A Lesson in Love

A Lesson in Love

by Kate RoyalKate Royal


$14.89 $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.89, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Soprano Kate Royal has an open, unaffected, honest voice that draws the listener in with its glowing, emotional transparency. Her vocal production is unforced and sounds effortless and spontaneous. These qualities make hers a voice that's beautifully suited to the songs collected here, some of which require the utmost vocal discipline, but many of which have a tone of folk-like directness and artless expressivity. Royal has arranged the songs of A Lesson in Love into a first person narrative in four sections that describe the stages of a young woman's first love: Waiting, The Meeting, The Wedding, The Betrayal. The songs, in three languages, ranging from the early Romantic to the contemporary, offer a potent emotional trajectory of the anticipation, excitement, and heartache of love, beginning and ending with William Bolcom's poignant cabaret song, "Waitin."" Malcolm Martineau offers expert and sensitive accompaniment. EMI's sound is exemplary -- clean, natural, and intimate. Royal's lovely recital should be of interest to any fans of the art song.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2011
Label: Warner Classics
UPC: 5099994853629
catalogNumber: 48536
Rank: 204961


  1. Waitin for voice & piano  (01:32)
  2. Jemand ("Mein Herz ist betrübt"), song for voice & piano (Myrthen), Op. 25/4  (01:35)
  3. Die Kleine ("Zwischen Bergen, liebe Mutter"), song for voice & piano  (01:42)
  4. Es muss ein Wunderbares sein, song for voice & piano, S. 314 (LW N49)  (01:40)
  5. Apparition ("La lune s'attristait"), song for voice & piano, L. 53  (03:45)
  6. O wär dein Haus durchsichtig, song for voice & piano (Italienisches Liederbuch)  (01:25)
  7. Erstes Liebeslied eines Mädchens ("Was im Netze? Schau einmal"), song for voice & piano (Mörike Lieder)  (01:17)
  8. Gretchen am Spinnrade ("Meine Ruh'..."), song for voice & piano, D. 118 (Op. 2)  (03:28)
  9. Rastlose Liebe ("Dem Schnee, dem Regen"), song for voice & piano, D. 138 (Op. 5/1)  (01:20)
  10. Pour un Baiser for voice & piano (or orchestra)  (02:14)
  11. Chut, Chut, folksong for voice & orchestra (Chants d'Auvergne, Series 4, No. 4)  (02:01)
  12. Love went a-riding, for voice & piano (or orchestra), H 115  (01:47)
  13. Pastorale, song for voice & piano  (02:31)
  14. Ah, Love, But a Day, song for voice & piano (Robert Browning Songs No. 2), Op. 44/2  (02:47)
  15. Lied der Braut aus dem Liebesfrühling I ("Mutter! Mutter! Glaube nicht!"), song for voice & piano (Myrthen), Op. 25/11  (02:17)
  16. Lied der Braut aus dem Liebesfrühling II ("Lass mich ihn am Busen hangen"), song for voice & piano (Myrthen), Op. 25/12  (01:29)
  17. Chanson de la mariée, song for voice & piano (Mélodies popularies grecques No. 1)  (01:21)
  18. Donc, ce sera par un clair jour d'été, for voice & piano or string quintet & piano (La Bonne chanson), Op. 61/7  (02:32)
  19. Hochzeitlich Lied ("Lass Akaziendüfte schaukeln"), song for voice & piano, Op. 37/6 (TrV 187/6)  (03:52)
  20. Extase ("Sur un lys pâle"), song for voice & piano (or orchestra)  (03:07)
  21. Am Sonntag Morgen zierlich angethan, for voice & piano, Op. 49/1  (01:14)
  22. Die Männer sind méchant ("Du sagtest mir es, Mutter"), refrain song for voice & piano, D. 866/3 (Op. 95/3)  (02:39)
  23. Du liebst mich nicht ("Mein Herz ist zerrissen"), song for voice & piano, D. 756 (Op. 59/1)  (03:34)
  24. O Waly, Waly, folk song  (03:34)
  25. Verschling' der Abgrund, song for voice & piano (Italienisches Liederbuch)  (01:12)
  26. Poems (12) of Emily Dickinson, song cycle for voice & piano (orchestrated 1970 as "Poems (8) of Emily Dickinson"): No. 5. Heart, we will forget him!

    1. No. 5. Heart, we will forget him!  (02:08)
  27. Londonderry Air (Danny Boy), folk song  (03:13)
  28. I Will Walk With My Love for voice & piano  (01:41)
  29. Waitin for voice & piano  (01:52)
  30. Untitled CD-ROM Track

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kate Royal   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews