A Christmas Story

A Christmas Story

by Point of GracePoint of Grace


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Producer Brown Bannister and A&R director Brent Bourgeois seem to have been going for diversity in putting together a Point Of Grace Christmas album. Among the 17 songs in 14 tracks are traditional carols, popular evergreens, and five new compositions. The older songs are given lush, shimmering arrangements sometimes so different from the familiar versions that they are unidentifiable until after the lyrics have kicked in. The quartet of singers, sometimes augmented by choirs, does vocal acrobatics around the tunes, finding fresh and interesting interpretations. They have more fun with the pop songs, such as a big band swing rendition of "Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town" and a gently rocking "Jingle Bell Rock." The originals contain no new standards, but provide an opportunity for the individual singers to get solo lead vocals. The most surprising of these is Bourgeois's "Light Of The World," on which Michael Tait sings lead, with Point Of Grace providing only backup vocals. Fans of the group's regular releases are likely to welcome this typically eclectic seasonal collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/21/2020
Label: Curb Mod
UPC: 0080688599324
catalogNumber: 885993
Rank: 24444

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Point of Grace   Primary Artist
Matt Rollings   Piano
Brent Bourgeois   Piano
Eric Darken   Percussion
Chris Eaton   Piano
Jeff Coffin   Baritone Saxophone
Ernie Collins   Trombone
Shane Keister   Piano
Mark Douthit   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Chris Dunn   Trombone
Barry Green   Trombone
Mike Haynes   Trumpet
Tom Hemby   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Skaila Kanga   Harp
Gordon Kennedy   Guitar
Paul Leim   Percussion,Drums
Chris Leuzinger   Electric Guitar
Sam Levine   Recorder,Alto Saxophone,Penny Whistle
London Session Orchestra   Multi Instruments
Blair Masters   Keyboards
Chris McDonald   Trombone
Chris McHugh   Drums
Jerry McPherson   Percussion,Electric Guitar
Doug Moffet   Tenor Saxophone
Steve Patrick   Trumpet
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Denis Solee   Tenor Saxophone
Richard Steffen   Trumpet
George Tidwell   Trumpet
Gavyn Wright   Conductor,Concert Master
Leland Sklar   Bass
Rivers Rutherford   Acoustic Guitar,Gut String Guitar
Adam Anders   Bass

Technical Credits

Adolphe Adam   Composer
Brown Bannister   Producer
Brent Bourgeois   Arranger,Vocal Arrangements
Chris Eaton   Vocal Arrangements
Ronn Huff   Orchestration,Vocal Arrangements
Steve Bishir   Engineer
Shane Keister   Orchestral Arrangements,Track Arrangement
Katy Dunham   Contributor
Rachel Howell   Contributor
Patrick Kelly   Engineer
London Session Orchestra   Contributor
Carl Marsh   Arranger,Orchestration,Vocal Arrangements,Brass Arrangment,rhythm track
David Schober   Engineer
Kelsey Tunney   Contributor
Whitney Tunney   Contributor
Isaac Watts   Composer
Russ Long   Engineer
Lowell Mason   Composer
Kelly Stewart   Contributor
Michael Tait   Contributor
John Sullivan Dwight   Composer
Matthew White   Contributor
Sterling Gibson   Contributor
Leigh Andrews   Contributor
Matthew Andrews   Contributor
Rob Healey   Engineer
Tim Davis   Vocal Arrangements
Steve Price   Engineer
Joseph Carleton Beal   Composer

Customer Reviews