13 Degrees of Reality

13 Degrees of Reality

by The Heliocentrics


$14.90 $18.99 Save 22% Current price is $14.9, Original price is $18.99. You Save 22%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


In the intervening six years between Out There, the Heliocentrics' debut, and 13 Degrees of Reality, the U.K.-based ensemble backed Ethiopian jazz legend Mulatu Astatke on his Steps Ahead and live Timeless offerings. They also released a collaborative album with world-jazz pioneer Lloyd Miller. Whereas their debut set offered funk and hip-hop grooves refracted through the lens of vanguard jazz, this date is an exercise in dark rhythmic pulses and breaks, with jazz, rock, a wide array of world musics, hip-hop, and funk all playing supporting roles; it's led by the rhythm section -- drummer Malcolm Catto and bassist/vibist Jake Ferguson. Other members include Jack Yglesias on kalimba, flutes, and homemade instruments, guitar/santur/koto player Ade Owusu, pianist Ollie Parfitt, and Tom Hodges on electronics, as well as various guests on reeds, winds, and strings. From the opening intro "Feedback," there is barely ground to hold onto. While there's a pronounced rhythmic strategy, it's challenged by squawking reeds, rumbling winds, samples, distorted guitars, disembodied voices and more. "Ethnicity" is a brief exercise in what sounds like a loose-tuned bass vamp extended by reverbed electric kalimba and Catto's furious funky breaks. Things get murky and shadowy until "Collateral Damage"'s eerie modal strings and rumbling upright bassline come to the fore though some nocturnal funky breaks. Guitar, oud, and hand percussion add layers on the margins. It's only when Yglesias' flute enters that a loopy melody is established. The second half of the album is more consciously cohesive. Still, for all its abstract weirdness, that incessant rhythmic underpinning keeps things choogling in a hell of a first half. There are some more formally structured cuts woven from overall darkness. "Wrecking Ball" spends the first half of its seven minutes wrapped in bubbling drum and droning bassline funk before guest Mike Burnham's ring-modulated guitar starts squalling through the mix and keyboards flutter and wow in and out of the frame. The groove is palpable, deadly. "Mr. Owusu, I Presume" is a showcase for the guitarist, but though his wild psychedelic blues are prevalent, Catto's skittering cymbals and snare and the whomping bassline all but envelope him. "Calabash" has a dubby backdrop, detuned oud, and saxophone. It is like a cue for a North African spaghetti Western soundtrack. In all, 13 Degrees of Reality is the more adventurous Heliocentrics album. Its expansive musical directions and dark, ambitious textural strategies offer a provocative encounter. Though it may puzzle initially, its substance is such that it creates a mysterious and compelling listening experience that assures one that more will be revealed.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/30/2013
Label: Now Again
UPC: 0659457509729
catalogNumber: 5097
Rank: 66775

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Heliocentrics   Primary Artist
Tom Hodges   Group Member
Ollie Parfitt   Piano,Keyboards,Group Member
Malcolm Catto   Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Marimbula,Group Member
Jack Yglesias   Flute,Percussion,Kalimba,Homemade Instruments,Group Member
Shabaka Hutchings   Bass Clarinet
Jake Ferguson   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Vibes,Group Member
Danny Keane   Cello
Ade Owusu   Guitar,Koto,Group Member

Technical Credits

Ollie Parfitt   Electronic Effects
Eothen Alapatt   Executive Producer
Malcolm Catto   Producer,Engineer
Jack Yglesias   String Arrangements
Heliocentrics   Arranger
Jake Ferguson   Producer,Engineer
Errol F. Richardson   Art Direction
Ade Owusu   Feedback
Mike Burnham   Engineer,Additional Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews