Anthology 2

Anthology 2

by The BeatlesThe Beatles


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As expected, the second installment of the Anthology series reflects the Beatles' increasing use of the studio-as-laboratory during their "middle years." Some live material from 1965 to 1966 appears on the first disc, and the second "reunion" single ("Real Love") leads off the set. But the emphasis is upon alternate takes from early 1965 to early 1968, during which time the group rapidly evolved from post-Merseybeat through folk-rock to psychedelia. As with the first volume, this is nearly always interesting but perhaps thinner on revelations than some might expect. The Help!-era outtakes "If You've Got Troubles" and "That Means a Lot" are on the light side but very fun, especially the latter, which Paul and the group perform much better than P.J. Proby (who covered the song shortly afterward). Some of the alternate takes are extremely different and excellent performances on their own merits: the funkier version of "I'm Looking Through You" and the less mellow arrangement of "Norwegian Wood," a wall-of-drugs reverb for "Tomorrow Never Knows," a very Byrds-like approach to "And Your Bird Can Sing" (with giggle-laden vocals), and an acoustic demo of "Fool on the Hill." The earlier, much more acoustic version of "Strawberry Fields Forever" is the most notable gem. On the other hand, much of the material differs from the official cuts in fairly minute gradations and will be of greater interest to scholars than general listeners (although discoveries like a different solo on "Penny Lane" are fascinating). The seven live tracks on disc one, from the waning days of Beatlemania, are better than many would have assumed, showing the group still capable of generating heat on-stage.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/19/1996
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724383444823
catalogNumber: 34448
Rank: 8600


Disc 1

  1. Real Love
  2. Yes It Is
  3. I'm Down
  4. You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
  5. If You've Got Trouble
  6. That Means a Lot
  7. Yesterday
  8. It's Only Love
  9. I Feel Fine
  10. Ticket to Ride
  11. Yesterday
  12. Help!
  13. Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby
  14. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
  15. I'm Looking Through You
  16. 12-Bar Original
  17. Tomorrow Never Knows
  18. Got to Get You into My Life
  19. And Your Bird Can Sing
  20. Taxman
  21. Eleanor Rigby
  22. I'm Only Sleeping
  23. I'm Only Sleeping
  24. Rock & Roll Music
  25. She's a Woman

Disc 2

  1. Strawberry Fields Forever
  2. Strawberry Fields Forever
  3. Strawberry Fields Forever
  4. Penny Lane
  5. A Day in the Life
  6. Good Morning, Good Morning
  7. Only a Northern Song
  8. Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!
  9. Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!
  10. Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds
  11. Within You, Without You
  12. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
  13. You Know My Name (Look up the Number)
  14. I Am the Walrus
  15. The Fool on the Hill
  16. Your Mother Should Know
  17. The Fool on the Hill
  18. Hello Goodbye
  19. Lady Madonna
  20. Across the Universe

Album Credits

Customer Reviews