Another Beginning

Another Beginning

by RockfourRockfour


1 New & Used Starting at $21.99


Israel isn't often thought of in terms of its rock & roll bands, but the psych-poppy Rockfour could change that. The Tel Aviv-based quartet (singer Eli Lulai, guitarist Baruch Ben Izhak, bassist Marc Lazare, and drummer Issar Tennenbaum) bear some resemblance to Sweden's the Soundtrack of Our Lives, only with a wider sphere of influences, ranging from the Byrds and the Move to Julian Cope and the Gang of Four. Their mix of psych, pop, prog, and post-punk influences recall a less-pretentious and -overblown Radiohead. Even when the songs break the five-minute barrier, as about a quarter of them do, there's a strong compositional sense that keeps them from turning into the sort of longwinded noodling that occasionally mars Soundtracks of Our Lives or Radiohead albums. More importantly, songs like the catchy opener, "Government," and the gauzy single "President of Me" are terrific pop songs with ear-grabbing hooks and memorable melodies. Another Beginning (originally released in Israel under the name One Fantastic Day) is a solidly enjoyable album from start to finish.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/11/2002
Label: Rainbow Quartz
UPC: 0620673150521
catalogNumber: 65

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rockfour   Primary Artist
Joseph Copolovich   Synthesizer,Korg
Eldad Guetta   Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Moog Synthesizer
Baruch Ben Itzhak   Guitar,Keyboards
Marc Lazare   Bass,Percussion,Piano,Bass (Vocal),Glockenspiel,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Double Bass,Stylophone
Eli Lulai   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Gad Pugatch   Violin
Noam Rapaport   Piano,Keyboards,Mellotron
Issar Tennenbaum   Percussion,Drums,Tabla

Technical Credits

Rockfour   Arranger,Producer
Keren Biton   Engineer
Eli Hayon   Producer
Gad Pugatch   Engineer
Yossi Hasson   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews