Anne Bancroft: The Life and Work

Anne Bancroft: The Life and Work

by Peter Shelley

NOOK Book(eBook)

$17.99 $23.99 Save 25% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $23.99. You Save 25%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Anne Bancroft (1931-2005) was an American film, television and stage actress, stage producer and film director. Respected for her acting prowess and versatility, she won the "Triple Crown"--an Oscar, a Tony and an Emmy. Her stage portrayal of Annie Sullivan in The Miracle Worker won the Tony Award for Best Lead Actress in 1959. She reprised the role for the 1962 film of the same name, winning the Oscar for Best Actress, but was perhaps best known as Mrs. Robinson in The Graduate (1967). Her extensive television work included numerous roles in movies and series, including Deep in My Heart (1999), for which she won an Emmy for Best Supporting Actress. A filmography/videography and information about DVD availability are included.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476628585
Publisher: McFarland & Company, Incorporated Publishers
Publication date: 07/21/2017
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 196
File size: 6 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Peter Shelley is a playwright, screenwriter and author of several film books. He lives in Gosford, Australia.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Preface 1
 1. Beginning 3
 2. An Independent Actress 20
 3. Two for the Seesaw and The Miracle Worker 36
 4. Mel Brooks 52
 5. Mother Courage and Her Children 65
 6. The Graduate 84
 7. Max Brooks 102
 8. Fatso 119
 9. Agnes of God 132
10. Neil Simon’s Broadway Bound 148
11. Keeping the Faith 165
12. The End 174
Appendix: Stage, Film and Television Performances 177
Bibliography 181
Index 185

Customer Reviews