by Peter OrenPeter Oren


$13.59 $13.99 Save 3% Current price is $13.59, Original price is $13.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With a title referring to an unofficial geologic epoch defined by human impact, Anthropocene is the Western Vinyl debut of Indiana native Peter Oren. Like his 2016 self-released Living in Light, it features an electric guitar-bolstered acoustic palette that invites elements of country, blues, folk, and rock into Oren's gritty yet graceful singer/songwriter fare. Here, though, a few additional instruments like pedal steel and Wurlitzer are among those covered by a backing band put together by Wilco's Ken Coomer, who also served as drummer and producer on the album. It's a predictably weighty, or at least well-considered collection of songs, with lyrics like the closer's "Welcome to this record/Goodbye to this world/May a new one soon be unfurled." All the while, though, listeners are also treated to folk-minded tunefulness and elegant arrangements, such as on the elegiac "Canary in a Coal Mine." Its moseying tempo, floaty pedal steel, and almost contrapuntal acoustic guitar accompany Oren's typically calm, resonant delivery. The bluesier "Throw Down" puts a dirty guitar tone high in the mix, while "New Gardens" heads into more rustic territory with guitar picking and fiddle. Throughout, Oren's vocal timbre has a natural tell-it-like-it-is authenticity that lends itself to the socially and environmentally conscious topics among the track list, including a title track that makes reference to pipelines and the value of bees. It's a solid label debut that finds its own footing apart from the Wilco connection.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2017
Label: Western Vinyl
UPC: 0751937439127
catalogNumber: 74391
Rank: 158385

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Peter Oren   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Bells,Synthesizer Bass
Ken Coomer   Percussion,Drums
Bryan Grassmeyer   Bass
Michael Webb   Keyboards
Maureen Murphy   Vocals
Laur Joamets   Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Sam Wilson   Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Diederik van Wassenaer   Violin,Viola

Technical Credits

Ken Coomer   Producer
Patrick Miller   Engineer
Aaron Denton   Layout
Peter Oren   Composer
Biff Hernly   Artwork

Customer Reviews