A Child Upon the Throne (The Knights of England Series, Book 4): A Medieval Romance

A Child Upon the Throne (The Knights of England Series, Book 4): A Medieval Romance

by Mary Ellen Johnson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.94 $6.99 Save 44% Current price is $3.94, Original price is $6.99. You Save 44%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


As a Kingdom Trembles With Revolt, a Knight and His Lady Must Choose Between Duty and Love in the Medieval Historical Romance, A Child Upon the Throne, by Mary Ellen Johnson

--Medieval England following the death of Edward III in 1377 through the Peasants’ Revolt of 1381--

With a child king upon the throne and England’s lucrative martial victories a faded memory, Knight Matthew Hart wants only to reunite with his long-time lover, Margery Watson, and their son, to live out his days far away from the royal court.

But Margery's loyalties are torn. To settle down with the knight she’s loved since childhood or commit treason and side with the commoners overburdened with servitude and taxes.

When revolt sparks among the masses, thousands march on London, vowing to overthrow all those in power.

Now Margery must choose between her place in society with a knight she loves and her true beliefs about freedom, justice and equality.

From the Publisher: Readers with a passion for history will appreciate the author's penchant for detail and accuracy. In keeping with being authentic to the era, this story contains scenes of brutality which are true to the time and man's inhumanity. There are a limited number of sexual scenes and NO use of modern vulgarity. Fans of Elizabeth Chadwick, Bernard Cornwell and Philippa Gregory as well as Tamara Leigh and Suzan Tisdale will not want to miss this series.

"Author Mary Ellen Johnson strides through history with the reader in the front seat." ~Karen Lausa

". . . it challenged my intellect as well as my heart." ~Margaret Watkins, eBook Discovery Reviewer

From the Author: When crafting a story, I am ever mindful of the parallels between the past and present. Endless wars, indifferent rulers, rising taxes, and corruption, all of which inevitably resulted in a bloody insurrection. An insurrection that, while unsuccessful in the short term, was even referenced by our Founding Fathers during their struggle for freedom. As William Faulkner said, “The past isn’t dead; it’s not even past,” so a knowledge of history is imperative.

THE KNIGHTS OF ENGLAND, in series order
The Lion and the Leopard
A Knight There Was
Within A Forest Dark
A Child Upon The Throne
Lords Among the Ruins

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781947833340
Publisher: ePublishing Works!
Publication date: 05/15/2018
Series: The Knights of England Series , #4
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 274
Sales rank: 604,354
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Mary Ellen Johnson’s writing career was sparked by her passion for Medieval England. Her first medieval historical, The Lion and the Leopard, was followed by The Landlord’s Black-Eyed Daughter, a historical novel based on the Alfred Noyes poem, “The Highwayman.” (Published under the pseudonym, Mary Ellen Dennis.) Landlord was chosen as one of the top 100 historical romances of 2013.

After taking a twenty year detour in a quixotic quest to change the world--rather like Arthurian knights’ quests to find the holy grail, which ended in similar failure--Mary Ellen has happily returned to historical fiction writing and her favorite time period, the tumultuous fourteenth century. Her five book series, Knights of England, follows the fortunes of the characters (and their progeny) introduced in The Lion and the Leopard through the Black Death, the reign of that most gloriously medieval of monarchs, Edward III, the 1381 Peasants’ Revolt, and ends with the deposition and murder of Richard II in 1399.

There is nothing Mary Ellen loves more than bringing Medieval England alive for the reader. She particularly enjoys researching battles, campaigns, the daily lives of both lord and peasant, and trying to figure out our ancestors’ thought processes, particularly how they viewed their world. Oh, and did she mention the castles and cathedrals? Mary Ellen likes to say her favorite place in all the world is standing before the tomb of the Black Prince in Canterbury Cathedral. (Hyperbole, of course, since Mary Ellen is not that well-traveled and her favorite places are probably wherever her kids and grandkids reside.)

However--and the very recounting gives her chills--a distant cousin recently shared the results of her years-long genealogical research on the family tree. When flipping back and back through the centuries, Mary Ellen began finding names that were hauntingly familiar--John of Gaunt, Edward the Black Prince, Edward II, Edward III, even Richard the Lionheart! All the historical characters she’s spent a lifetime reading and writing about! How can that be? Genetic memory? Reincarnation? She has no idea but you can bet she’ll be exploring the possibilities in future novels!

In the meantime, Mary Ellen hopes you’ll enjoy reading The Lion and the Leopard, A Knight There Was, Within a Forest Dark and Lords Among the Ruins as much as she’s enjoyed writing them.

Customer Reviews