÷ (Divide)

÷ (Divide)

by Ed Sheeran

CD(Special Edition)

$19.00 $21.99 Save 14% Current price is $19, Original price is $21.99. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


Ed Sheeran turned into a global superstar after the release of 2014's x and while fame did his head in a bit -- he took a year off of social media, a hiatus that happened to coincide with the time he worked on his third album -- it's also true that fame suits him. That much is clear from Divide, the album he released to eager anticipation in March 2017. Compared to its two predecessors, Divide -- which, like its predecessors, has its title rendered as a mathematical symbol -- is colorful and lithe, casually hopscotching from style to style without ever drawing attention to its range. Sheeran long ago perfected his rapping busker schtick, which frees him to fulfill his destiny as an adult alternative troubadour. Such sentimental smashes as "Thinking Out Loud" paved the way for Sheeran to plump up Divide with love songs and unveiled confessions, which, in turn, lets him play around with different styles throughout the album. "Dive" finds Sheeran easing into old-fashioned Memphis soul, a supple groove countered by his decision to go full Celtic on "Galway Girl" and, on the deluxe edition, he celebrates Spain on "Barcelona" and dabbles in Graceland-styled Afro-beat on "Bibia Be Ye Ye." Ultimately, these splashy sounds are merely accouterments on an album that leans heavily on Sheeran's sentimentality yet this flair gives Divide welcome color, helping to put his standard tricks in sharp relief. Sheeran can still be clumsily literal -- the worst arrives earliest, when he sniffs "friends and family filled with envy when they should be filled with pride" on "Eraser" -- but such stumbles are balanced by flashes of cutting wit, such as the dissection of the "New Man" of his old lover. Despite this wordplay, the chief appeal of Divide is Sheeran's musicality, particularly his facility in turning his folk-rap into adult pop. Throughout the record, Sheeran seems assured in his smooth schtick, and that cheesy confidence, combined with the hints of new style, help make Divide his easiest album to enjoy. [A Deluxe Version added four bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/03/2017
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0190295859022
catalogNumber: 559578
Rank: 15550

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ed Sheeran   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Mandolin,Percussion,Cello,Drums,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Beat Box
Laurie Anderson   Viola
Wayne Hernandez   Background Vocals
Liam Bradley   Percussion,Piano,Background Vocals
Nick Cooper   Cello
Jay Lewis   Drums
Pino Palladino   Bass
Fenella Barton   Violin
Patrick Kiernan   Violin
Mike Elizondo   Piano,Keyboards,Synthesizer Bass
Brian Finnegan   tin whistle
Steve Mac   Keyboards
Benny Blanco   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Anita Vedres   Violin
Jeremy Morris   Violin
Deborah Widdup   Violin
Aura Stone   Double Bass
John Mayer   Electric Guitar
Thomas Bartlett   Piano,Keyboards
Chris Laws   Drums
James Dickenson   Violin
Leo Abrahams   Guitar
Magnus Johnston   Violin
Amy Wadge   Background Vocals
Ian Hendrickson-Smith   Saxophone
Ben Russell   Double Bass
Ryan Tedder   Piano
Nick Cartledge   Flute,Piccolo
Karl Brazil   Drums
Rachel Roberts   Viola
Foy Vance   Background Vocals
Phillip Peterson   Strings
John Tilley   Piano,Hammond Organ
Matthew Denton   Violin
Peter Gregson   Cello,Conductor
Laurence Love Greed   Piano
Katherine Jenkinson   Cello
Leon Enrique Bosch   Double Bass
Mia Cooper   Leader
Alison Dods   Violin
Johnny McDaid   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Joe McCann   Background Vocals
Eamon Murray   Percussion,Background Vocals,Bodhran
Labrinth   Piano
Niamh Dunne   Fiddle,Percussion,Background Vocals
Leo Taylor   Drums
Mikey Rowe   Keyboards
Travis Cole   Background Vocals
Jessie Ware   Background Vocals
Kotono Sato   Viola
Joe Rubel   Synthesizer,Guitar,Electric Guitar
Charys Green   Clarinet
Trevor Lawrence   Drums
Sean Graham   Percussion,Accordion,Background Vocals
Ammar Malik   Background Vocals
Kirsty Mangan   Violin
Nicole Fischer   Viola
Feilimidh Nunan   Violin
Chris Sclafani   Background Vocals
Geo Gabriel   Background Vocals
Mandhira De Saram   Violin
Damian McKee   Percussion,Accordion,Background Vocals
Francis Farewell Starlite   Background Vocals
Will Hicks   Percussion,Electric Guitar
Murray Cummings   Background Vocals
Nico Segal   Trumpet
L'Angelo Mysterioso   Guitar
Meghan Cassidy   Viola
Marije Johnston   Violin
Martyn Jackson   Violin
Tim Lowe   Cello
Oscar Golding   Bass
Archie Carter   Background Vocals
Jan Regulski   Violin
Simon Hewitt Jones   Violin
Billy Cummings   Background Vocals
Dierdre Reddy   Violin
Dj Final   scratching
Lisanne Melchoir   Viola

Technical Credits

Liam Bradley   Composer
Mike Elizondo   Producer,drum programming
Steve Mac   Composer,Producer
Benny Blanco   Programming,Producer,Executive Producer,Additional Production
Joseph Addison   Composer
Adam Hawkins   Engineer
Chris Laws   Engineer
Amy Wadge   Composer
Ryan Tedder   Composer
Johnny Costello   Art Direction
Foy Vance   Composer
Graham Archer   Engineer
Killbeatz   Producer
Johnny McDaid   Composer,Programming,Producer
Benjamin Levin   Composer
Eamon Murray   Composer
Labrinth   Producer
Niamh Dunne   Composer
Dann Pursey   Engineer
Julia Michaels   Composer
Timothy McKenzie   Composer
Jessie Ware   Composer
Joe Rubel   Engineer,drum programming
Ed Sheeran   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer,Cover Painting
David Rowan   Cover Art
Sean Graham   Composer
Ammar Malik   Composer
Chris Sclafani   Engineer
Damian McKee   Composer
Nana Richard Abiona   Composer
Will Hicks   Programming,Producer
Murray Cummings   Composer
Matthew Sheeran   String Arrangements
Stephen Woode   Composer
Kasiq Jungwoo   Illustrations
Charlotte Audery   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews