A Very Special Christmas: 25 Years

A Very Special Christmas: 25 Years


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This is not an anniversary reissue of the original Very Special Christmas, a landmark charity album from 1987. This is a new album, one leaning toward the mainstream much more than the frequently quirky 1987 platter. This opens with Train and closes with Christina Aguilera, making stops along the way for Jewel, Michael Bublé, Dave Matthews Band, Jordin Sparks, Rascal Flatts, OneRepublic, Jason Mraz, and Vince Gill. Most of the cuts here march to a stately beat and are produced so they glitter like frozen snow, so this winds up feeling seasonal without quite seeming festive. This sobriety makes Wonder Girl's ebullient dance-pop "Best Christmas Ever" and Cheap Trick's hamfisted but kind of fun rewrite of "I Want You to Want Me" as "I Want You" stand out, and the same goes for Martina McBride's bluesy reading of "Please Come Home for Christmas" and, to a lesser extent, Jason Mraz's sing-song scatting on "Winter Wonderland." The lack of variety makes Very Special Christmas: 25 Years a little sleepy, but it's hard to hate on an album that's for a good cause.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/16/2012
Label: Big Machine Records
UPC: 0843930007172
catalogNumber: 0100
Rank: 73179

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Judson Spence   Background Vocals
Robin Zander   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Nikita Germaine   Background Vocals
Pat Buchanan   Electric Guitar
Chad Cromwell   Drums
Vicki Hampton   Background Vocals
Rick Nielsen   Guitar
Tim Pierce   Electric Guitar
Kim Keyes   Background Vocals
Eric Dover   Background Vocals
Tom Petersson   Bass
Jason Mraz   Acoustic Guitar,Keyboards
Hector Maldonado   Background Vocals
Daxx Nielsen   Drums
Jimmie Sloas   Bass
Danny Rader   Electric Guitar
Charlie Judge   Strings,Celeste,Chimes,French Horn,Keyboards,Timpani
Ilya Toshinskiy   Acoustic Guitar
Stevie Notes   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Charles Brown   Composer
Adolphe Adam   Composer
Brown Bannister   Producer
Amy Grant   Composer
Cheap Trick   Producer
Judson Spence   Arranger,Programming
David Foster   Producer
Dave Matthews   Composer
Buddy Greene   Composer
Gary Chapman   Composer
Chris Eaton   Composer
Robin Zander   Composer
Felix Bernard   Composer
Ian Eskelin   Producer
Ron Fair   Producer
Humberto Gatica   Producer
Dann Huff   Producer
Steve Marcantonio   Engineer
Rick Nielsen   Composer
Michael Omartian   Producer
Kevin Porter   Engineer
Julian Raymond   Composer,Producer
Bob Rock   Producer
Isaac Watts   Composer
Howard Willing   Engineer
Meredith Willson   Composer
Dick Smith   Composer
Tony Brown   Producer,Executive Producer
Lars Fox   Pro-Tools
Tom Petersson   Composer
Noel Regney   Composer
John Sullivan Dwight   Composer
Keith Haring   Artwork
Kris Kringle   Producer
Rascal Flatts   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Fingazz   Producer
Jason Mraz   Producer,Engineer
Ryan Tedder   Composer
Brian Philips   Advisor
Rudaina Haddad   Composer
Becky Reiser   Art Direction
OneRepublic   Engineer
Francesca Battistelli   Composer
Brent Kutzle   Composer
Daxx Nielsen   Composer
Smith Carlson   Engineer
Gene C. Redd   Composer
Timothy Shriver   Liner Notes
Jason Walker   Composer
Leann Bennett   Licensing
Rock Mafia   Producer
Tucker Robinson   Vocal Recording
Woo S. "Rainstone" Rhee   Composer,Producer
Junsoo Noh   Engineer
Mark Lowry   Composer
Mike Moore   Art Direction
Gloria Shain   Composer
John Stary   Composer
Andrew Lawrence Bloch   Composer
Edmond Thomse Dunne   Composer
Amy Fucci   Art Direction
Wayne Milligan   Licensing
Pen Up Girls   Vocal Arrangements,Vocal Producer
Ossie Kilkenny   Advisor
Nick Gordon   Licensing
Brian Grayson Sanders   Composer

Customer Reviews