Advanced Plotting

Advanced Plotting

by Chris Eboch

Paperback

$9.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 20
MARKETPLACE
4 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview

Take your novel to the next level.

You've finished a few manuscripts, read books and articles on writing, taken some classes, attended conferences. But you still struggle with plot, or suspect that your plotting needs work.

This book can help.

"Advanced Plotting is helping me to be more focused, to stop and ask the right questions, to dig deeper."

Advanced Plotting is designed for the intermediate and advanced writer. Read the book straight through, study the index to find help with your current problem, or dip in and out randomly - however you use this book, you'll find fascinating insights and detailed tips to help you build a stronger plot and become a better writer.

"This really is helping me a lot. It's written beautifully and to-the-point. The essays really help you zero in on your own problems in your manuscript. The Plot Outline Exercise is a great tool!"

The Plot Outline Exercise is designed to help you work with a completed manuscript to identify and fix plot weaknesses. It can also help flesh out an outline. Additional articles address specific plot challenges, such as getting off to a fast start, propping up a sagging middle, building to a climax, and improving your pacing. A dozen guest authors share advice from their own years of experience.

"I just read and dissected your well-written book: Advanced Plotting. It's now highlighted in bright orange and littered with many of those little 3M sticky labels. GOOD JOB. There are too many just-for-beginners books out there. Yours was a delight."

Chris Eboch is the author of over 60 books for children, including nonfiction and fiction, early reader through teen. Her novels for ages nine and up include The Eyes of Pharaoh, a mystery in ancient Egypt; The Well of Sacrifice, a Mayan adventure; The Genie's Gift, a middle eastern fantasy; and the Haunted series, about kids who travel with a ghost hunter TV show, which starts with The Ghost on the Stairs.

Chris is also the author of You Can Write for Children: How to Write Great Stories, Articles, and Books for Kids and Teenagers. She has had over 100 writing articles published in magazines such as Children's Writer, Writer's Digest, and Byline, and in the annual Writers Guides (2008-2014).

Chris taught over 150 students through the Institute of Children's Literature and has led writing workshops around the world. She is the former New Mexico Regional Advisor for the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. She has her MA degree in Professional Writing and Publishing from Emerson College in Boston.

Learn more at https://chriseboch.com/ or her Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/Chris-Eboch/e/B001JS25VE/ or check out her writing tips at her Write Like a Pro! blog: http://chriseboch.blogspot.com/.

Chris writes for adults under the name Kris Bock. Kris Bock novels are action-packed romantic adventures set in Southwestern landscapes. Fans of Mary Stewart, Barbara Michaels, and Terry Odell will want to check out Kris Bock's romantic adventures. "Counterfeits is the kind of romantic suspense novel I have enjoyed since I first read Mary Stewart's Moonspinners." 5 Stars - Roberta at Sensuous Reviews blog

Read excerpts at www.krisbock.com or visit her Amazon page: https://www.amazon.com/author/krisbock.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781463739300
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 07/18/2011
Pages: 108
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.22(d)

About the Author

Chris Eboch is the author of 20 books for young people. Her novels for ages nine and up include The Eyes of Pharaoh, a mystery in ancient Egypt; The Well of Sacrifice, a Mayan adventure; and the Haunted series, which starts with The Ghost on the Stairs. Learn more at www.chriseboch.com or check out her writing tips at http://chriseboch.blogspot.com/.

Chris also writes for adults under the name Kris Bock. Her romantic suspense novels feature outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. To learn more, visit www.krisbock.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Advanced Plotting 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
ChrisEboch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Advanced Plotting is designed for the intermediate and advanced writer. If you struggle with plot or suspect your plotting needs work, this book can help. Use the Plot Outline Exercise to identify and fix plot weaknesses. Learn how to get off to a fast start, prop up a sagging middle, build to a climax, improve your pacing, and more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PleiadesWoman More than 1 year ago
This book is actually a compilation of articles and esays from several successful authors. Because of this format, it is able to approach plotting from many different viewpoints in only 106 pages. If you've read other books on plotting, you will find some repetition here. You will also find some fresh perspectives and fresh advice. At the worst, it is a summary of standard plotting advice in a small, easy-to-carry format. At its best, the fresh outlooks on how to plot, and how novels can be compared to movies, may be the spark that gets your novel going. Absolutely worth the price.