The All of It

The All of It

by Jeannette Haien

Paperback

$13.28 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.28, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 28
MARKETPLACE
41 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview

Jeannette Haien’s award-winning first novel relates the seemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangled confession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not only the clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien’s intimate novel of conversations and dilemmas—perfect for readers of Paul Harding’s Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, and Flannery O’Connor’s Wise Blood—is “an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way” (NewYork Times Book Review). Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition with an introduction by Ann Patchett.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062090096
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/07/2011
Pages: 160
Sales rank: 194,286
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Jeannette Haien is the author of the acclaimed novel The All of It , winner of the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In addition to her career as a writer, Jeannette Haien is well known as a concert pianist and teacher. She and her husband, a lawyer, live in New York City and Connemara, Ireland.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

All of It 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
hemlokgang on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book Club Selection December 2011.........Foreword by Ann Patchett!?........What a gem of a novella! No wonder Ann Patchett calls it one of her favorites! The Irish tale of right and wrong with a twist. Find yourself swept up in the story of Enda, Kevin, and Father Declan. Solitude, love, salmon fishing, loyalty, and compassion...what more could anyone ask for?
Citizenjoyce on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a lovely, subtle book about hard work, relationships, loneliness and fishing. Highly recommended.
kellyn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lyrical language demonstrates the power of conversation and true listening and contrasts with the experience of salmon fishing. (This sounds odd but it works).
CarolynSchroeder on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a surprisingly good little novel (I picked up, put down, and ultimately picked back up and bought for a dollar at a library used book sale), full of the realities of life and the various humans' struggles with morality, as they see it. It unfolds delightfully, from the perspective of Father Declan, who hears a very startling twist on what he thought was the reality about a quiet married couple in his village, Edna and Kevin. The story begins upon Kevin's death and Edna's narrative of what their lives were like, and the violence that shaped their respite. This is a book that sticks with you, makes you re-think some of those blind "moral" bases we all have, and ultimately suffer from, disallowing us to really hear someone else's story. Highly recommended, especially if you enjoy Irish fiction, as it is rich in the sights, sounds and way of life from the Irish countryside.
laytonwoman3rd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a gem of a story. Newsweek's reviewer called it "a moral story of the most complex sort". That says it well, but it also has some of the funniest bits of anything I've read in a while. (Parts reminded me of the marvelous short story "The Moveable Hazard" by G. W. Hawkes, which can be found in his collection Playing Out of the Deep Woods. If you don't know his work, you should.)An Irish priest thinks he has discovered a dreadful sin in his parish and urges a dying man to confess and make it right. The "confession" comes eventually, with a long explanation that makes up the bulk of this short novel. I had the "secret" figured out almost immediately, but the telling and the explaining were a treat. This is a one-sitting read, but have a cup of tea and a good shawl nearby; the fly-fishing sections will chill you to the bone.
lcrouch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really liked the story and the writing about a priest's dilemma when one of his parishioners dies. His characters are well-fleshed out and the story is intriguing. That said, I think there were some holes in it and I was a bit dissatisfied with the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
C. GABORDI More than 1 year ago
Expertly drawn characters -- tough, vulnerable, and believable -- whose stories exemplify James's claim that the only truth is the whole truth. Beautifully written. A keeper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dinerlee More than 1 year ago
This book is simply lovely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dont waste your time