ASM35: The Complete Musician [Highlights]

ASM35: The Complete Musician [Highlights]

by Anne-Sophie MutterAnne-Sophie Mutter


$20.36 $21.99 Save 7% Current price is $20.36, Original price is $21.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Anne-Sophie Mutter may be the only contemporary violinist who can be billed with just her initials, or who could issue a 40-CD box-set compilation of her recordings in the reasonable expectation that it would sell. This two-disc set is a sampler from the larger box. A point in its favor is that it includes one of the rarities from the complete item: a recording of the 11-year-old Mutter playing one movement of the Prokofiev "Sonata for solo violin in D minor, Op. 115." Two years later, she would come to the attention of Herbert von Karajan, who, whatever his flaws, realized that her rich, Olympian tone provided the perfect complement to his orchestral visions. The first disc contains several examples of her work with Karajan, alternating concerto movements with recital pieces, both orchestral and piano accompanied. What strikes the listener is how consistent the basic Mutter tone and approach remained as she began to work with other conductors and then to broaden her repertory beyond the Romantic masterpieces, first into modern music with Lutoslawski's "Partita for violin and orchestra" (which she commissioned), and then into the Baroque with an ebullient Vivaldi "Four Seasons" performed with the Trondheim Soloists. That's an ensemble about as far from Karajan's Berlin Philharmonic as you can imagine. Even in Heifetz's arrangement of "It Ain't Necessarily So," not a work in which you would expect Mutter to excel, the basic Mutter style carries the day. It's worth noting that, since a 40-CD set is out of the reach of most listeners, this two-disc set might have included a bit more in the way of complete works than it does. The only one included is the Vivaldi "Winter" concerto from the "Four Seasons," not really a representative example of her style. But in general this gives newcomers an enticing taste of one of the major violinists of our time.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/13/2011
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947797302
catalogNumber: 001587502
Rank: 136835


  1. Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64: 3. Allegretto non troppo - Allegro molto vivace
  2. Sonata for violin & piano No. 32 in B flat major, K. 454: 2. Andante
  3. Concerto for violin, strings & continuo No. 1 in A minor, BWV 1041: 2. Andante
  4. Sonata for violin & piano No. 1 in G major ("Regen"), Op. 78: 3. Allegro molto moderato
  5. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35: 3. Finale. Allegro vivacissimo
  6. Serenade (after Plato: Symposium), for violin, harp, percussion & strings; also for violin & piano: 4. Agathon. Adagio
  7. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61: 3. Rondo. Allegro
  8. Porgy and Bess, opera: It Ain't Necessarily So
  9. Sonata for violin & piano No. 2 in D major, Op. 94 bis: 2. Scherzo. Presto
  10. Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in F minor ("L'inverno," The Four Seasons; "Il cimento" No. 4), Op. 8/4, RV 297
  11. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77: 3. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace - Poco pi
  12. Zigeunerweisen, for violin & piano (or orchestra) ("Gypsy Airs"), Op. 20
  13. Beau soir ("Lorsque au soleil couchant les rivières sont roses"), song for voice & piano, L. 6
  14. Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47: 1. Allegro moderato
  15. Sonata for violin & piano No. 7 in C minor ("Eroica"), Op. 30/2: 3. Scherzo. Allegro - Trio
  16. Trio for violin, viola & cello in C minor, Op. 9/3: 3. Scherzo. Allegro molto e vivace
  17. Partita, for violin, orchestra & obbligato piano (arranged from version for violin & piano): 1. Allegro giusto
  18. Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26: 3. Finale. Allegro energico - Presto
  19. Concerto for violin, cello & orchestra in A minor ("Double"), Op. 102: 2. Andante
  20. Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K. 216: 1. Allegro
  21. Sonata for violin solo in D major, Op. 115: 1. Moderato

Album Credits

Customer Reviews