by Flatt & ScruggsFlatt & Scruggs

CD(Box Set)

$99.77 $99.99 Save 0% Current price is $99.77, Original price is $99.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The first of four box sets documenting the complete recordings of Flatt & Scruggs as a working band, this one detailing the group's first 11 years is generally considered the most essential. These 113 tracks represent the duo's complete Mercury recordings on disc one and the beginning of their Columbia sides on discs two through four. There is one completely unissued cut, and the entire package has been remastered and contains copious liner notes. Contained here are the 1949 recordings of their classic "Foggy Mountain Breakdown" and 1950's "Rollin' in My Sweet Baby's Arms," and also mid-'50s stompers such as "Dim Lights, Thick Smoke," "Flint Hill Special," and "You're Not a Drop in the Bucket"; gospel tunes such as "Give My Mother My Crown," "A Million Years in Glory," "Jesus Savior Pilot Me"; and hot singles such as "Cabin on the Hill," "Foggy Mountain Rock," and "Crying My Heart Out Over You." Beginning with the Bill Monroe band where Flatt's voice first countered Monroe's high lonesome, Flatt & Scruggs made that low, clear bell of a sound into a trademark -- as they did with Scruggs' unique banjo styles. While the music on later collections is fine and rousing, this is truly exciting with all the hope and trepidation of discovery and walking the high wire in search of something original. These four CDs are essential for every serious fan of bluegrass music.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127154729
catalogNumber: 15472
Rank: 76247


Disc 1

  1. God Loves His Children
  2. I'm Going to Make Heaven My Home
  3. We'll Meet Again Sweetheart
  4. My Cabin in Caroline
  5. Baby Blue Eyes
  6. Bouquet in Heaven
  7. Down the Road
  8. Why Don't You Tell Me So
  9. I'll Never Shed Another Tear
  10. No Mother or Dad
  11. Is It Too Late Now!
  12. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  13. I'll Be Going to Heaven Sometime
  14. So Happy I'll Be
  15. My Little Girl in Tennessee
  16. I'll Never Love Another
  17. Doin' My Time
  18. Pike County Breakdown
  19. Cora Is Gone
  20. Preachin', Prayin', Singin'
  21. Pain in My Heart
  22. Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  23. Back to the Cross
  24. Farewell Blues
  25. Old Salty Dog Blues
  26. Take Me in a Lifeboat
  27. Will the Roses Bloom ( Where She Lies Sleeping)
  28. I'll Just Pretend

Disc 2

  1. Come Back Darling
  2. I'm Head Over Heels in Love
  3. I'm Waiting to Hear You Call Me Darling
  4. The Old Home Town
  5. I'll Stay Around
  6. We Can't Be Darlings Anymore
  7. Jimmie Brown, The Newsboy
  8. Somehow Tonight
  9. Don't Get Above Your Raising
  10. I'm Working on a Road
  11. He Took Your Place
  12. I've Lost You
  13. 'Tis Sweet to Be Remembered
  14. I'm Gonna Settle Down
  15. Earl's Breakdown
  16. I'm Lonesome and Blue
  17. Over the Hills to the Poorhouse
  18. My Darling's Last Goodbye
  19. Get in Line Brother
  20. Brother, I'm Getting Ready to Go
  21. Why Did You Wander?
  22. Flint Hill Special
  23. Thinking About You
  24. If I Should Wander Back Tonight
  25. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke
  26. Dear Old Dixie

Disc 3

  1. Reunion in Heaven
  2. Pray for the Boys
  3. I'll Go Stepping Too
  4. I'd Rather Be Alone
  5. Foggy Mountain Chimes
  6. Someone Took My Place With You
  7. Mother Prays Loud in Her Sleep
  8. That Old Book of Mine
  9. Your Love Is Like a Flower
  10. Be Ready for Tomorrow May Never Come
  11. Till the End of the World Rolls Around
  12. You're Not a Drop in the Bucket
  13. Don't This Road Look Rough and Rocky
  14. Foggy Mountain Special
  15. You Can Feel It in Your Soul
  16. Old Fashioned Preacher
  17. Before I Met You
  18. I'm Gonna Sleep With One Eye Open
  19. Randy Lynn Rag
  20. On My Mind
  21. Blue Ridge Cabin Home
  22. Some Old Day
  23. It Won't Be Long
  24. No Mother in This World
  25. Gone Home
  26. Bubbling in My Soul
  27. Joy Bells
  28. What's Good for You

