unique gifts like Scoprio, my sign, is Innovation, or House Cancer is Nurture. The people of the houses have their own characteristics as well. Cancer people are all curly haired with blue eyed who have a nurturing disposition. I love Astrology so reading this book brought a whole new insight to that meaning. Romina has created words such as Emphemeris, Acolyte, Zodai&hellip;.to go along with her SYFY epic. I did have to go back a couple of times in the book to understand the terms&hellip;but it didn&rsquo;t stop me from reading this epic story. I love space. I have always been a Star Wars, Star Trek, Firefly, BattleStar Galactica, Farscape, girl. So this books touched my heart. I love the book Dune and Zodiac has a reminiscence of all my favorite shows and that book. Should you read it? Yes, Romina did a wonderful job at creating the galaxy of the Zodai and the ending left me reeling! Fast pace, action packed book that you can't put down. I can't wait for the second book.
meme7678 More than 1 year ago
great