A Natural History

A Natural History

by J.D. SoutherJ.D. Souther


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


J.D. Souther returned to record making after nearly 25 years with 2008's If the World Was You, a collection of jazzy originals. Three years later, he issues Natural History, consisting of new recordings of 11 of his most valuable copyrights, songs associated with the Eagles ("Best of My Love," "New Kid in Town") and Linda Ronstadt ("Prisoner in Disguise," "Faithless Love"), as well as his own sole hit as a recording artist, "You're Only Lonely." That's the "history" part of the title; the "natural" part refers to the arrangements, which are spare, usually featuring a prominent piano or acoustic guitar part with only quiet acoustic bass and drums (if any), and, sometimes, a trumpet, saxophone, or clarinet solo. That places the emphasis on Souther's high, slightly grainy, tenor voice, and on the lyrics and melodies. As anyone who recognizes the above song titles will realize, Souther's is a melancholy world view in which lonely people are desperate for love but unable to sustain it for long. The singer offers comfort, but he can also be a brutally honest observer of human emotional failings. Listeners will hear the echoes of the better-known recordings of these songs, even if Souther's own performances of them sound like they may have set the template for Ronstadt or the Eagles to embroider on.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/31/2011
Label: Ent. One Music
UPC: 0099923213826
catalogNumber: 2138
Rank: 19721

Album Credits

Performance Credits

J.D. Souther   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jerry Douglas   Dobro
John Jorgenson   Clarinet,Electric Guitar,Classical Guitar
Rod McGaha   Trumpet
Jeff Coffin   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
John Hobbs   Piano
Viktor Krauss   Bass,Upright Bass
Jim White   Percussion,Drums
Chris Walter   Piano,Hammond B3
Bryan Sutton   Guitar,Hi String

Technical Credits

Don Henley   Composer
Joe Walsh   Composer
Glenn Frey   Composer
Fred Mollin   Producer
J.D. Souther   Composer
Chris Walter   Illustrations
Casey Wood   Engineer
Dave Salley   Engineer
Sean Marlowe   Art Direction

Customer Reviews