Disc 4

  1. No Doubt About It
  2. Who Will Sing for Me
  3. Give Mother My Crown
  4. Six White Horses
  5. Shuckin' the Corn
  6. I'll Take the Blame
  7. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  8. A Hundred Years from Now
  9. Give Me Flowers While I'm Living
  10. Is There Room for Me
  11. I'll Take the Blame
  12. Let Those Brown Eyes Smile at Me
  13. I'll Never Shed Another Tear
  14. I Won't Be Hanging Around
  15. I Don't Care Any More
  16. Big Black Train
  17. Mama's and Daddy's Little Girl
  18. Crying Alone
  19. A Million Years in Glory
  20. Heaven
  21. Building on Sand
  22. Jesus Savior Pilot Me
  23. Crying My Heart Out Over You
  24. Ground Speed
  25. Who Knows Right from Wrong
  26. Iron Curtain
  27. Cabin on the Hill
  28. Someone You Have Forgotten
  29. Foggy Mountain Rock
  30. You Put Me on My Feet

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Flatt & Scruggs   Primary Artist
Lester Flatt   Guitar,Leader,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Earl Scruggs   Banjo,Guitar,Vocals,Baritone (Vocal)
Mac Wiseman   Guitar,Tenor (Vocal)
Chet Atkins   Rhythm Guitar
Benny Martin   Fiddle,Bass (Vocal)
Paul Warren   Fiddle,Bass (Vocal)
Onie Wheeler   String Bass
Harold Bradley   Rhythm Guitar
Ray Edenton   Rhythm Guitar
Buck Graves   Dobro
Eddie Hill   Rhythm Guitar
Everett Lilly   Fiddle,Mandolin,Tenor (Vocal)
Ernest Ernie Newton   String Bass
Curly Seckler   Mandolin,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Howard Watts   Bass (Vocal),Baritone (Vocal),String Bass
Robert Chubby Wise   Fiddle
Joe Zinkan   String Bass
Culley Holt   Bass (Vocal)
Bob Moore   String Bass
Jack Shook   Rhythm Guitar
Art Wooten   Fiddle
Howdy Forrester   Fiddle
Louis Innis   Rhythm Guitar
English P. Jr. "Jake" Tullock   Guitar,Baritone (Vocal),String Bass
Jody Rainwater   Mandolin,Bass (Vocal),String Bass
Jim Shumate   Fiddle
Ike Inman   String Bass

Technical Credits

Lester Flatt   Composer
Bill Monroe   Composer
Earl Scruggs   Composer
Mac Wiseman   Composer
Joe Maphis   Composer
Jimmie Rodgers   Composer
Peter Wolf   Composer
Onie Wheeler   Composer
Tompall Glaser   Composer
Noel Boggs   Composer
Bill Carlisle   Composer
Clyde Moody   Composer
Jim Eanes   Composer
Charlie Monroe   Composer
Jimmie Skinner   Composer
C.J. Johnson   Composer
Carl Butler   Composer
Gordon Brown   Composer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Buck Graves   Composer
Harlan Howard   Composer
Seth Justman   Composer
Don Law   Producer
Tom Lee   Composer
Everett Lilly   Composer
Paul Mares   Composer
Murray Nash   Composer
Bobby Osborne   Composer
Leon Roppolo   Composer
Larry Richardson   Composer
Elmer Schoebel   Composer
Curly Seckler   Composer,Contributor
Wayne Walker   Composer
Howard Watts   Composer
Mark Wilder   Disc Dub,Track Mix
Walter Bailes   Composer
Alan Blaikley   Composer
Tommy Lee James   Composer
Troy Martin   Producer
Wiley Morris   Composer
Zeke Morris   Composer
Neil V. Rosenberg   Liner Notes
Hoffmann Nienburg   Artwork
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Illustrations
Tom James   Composer
Jessie Mae Martin   Composer
Red Rowe   Composer
George Sherry   Composer
Bolivar Lee Shook   Composer
Frank Southern   Composer
Gladys Stacey   Composer
Newton Thomas   Composer
Louise Certain   Composer
Max Fidler   Composer
J. West   Composer
R. Lee   Composer
T.D. James   Composer
Ricky Crabtree   Composer
Traditional   Composer
C. Lewis   Composer
Odell McLeod   Composer
Jerry Organ   Composer
Ralph Jones   Composer
Johnny Anderson   Composer
E.C. McCarty   Composer
Charles L. Seitz   Composer
Ken Howard   Composer

Customer Reviews