Adore [CD/DVD] [Deluxe]

Adore [CD/DVD] [Deluxe]

by Smashing PumpkinsSmashing Pumpkins

CD(Special Edition / Bonus DVD)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Left without a drummer after Jimmy Chamberlin's dismissal, the Smashing Pumpkins took the opportunity to revamp their sound slightly -- which is what Billy Corgan claimed they were going to do on their fourth album anyway. Adore, however, isn't a drastic departure. Using dream pop ballads and the synthetic pulse of "1979" as starting points, the Pumpkins have created a hushed, elegiac album that sounds curiously out of time -- it's certainly an outgrowth of their previous work, but the differences aren't entirely modern. Whenever synthesizers are added to the mix, the results make the band sound like a contemporary of the Cure or Depeche Mode, not Aphex Twin. That's not necessarily a problem, since Adore creates its own world with layered keyboards, acoustic guitars, and a rotating selection of drummers and machines. There's none of the distorted bluster that cluttered Mellon Collie and none of the grand sonic technicolor of Siamese Dream. Adore recasts the calmer moments of those albums in a sepia tone in an attempt to be modest and intimate. Only Billy Corgan would consider a 74-minute, 16-track album a modest effort, but compared to its widescreen predecessors, it does feel a bit scaled down. Still, Corgan's ambitions reign supreme. This is no mere acoustic album, nor is it electronica -- it is quiet, contemporary art rock, played like a concept album without any real concept. Its very length and portentousness tend to obscure some lovely songs, since all the muted production tends to blend everything together. But even with its flaws, Adore is an admirable record that illustrates the depth of the Pumpkins' sound, even if it ultimately isn't a brave step forward. [Like all of the Smashing Pumpkins albums before it, 1998's Adore received a ridiculously generous super deluxe reissue in the new millennium. The 2014 box set contains no less than six CDs, along with a DVD capturing an entire concert given at the Fox Theater in Atlanta, Georgia on August 4, 1998. Naturally, the first disc is given over to a remastered version of the proper album, while the second contains the mono mix of the album, which is what was initially released on vinyl (it makes its CD debut here). The third disc is where the unreleased material begins to come in: there are a host of demos, from Sadlands and CRC -- these are the rough versions -- whereas the fourth disc, bearing the subtitle "Chalices, Palaces and Deep Pools," digs into atmospheric shimmer: instrumental snippets, versions "reimagined" by Matt Walker in 2014, plus a few demos and stripped-down mixes. The fifth disc, called "Malice, Callous and Fools," continues in this vein, serving up some more Walker reimaginations, a Rick Rubin version of "Let Me Give the World to You," an alternate vocal on "Behold! The Night Mare," and some B-sides, plus the soundtrack contribution "The Beginning Is the End Is the Beginning." Finally, the sixth disc -- punningly called "Kissed Alive Too" -- rounds up radio sessions and live performances from 1998, including a pair of performances live at Mancow's Morning Madhouse (a late-'90s zoo crew flashback if there ever was one), of Berry Gordy, Jr's "Money (That's What I Want)" from Dodger Stadium. To complain that this is too much is to miss the point: of course it's too much, but there are things of worth on each disc. As the finished album comes together, it's possible to hear the different directions Adore could've gone, along with hints of its legacy and, on that last disc, a final blast of the Pumpkins in their late-'90s glory. All of that makes it worthwhile for the hardcore.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2014
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0602537851133
catalogNumber: 002085100


Disc 1

  1. To Sheila
  2. Ava Adore
  3. Perfect
  4. Daphne Descends
  5. Once Upon a Time
  6. Tear
  7. Crestfallen
  8. Appels + Oranjes
  9. Pug
  10. The Tale of Dusty and Pistol Pete
  11. Annie-Dog
  12. Shame
  13. Behold! The Night Mare
  14. For Martha
  15. Blank Page
  16. 17

