by Osborne BrothersOsborne Brothers

CD(Box Set)

$124.70 $124.99 Save 0% Current price is $124.7, Original price is $124.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Bluegrass 1956-68 is a multi-disc box set that contains everything the Osborne Brothers recorded between those years. During that time they recorded for two major labels, MGM and Decca Records. All the songs the duo released on those two labels, plus alternate takes and unreleased tracks, are included on the box. With all of that material, the set is simply too large for anyone but historians and completists to enjoy. Nevertheless, there's lots of wonderful music on the collection and anyone with the patience (and the funds) to invest in the box will not be disappointed.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/02/1995
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127155986
catalogNumber: 15598
Rank: 75207


Disc 1

  1. Who Done It?
  2. Ruby (Are You Mad)
  3. My Aching Heart
  4. Teardrops in My Eyes
  5. Wild Mountain Honey
  6. Down in the Willow Garden
  7. Ho, Honey, Ho
  8. Della Mae
  9. She's No Angel
  10. Is This My Destiny?
  11. Once More
  12. Two Lonely Hearts
  13. Lost Highway
  14. Love Pains
  15. It Hurts to Know
  16. If You Don't, Somebody Else Will
  17. Give This Message to Your Heart
  18. You'll Never Know (How Much It Hurts)
  19. I Love You Only
  20. It's Just the Idea
  21. Lonely, Lonely Me
  22. Sweethearts Again
  23. Blame Me
  24. There's a Woman Behind Every Man
  25. Fair and Tender Ladies
  26. Each Season Changes You
  27. The Black Sheep Returned to the Fold
  28. At the First Fall of Snow
  29. Old Hickory
  30. Old Joe Clark

Disc 2

  1. Big Ben
  2. Billy in the Low Ground
  3. John Henry Blues
  4. Banjo Boy Chimes
  5. Walking Cane
  6. Red Wing
  7. Seeing Nellie Home
  8. Jesse James
  9. Cumberland Gap
  10. Lost Indian
  11. Poor Old Cora
  12. Five Days of Heaven
  13. Ain't Gonna Rain No Mo'
  14. The Banjo Boys
  15. Send Me the Pillow That You Dream On
  16. Worried Man Blues
  17. May You Never Be Alone
  18. New Partner Waltz
  19. How's the World Treating You
  20. Night Train to Memphis
  21. Mule Skinner Blues
  22. White Lightnin'
  23. Bluegrass Music's Really Gone to Town
  24. Lovey Told Me Goodbye
  25. Ballad of Jed Clampett
  26. Memories Never Die
  27. Mule Train
  28. Ruby (Are You Mad)
  29. Sourwood Mountain
  30. Sweet Thing

Disc 3

  1. Take This Hammer
  2. Don't Even Look at Me
  3. The Cuckoo
  4. Bluegrass Express
  5. Me and My Old Banjo
  6. Pathway of Teardrops
  7. Gotta Travel On
  8. Salty Dog Blues
  9. Kentucky
  10. Bugle on the Banjo (Bugle Call Rag)
  11. Cotton Fields
  12. Faded Love
  13. This Heart of Mine (Can Never Say Goodbye)
  14. Charlie Cotton
  15. I'll Be Alright Tomorrow
  16. Cut the Cornbread
  17. Hey, Hey Bartender
  18. Lonesome Day
  19. Big Spike Hammer
  20. Memories
  21. I Know What It Means to Be Lonesome
  22. Up This Hill and Down
  23. In the Pines
  24. One Tear
  25. Making Plans
  26. Yesterday's Gone
  27. Footprints in the Snow
  28. Sure-Fire

Disc 4

  1. Lonesome Feeling
  2. World of Unwanted
  3. Hard Times
  4. I'm Leavin'
  5. The Kind of Woman I Got
  6. One Kiss Away from Loneliness
  7. Let's Say Goodbye Like We Said Hello
  8. Someone Before Me
  9. Walking the Floor over You
  10. Roll Muddy River
  11. My Favorite Memory
  12. Gal, You Got a Job to Do
  13. Ruby (Are You Mad)
  14. My Favorite Memory
  15. Rocky Top
  16. When You Wind Down
  17. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  18. Foggy Mountain Breakdown (Reprise)
  19. The Sisters (Billie Jean and Bonnie)
  20. A-Model
  21. Lonesome Road Blues
  22. Jesse James
  23. Maiden's Prayer
  24. John Hardy
  25. Little Willie
  26. Hand Me Down My Walking Cane

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Osborne Brothers   Primary Artist
Hank Garland   Electric Guitar
Benny Martin   Fiddle
Buddy Spicher   Fiddle
Pete Drake   Steel Guitar
Grady Martin   Bass,Dobro,Guitar,Leader,12-string Guitar
Gordon Terry   Fiddle
Red Allen   Guitar,Vocals
Felice Bryant   Vocals
Boudleaux Bryant   Whip
Lightnin' Chance   Bass,Electric Bass,Leader
Ray Edenton   Guitar,Leader
Roy M. "Junior" Husky   Bass,Electric Bass
Ira Louvin   Vocals
Wayne Moss   Guitar,12-string Guitar
Ernest Ernie Newton   Bass
Bobby Osborne   Banjo,Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals
Sonny Osborne   Banjo,Dobro,Vocals
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Piano
Art Stamper   Fiddle
Jerry Whitehurst   Piano
Herman Wade   Dobro
Lawrence Blackwell   Electric Bass
Jerry Byrd   Bass
Marilyn Harman   Drums
Morris Palmer   Drums
Benny Birchfield   Banjo,Guitar,Vocals
Harley Gabbard   Vocals
Thomas Lee Jackson   Fiddle
William Paul Ackerman   Drums
Alex Garland   Electric Guitar
Jimmy Crawford   Dobro

Technical Credits

Colin Escott   Illustrations
Bobby Osborne   Arranger
Sonny Osborne   Arranger
Benny Birchfield   Arranger
Wiley Morris   Composer
Zeke Morris   Composer
Michael Ochs   Illustrations
Neil V. Rosenberg   Liner Notes
Eddie Eddings   Tape Research
Leverett   Illustrations
Bruce Hailstalk   Tape Research
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Producer,Tape Research
Sylke Holtrop   Artwork
Gerd Weiler   Artwork
Ruth Talley   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Randy Aronson   Tape Research
Matt Tunia   Tape Research
Albert Goree   Composer

Customer Reviews