All About Melody

All About Melody

by Russell MaloneRussell Malone


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Guitarist Russell Malone has always been a highly lyrical, melodic soloist and he spotlights this talent with his 2016 studio effort, All About Melody. Following up his similar small group album, 2015's Love Looks Good on You, All About Melody is a swinging, soulful, laid-back production showcasing Malone's knack for deftly delivered straight-ahead jazz. Joining Malone once again is his longtime working rhythm section of pianist Rick Germanson, bassist Luke Sellick, and drummer Willie Jones III. Together, this quartet makes supple, warm-toned instrumental music in which each player is totally jacked in, intrinsically working to complement the overall happy group vibe. With his big, hollow-body electric guitar, largely unadorned natural tone, and fluid, bop-inflected lines, Malone sounds positively exuberant here. To these ends, he revisits Freddie Hubbard's "On the Real Side," a groove-oriented number he first played on the trumpeter's last studio album. He then continues to pay homage to another of his stylistic inspirations, the late guitarist Jim Hall, with the hushed original "Message to Jim Hall." Poignantly, the track is followed by an actual phone message Hall left for Malone. Elsewhere, Malone keeps things vibrant and romantic with a sweet, unaccompanied take on "When a Man Loves a Woman," and equally amorous, afterglow-illuminated version of "Saving All My Love for You." However, it's not all candlelight and wine. Malone dances through Sonny Rollins' calypso "Nice Lady," and turns up the noise for a frenetic, funky take on Bill Lee's "Biskit." Ultimately, whether he's slipping into an intimate ballad or launching into a swaggering soul-jazz freakout, Malone keeps listeners hanging onto his melodies.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/18/2016
Label: Highnote
UPC: 0632375728724
catalogNumber: 757287
Rank: 74925

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Russell Malone   Primary Artist,Guitar
Rick Germanson   Piano
Willie Jones   Drums
Luke Sellick   Bass

Technical Credits

Bob Brookmeyer   Composer
Jimmy Heath   Composer
Russell Malone   Composer,Producer
Howard Dietz   Composer
Joe Fields   Executive Producer
Freddie Hubbard   Composer
Bill Lee   Composer
Michael Masser   Composer
Katsuhiko Naito   Engineer
Arthur Schwartz   Composer
Andrew Wright   Composer
Donald Elfman   Liner Notes
Christopher Drukker   Graphic Design
Calvin Lewis   Composer
Gerry Coffin   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Spoken Word   Composer
Son Rollins   Composer

Customer Reviews