All People

All People

by Michael Franti & SpearheadMichael Franti & Spearhead


Michael Franti's evolution from pissed-off punk to flip-flop-wearing jam band man is fascinating because he's come off as sincere on either end, and with his 2013 release, he continues to confuse and sooth in equal measure. Good news is, the confused feeling fades once the sun-drenched, feel-good vibes of the latter sink in, with "I'm Alive (Life Sounds Like)" offering the most immediate relief from the drudgery of the day, coming off as a sing-along, clap-along, or whistle-along triple threat for the nighttime campfire hippie set. The opening title track is the same vibe with pop and slickness carrying its message of unity to the people, while "11:59" uses jam band melodies and hip-hop beats to persuade listeners to join Franti's chant for peace. One more round of "Hallelujah" and All People would come off as a commune soundtrack never meant to be experienced alone, but with the smooth, miniature techno of "Long Ride Home" the album takes a winning turn for the personal and small. The punchy "Earth from Outer Space" with fellow peacemaker K'NAAN puts some big-bottomed reggae into the album's flow, then "Closer to You" builds from intimate to uplifting before the psychedelic relic "Wherever You Are" reminds listeners that the Beatles were dazzling during their acid days. Approaching the album in any cynical matter will ruin the whole show, and even if it seems some songs share the same sentiment to the point of redundancy, All People is about feeling good and hopeful. Split this collection of peace and sunshine down the middle for greatest effect.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/30/2013
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602537370313
catalogNumber: 001847602


  1. All People
  2. 11:59
  3. I'm Alive (Life Sounds Like)
  4. Long Ride Home
  5. Life is Better With You
  6. Earth From Outer Space
  7. Closer To You
  8. Show Me a Sign
  9. On and On
  10. Wherever You Are
  11. Say Goodbye

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael Franti & Spearhead   Primary Artist
Michael Franti   Guitar,Vocals,Choir, Chorus,Group Member
Victor Indrizzo   Drums
Carl Young   Bass,Keyboards,Group Member
Victor Castro   Trombone
Gina Rene   Vocals
Catherine Enny   Choir, Chorus
Raliegh J. Neal   Piano,Keyboards,Group Member
Steve Shebby   Bass
Adrian Newman   Keyboards
Gunnar Olsen   Drums
Ben Stanton   Choir, Chorus
Keinan Warsame   Vocals
Shorty Ramos   Tenor Saxophone
Richie English   Strings
Manas Itene   Drums,Group Member
Lenny Skolnik   Keyboards
Mia Wattenberg   Choir, Chorus
Alison Stanton   Choir, Chorus
Lindsay Nadler   Choir, Chorus
Darvina Plante   Background Vocals
Adé Franti Rye   Choir, Chorus
Sara Agah   Choir, Chorus
Richard "Rico" Cardoza   Trumpet,Flugelhorn

Technical Credits

Michael Franti   Composer,Lyricist,Producer,Engineer,drum programming,Additional Production
Carl Young   Composer
Dave Rowland   Vocal Engineer
Brian Lee   Composer
Gregg Wattenberg   Additional Production
Gina Rene   Composer
Ross Peterson   Engineer
Sam Hollander   Composer,Lyricist
Scott Spock   Engineer
Matrix   Composer,Producer
Raliegh J. Neal   Composer
Steve Shebby   Composer,Engineer
Randy Miller   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Lauren Dukoff   Cover Photo
Tara Chiari   Marketing
Adrian Newman   Composer,Lyricist,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Keinan Warsame   Composer,Lyricist
Theron Feemster   Producer
Peter Jensen   Piano Engineer
Ian Driscoll   Pro-Tools
Brett Mazurek   Documentation
Alicia "Polly" Snowden   Documentation,Tray Photo

Customer Reviews