Disc 2

  1. To Sheila
  2. Ava Adore
  3. Perfect
  4. Daphne Descends
  5. Once Upon a Time
  6. Tear
  7. Crestfallen
  8. Appels + Oranjes
  9. Pug
  10. The Tale of Dusty and Pistol Pete
  11. Annie-Dog
  12. Shame
  13. Behold! The Night Mare
  14. For Martha
  15. Blank Page

Disc 3

  1. Blissed and Gone
  2. Christmastime
  3. My Mistake
  4. Sparrow
  5. Valentine
  6. The Tale of Dusty and Pistol Pete
  7. What If?
  8. Chewing Gum
  9. The Tale of Dusty and Pistol Pete
  10. The Ethers Tragic [Demo V
  11. The Guns of Love Disastrous [Instrument
  12. Annie-Dog
  13. Once In a While
  14. Do You Close Your Eyes When You Kiss Me?
  15. For Martha
  16. My Mistake
  17. Blissed and Gone
  18. For Martha [Demo Versio

Disc 4

  1. For Martha
  2. Crestfallen
  3. To Sheila
  4. Ava Adore
  5. O Rio
  6. Waiting
  7. Once Upon a Time
  8. Eye
  9. Saturnine
  10. Cash Car Star
  11. Pug
  12. Perfect
  13. It's Alright
  14. Czarina
  15. Indecision
  16. Blank Page

Disc 5

  1. Let Me Give the World To You
  2. Tear
  3. Cross
  4. Because You Are
  5. Jersey Shore
  6. Shame
  7. Summer
  8. Blissed and Gone
  9. Heaven
  10. Daphne Descends
  11. Saturnine
  12. Behold! the Night Mare
  13. Perfect
  14. Do You Close Your Eyes?
  15. The Beginning is the End is the Beginning

Disc 6

  1. Ava Adore
  2. Daphne Descends
  3. The Tale of Dusty and Pistol Pete
  4. Tear
  5. Shame
  6. Blank Page
  7. To Sheila
  8. Money (That's What I Want)
  9. X.Y.U. Medley
  10. Transmission

Disc 7

  1. To Sheila
  2. Behold! The Night Mare
  3. Pug
  4. Crestfallen
  5. Ava Adore
  6. Tear
  7. Annie-Dog
  8. Perfect
  9. Thru the Eyes of Ruby
  10. Tonight, Tonight
  11. Once Upon a Time
  12. The Tale of Dusty and Pistol Pete
  13. Bullet With Butterfly Wings
  14. Shame
  15. For Martha
  16. Blank Page
  17. Transmission

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Smashing Pumpkins   Primary Artist
Matt Cameron   Drums
Brad Wood   Organ
Joey Waronker   Drums
Bon Harris   Vocals
Matt Walker   Drums
Dennis Flemion   Vocals
Jimmy Flemion   Vocals

Technical Credits

Benjamin Bossi   Composer
Billy Corgan   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Liner Notes,Reissue Producer,Art Direction
Ian Curtis   Composer
Flood   Producer,Additional Production
Berry Gordy   Composer
Peter Hook   Composer
Nellee Hooper   Producer
James Iha   Composer
Debora Iyall   Composer
Jeff Moleski   Engineer
Rick Rubin   Producer
Chris Shepard   Engineer
Bjorn Thorsrud   Producer,Engineer
David Wild   Liner Notes
Howard Willing   Composer,Engineer
Brad Wood   Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Peter Wood   Composer
Frank Zincavage   Composer
Larry Carter   Composer
Stephen Morris   Composer
Neil Perry   Engineer
Bernard Sumner   Composer
Robbie Adams   Engineer
Bon Harris   Programming
Frank Olinsky   Art Direction
Xilonen Oreshnick   Photo Coordination
Yelena Yemchuk   Art Direction,Reissue Photography
Janie Bradford   Composer
Sylvia Massey   Engineer
Jerry Bryant   Video Editor
Anthony Bresette   Authoring
Chris Vicente   Authoring

Customer Reviews