Always Ascending

Always Ascending

by Franz FerdinandFranz Ferdinand


$11.93 $15.99 Save 25% Current price is $11.93, Original price is $15.99. You Save 25%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, April 3


Since the release of their debut, Franz Ferdinand have teetered between the raw post-punk that won them acclaim and attempts to broaden that sound. Always Ascending arrives at a ripe time for them to experiment: after founding member Nick McCarthy left in 2016, keyboardist Julian Corrie joined the fold. With the help of Corrie and producer Philippe Zdar -- known for his dance and rock-melding work with Phoenix and Justice -- the band follows through on the dance music flirtations of Tonight. The title track transforms the band's familiar dance-punk into gleaming space disco that feels like a leap into the unknown. Later, "Feel the Love Go" gives their skill at shifting from lusty to poignant a chrome-plated upgrade. Other highlights include "Lois Lane"'s sweeping synth pop and the mystique-laden finale, "Slow Don't Kill Me Slow," both of which demonstrate the revamped Franz Ferdinand's potential.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/09/2018
Label: Domino
UPC: 0887828040827
catalogNumber: 80408
Rank: 44966

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Franz Ferdinand   Primary Artist
Alex Kapranos   Musician
Bob Hardy   Musician
Terry Edwards   Saxophone
Julian Corrie   Musician
Paul Thompson   Musician

Technical Credits

Philippe Zdar   Producer
Franz Ferdinand   Composer
Alex Kapranos   Composer
Bob Hardy   Composer
Mike Horner   Additional Production
Sam Potter   Composer
Pierre Juarez   Additional Production
David Edwards   Collage
Julian Corrie   Composer
Paul Thompson   Composer
Alexis Anne Mackenzie   Collage,Cover Collage

Customer Reviews