Axels & Sockets

Axels & Sockets

by The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions ProjectThe Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project


$18.99 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


It seems sadly fitting that Jeffrey Lee Pierce (best remembered as the founder and leading light of the fabled band the Gun Club) is better recognized in Europe years after his death in 1996 than he was in his native United States in the final decade of his short life; it was just the sort of fate that met many of the innovative blues and jazz artists and outlaw poets that were his heroes and role models. Though audiences overseas more eagerly embrace Pierce's vision, there was something strongly and defiantly American in his lyrical voice and his fusion of blues, punk, jazz, folk, country, and nearly any other native musical strain that crossed his path. Thankfully, a handful of Pierce's friends and admirers have kept the flame alive with a series of albums that offer fresh, sometimes radical interpretations of his songs, with Pierce's old running buddy Cypress Grove contributing guidance and a cache of old demo cassettes that held a treasure trove of unrecorded Jeffrey Lee Pierce compositions. The third album from the Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project, Axels & Sockets, offers more rare and unheard Pierce tunes performed by a rotating cast of musicians, ranging from folks who knew and worked with Pierce (Debbie Harry and Lydia Lunch) to like-minded left-of-center rock icons (Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, Thurston Moore), and young upstarts who see Pierce as an influence and kindred spirit (Black Moth, Honey). While a number of these performances are rave-ups in the Gun Club's tradition of punk informed by rootsy blues and country accents -- notably Honey's version of "Thunderhead" and Slim Cessna's Auto Club's romp through "Ain't My Problem Baby" -- many of the participants put different spins on his work, showing how diverse his songs could be in the right hands. Iggy Pop's wiry vocals fit "Nobody's City" like a glove, Primal Scream's electronic overhaul of "Goodbye Johnny" transports the song's swampy vibe into cyberspace, Nick Cave's duet with Debbie Harry on "Into the Fire" reinforces both the beauty of the melody and the emotional intelligence of the lyrics, Mark Lanegan finds something both lovely and ominous in "Desire by Blue River," and Lydia Lunch's spoken word duet with an old recording of Pierce on "The Journey Is Long" is effective enough that it ought to be longer than just over a minute. (Pierce's vocals also pop up on Mark Stewart's reworking of "Shame and Pain," with Thurston Moore adding his own brand of dissonance.) In their third round, Cypress Grove and his colleagues are still finding fascinating things in the Jeffrey Lee Pierce archives, and Axels & Sockets is a potent reminder of the strength and imagination of his songwriting, making a powerful case for his status as an overlooked visionary.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2014
Label: Glitterhouse
UPC: 4030433779620
catalogNumber: 796
Rank: 101174

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project   Primary Artist
Willie Love   Percussion,Drums,Maracas,Tambourine
Nick Cave   Piano,Vocals
Debbie Harry   Vocals
Mark Lanegan   Vocals
Lydia Lunch   Vocals
Iggy Pop   Vocals
Mark Stewart   Vocals
Dave Allen   Bass
Scott Ayers   Drums
Julie Christensen   Vocals
Warren Ellis   Mandolin,Violin,Alto Flute
Bobby Gillespie   Vocals,Background Vocals
Cypress Grove   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping,Guitar (Tremolo)
Mick Harvey   Bass,Drums
Chris Hughes   Drums
Andrew Innes   Synthesizer,Guitar,Mellotron
Greg Leisz   Weissenborn
Peter Malick   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Robert Marche   Guitar
Thurston Moore   Guitar
Marco Nelson   Bass
Jeffrey Lee Pierce   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Kid Congo Powers   Slide Guitar
Pascal Humbert   Bass
Hugo Race   Guitar,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Loops
Mike Lord   Piano
Katie Jane Garside   Vocals
Bertrand Cantat   Vocals
Jim Hunt   Saxophone
Justin Greaves   Guitar,Drums,Bass Guitar,E-bow
Darrin Mooney   Percussion,Drums
Barrie Cadogan   Background Vocals
J.P. Shilo   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Brian Henry Hooper   Bass
Daisy Chapman   Piano,Keyboards
Jeff Zentner   Banjo,Mandolin,Slide Guitar
Chris Whittingham   Guitar
Anda Eckman   Background Vocals
James Sclavunos   Organ,Percussion,Drums,Tambourine,Background Vocals,Fuzz Bass
Karl Demata   Acoustic Guitar
Xanthe Waite   Vocals
Dan Wilson   Mandolin
Olia Ougrik   Keyboards
Andrea Schroeder   Harmonium,Vocals
Catherine Graindorge   Violin,Viola
Rune Simonsen   Guitar
Jim Swainston   Guitar
Harriet Bevan   Vocals
Dominic McCready   Drums
James Johnston   Organ,Bass,Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Hand Clapping
Sarah Lowe   Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Suzie Stapleton   Vocals
Sioux City Pete   Slide Guitar
Sarah Marie Tyrrell   Guitar,Vocals
Sammy Downing   Drums
Ricky Tavi   Drums
Nico Carew   Guitar
Mick Cozens   Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Keyboards,Vocals,E-bow
Kip Mowgli   Piano,Vocals,farfisa organ
Jesper Lehmkuhl   Guitar
Esko Pedersen   Drums
Ele Lucas   Bass
Dimi Dero   Drums
David Cavhon   Bass
Crispin Payne   Lap Steel Guitar
Bryan Colechin   Bass,Background Vocals
Brett Poliness   Background Vocals
Andreas Beddari Høyer   Bass
Unloved   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Mark Stewart   Producer
Julie Christensen   Composer,Producer
Chris Eckman   Producer
Lincoln Fong   Engineer
Cypress Grove   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Musical Director
Robin Guthrie   Engineer
Mick Harvey   Producer
David Holmes   Producer
Andrew Innes   Engineer
Jon Langford   Paintings
Peter Malick   Engineer
Jeffrey Lee Pierce   Composer
Peer Rave   Engineer
Andrew Weatherall   Remixing,Additional Production
Hugo Race   Composer,Producer
Don Bonebrake   Composer
Kris Needs   Producer
Andy Hawkins   Engineer
Dan Swift   Engineer
Justin Greaves   Arranger,Composer
Jürgen Peschel   Artwork
Edward Colver   Artwork
Sylvain Mercier   Engineer
Hart Gunther   Engineer
Dan Cox   Engineer
Jeffrey Saltzman   Producer,Engineer
J.P. Shilo   Producer
Crippled Black Phoenix   Producer
Chris Kasych   Pro-Tools
Rob Jones   Illustrations
David Hefti   Engineer
Chris Whittingham   Producer,Engineer
David McCluney   Engineer
Dugald Jayes   Engineer
John Mitchell   Engineer
Loki Lockwood   Engineer
James Sclavunos   Composer,Producer,Sound Design,Field Recording
Frode Jacobsen   Engineer
Robert Ferbrache   Producer,Engineer
Karl Demata   Composer
Paul Bearer   Liner Notes
Martin Bowitz   Engineer
Eric Isip   Engineer
Sam Kinchin-Smith   Liner Notes
Mick Cozens   Arranger
Merle Leonce Bone   Liner Notes
Lucas Dubosc   Engineer
Laurent Rivelaygue   Cover Design
Jacqui Pierce   Liner Notes
Henri-Jean Debon   Engineer
Fred D. Patterson   Composer
Crispin Payne   Engineer
Ashlee Elfman   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews