And Then, the Train Wrecked: A Nonfiction Narrative on Grief and Life

And Then, the Train Wrecked: A Nonfiction Narrative on Grief and Life

by Ronnie Graham


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The train that was the happy life of Ronnie and Merry was derailed by Merry’s rapid, unexpected death from pancreatic cancer. This nonfiction book chronicles Ronnie’s grief and thoughts on life and God during the days leading up to her death and during the year that followed. It captures the raw emotion of a man as he seeks to understand and to cope with the loss of his wife. It follows one rule in its telling: to be honest from the start. That honesty and raw emotion comes through in every paragraph and makes this a very personal, well told story.

Anyone that has known the loss of a loved one can relate to this story, and hopefully, be helped by knowing that it is a path well traveled. They are not alone and are not the first to travel to wherever, whenever.

The “life” we plan is seldom the “Life” we end up with. In the end, it comes down to faith and trust in God. That trust gives us the ability to walk through the wreckage of our broken plans, our broken lives and onto the path that God intends for us to follow. Join Ronnie on his journey toward that path.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781490834870
Publisher: Westbow Press
Publication date: 05/27/2014
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Ronnie Lee Graham lives alone in Colorado Springs, but unexpectedly and perhaps only temporarily so. In this very personal narrative,
he tells the story of how his life changed, just when he thought he had it all figured out.

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Part 1 Hospice

Chapter 1 No Options 1

Chapter 2 On Mission 15

Chapter 3 Onward to Wherever, Whenever 27

Part 2 Wherever, Whenever

Chapter 4 Wrong and Glad 43

Part 3 Acceptance

Chapter 5 Acceptance 63

Chapter 6 Out from the Wreckage 79

Chapter 7 Arriving Wherever 89

Part 4 It Isn't Over Till Grief Says It Is Over

Chapter 8 Grief Gets a Vote 97

Chapter 9 Endings 111

"A Poem for Merry" 115

Customer Reviews