An Adventure: 1999-2009

An Adventure: 1999-2009

by Mike MarshallMike Marshall


$17.70 $17.99 Save 2% Current price is $17.7, Original price is $17.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Mike Marshall, like David Grisman, may have roots in bluegrass, but he has long cross-pollinated his music with many different genres, making memorable recordings no matter what string instrument he plays and which instrumentalists join him. This compilation surveys performances from nine different CDs, most of which were under his name and issued between 1996 and 2009. There are no weak tracks in this collection, which provides highlights for the casual fan and fuel for the serious collector to seek out each of the original releases. A frequent partner is violinist Darol Anger (who worked along with Marshall in Grisman's Quintet), with both men excelling in Marshall's furious "Borealis" by overdubbing on multiple instruments (though this track is mislabeled as "Peter Pan" and vice versa). Marshall joins Hamilton de Holanda for an engaging mandolin duet medley of two traditional favorites, the bluegrass tune "Blackberry Blossom" and the popular Latin tune "Apenhei-te Cavaquinho" (which will be instantly recognizable to most listeners, even if the title itself isn't familiar). From his recording of music by Hermeto Pascoal comes the touching duet with pianist Jovino Santos Neto of the ballad "Serenata," with Marshall switching to nylon string guitar. It's hard to overlook the mandolinist's duet with banjo virtuoso Béla Fleck of "Indifference," an intricate Latin masterpiece played with precision and a spirit of adventure.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/19/2010
Label: Adventure Music
UPC: 0823421106126
catalogNumber: 1061
Rank: 169501

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mike Marshall   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Mandocello,Guitar (Nylon String)
David Grier   Guitar
Tony Trischka   Banjo
Darol Anger   Violin,Baritone Violin
Andy Narell   Piano
Todd Phillips   Acoustic Bass
Philip Aaberg   Piano
Andy Connell   Clarinet,Soprano Saxophone
Béla Fleck   Banjo
Jovino Santos Neto   Piano
Hermeto Pascoal   Bass Flute
John Santos   Percussion
Michael Spiro   Percussion
Roger Tallroth   12-string Guitar
Olov Johansson   Nyckelharpa
Aaron Johnston   Cymbals,Shaker
Todd Sickafoose   Bass
Carlos Oliveira   Guitar (Nylon String)
Paul Kowert   Bass
Alex Hargreaves   Violin
Brian Rice   Percussion

Technical Credits

Ernesto Nazareth   Composer
Darol Anger   Composer,Engineer,Liner Notes
Todd Phillips   Engineer
Paulinho da Viola   Composer
Jeff Cressman   Engineer
Oliver di Cicco   Engineer
Mike Marshall   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Hermeto Pascoal   Composer
Pixinguinha (Alfredo Vianna)   Composer
Andrew Gilbert   Liner Notes
Traditional   Composer
Richard Zirinsky   Producer
Dave Luke   Engineer
Gwen Terpstra   Graphic Design
J. Colombo   Composer
T. Murena   Composer
John W. Alexanders   Cover Photo
Jim Nunnally   Engineer
Dan Fisley   Engineer
Bog Cardy   Engineer
Amilson Godoy   Composer

Customer Reviews