A Beautiful Story

A Beautiful Story

by AndrewAndrew


$14.81 $15.99 Save 7% Current price is $14.81, Original price is $15.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With a quaint voice, akin to Squeeze's Chris Difford and the Beautiful South's Paul Heaton, Andrew Sandoval's plaintive songs sweetly retell stories of the ups and downs of everyday life. The major problem with this album is the song structures, which for the main part are very average. Even though the accompaniment is supplied by some of the greatest names in the pop industry, including Jon Brion, Ric Menk, and Peter Holsapple, and arrangements from noted TV and film composer Roger Neill (Air/Mike Post), the standard nature of the songs cannot be hidden. There is no disputing that the lavish arrangements featuring everything from harpsichords to harmoniums, cellos to Chamberlins, to jangling guitars and psychedelic effects is most beautiful, but when put up against the modern pop charms of the Wondermints, it becomes apparent that Andrew lacks something. However exquisite the instrumentation may be, the majority of the songs just don't stick. That's not to say though that this Baroque/pop effort is without charm, and that fans of finely crafted pop in the Beach Boys and Zombies mold will be disappointed. It's just that it isn't anything more than pretty.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/21/2000
Label: Vibrophonic Records
UPC: 0663281200929
catalogNumber: 12009
Rank: 130783

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Andrew   Primary Artist
Danny Benair   Hand Clapping
Jon Brion   Harmonium,Piano (Grand)
Peter Holsapple   Organ
David Jenkins   Bass
Ric Menck   Percussion,Drums,Maracas,Tambourine,cowbell
Roger Neill   Conductor
Dave Pearlman   Steel Guitar
Andrew Sandoval   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Harpsichord,Hammond Organ,Vocals,12-string Guitar,Piano (Grand)
Kristian Hoffman   Harpsichord,Piano (Grand)
John Convertino   Drums
Matt Lederman   Electric Guitar
Steve Frothingham   Drums
Greg Collins   Bass
Jim Laspesa   Drums,Voices
Robbie Rist   Drums

Technical Credits

Tchad Blake   Engineer
Pete Magdaleno   Engineer
Roger Neill   Arranger
David Nolte   Engineer
John Paterno   Engineer
Dave Pearlman   Engineer
Andrew Sandoval   Composer,Producer
Kristian Hoffman   Cover Painting
Brian Kehew   Producer,Engineer
Lisa M. Sutton   Art Direction
Erik Gavriluk   Engineer

Customer Reviews