Amos Milburn Rocks

Amos Milburn Rocks

by Amos MilburnAmos Milburn

CD(German Import)



The Amos Milburn entry in Bear Family's Jukebox Rocks series is another staple in one of the greatest proto-rhythm & blues, rockabilly, and jump blues on compact disc. Milburn made his name and indeed encapsulated his brief dance with fame on the mighty Aladdin label, run by Eddie Mesner. His finest Aladdin material, recorded between 1949 and 1956 is here, along with one completely unissued side ("We Teenagers Know What We Want" -- an obvious nod to the newly emergent rock & roll). From "Chicken Shack Boogie," and "One, Two, Three Everybody," to "Good Good Whiskey," "Juice Juice Juice," and "Birmingham Bounce," they're all here. Obviously, fans of Milburn will have most of the this material but there are numerous reasons to pick this collection anyway: mainly, it is the finest single-disc collection of his music anywhere; secondly, Bear Family's presentation, which includes detailed liners and a comprehensive historical essay by Bill Dahl, excellent photos, and truly remarkable sound. While much of Milburn's work was issued in the '90s, the 21st century hasn't been nearly so kind. For fans of excellent boogie-woogie, jump blues, and killer historic R&B, this is a collection that cannot be ignored for either the seasoned consumer of this music or the novice looking for an entryway.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2011
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127169266
catalogNumber: 1196498

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Amos Milburn   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Willie Mae Ford Smith   Tenor Saxophone
Tina Brooks   Tenor Saxophone
Harry Edison   Trumpet
Herbie Harper   Trombone
Plas Johnson   Tenor Saxophone
Irving Ashby   Guitar
Eddie Chamblee   Tenor Saxophone
Rufus "Speedy" Jones   Drums
Arnold Ross   Piano
Jack Marshall   Guitar
Mickey Baker   Guitar
Bob Bain   Guitar
Gene Phillips   Guitar
Noble "Thin Man" Watts   Tenor Saxophone
Wayne Bennett   Guitar
Oscar Lee Bradley   Drums
Red Callender   Bass
Harper Cosby   Bass
Donald Dean   Drums
Clyde Dunn   Tenor Saxophone
Frank Fields   Bass
Ernie Freeman   Piano
Jewell L. Grant   Baritone Saxophone
Ralph Hamilton   Bass
Hendrickson   Guitar
Milt Holland   Drums
Harry Klee   Flute
Willard McDaniel   Piano
Earl Palmer   Drums
Jesse Sailes   Drums
Clifford Solomon   Tenor Saxophone
Arnett Sparrow   Trombone
Alvin "Red" Tyler   Baritone Saxophone
Adolphus Alsbrook   Bass
Tiny Mitchell   Guitar
Eldeen McIntosh   Drums
Claude McLin   Tenor Saxophone
Bumps Myers   Tenor Saxophone
Leroy Robinson   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Willie Simpson   Baritone Saxophone
Calvin Vaughns   Drums
Maxwell Street Jimmy Davis   Leader,Tenor Saxophone
Chuck Norris   Guitar
Joe Evans & Arthur McClain   Baritone Saxophone
Johnny Lee Moore   Guitar
John Anderson   Trumpet
Johnny Brown   Guitar
Lee Allen Orchestra   Tenor Saxophone
Ray Martinez   Drums
Lee Ji Young   Drums
Paul Williams & His Hucklebuckers   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone

Technical Credits

Peppermint Harris   Composer
Hardrock Gunter   Composer
Colin Escott   Illustrations
Ernie Freeman   Arranger
Johnny Mandel   Arranger
Eddie Mesner   Producer
Jesse Stone   Musical Director
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes,Biographical Information
Maxwell Street Jimmy Davis   Producer
Bill Millar   Reissue Producer
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Victor Pearlin   Illustrations
Andreas Merck   Photo Scanning
Shifte Henri   Composer
Henry Kleinkauf   Composer

Customer Reviews